We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but not so comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Big Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Big Sky to your Saves list
The Lodge at Big Sky
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location, but not so comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel location is great - a 5-7 minute walk to the slope with the option for a shuttle bus if gear is too heavy. The hotel's bus does not come often, but you can take the Big Sky parking one for part of the way.

Kitchenette room had good appliances (convection stove & dishwasher) but pots and pans were pretty dirty and burnt up. These should be replaced. Hotel does provide free breakfast, but it's not made fresh on site (reheated in crock pots) so we preferred to make our own as we had the kitchenette. We did appreciate the flavored water and nice atmosphere of the dining/lounge room.

Our biggest issue was the difficulty with sleeping. Our room basically had no blinds (they were sheer), so light was always coming in. There should be real blinds on a room that is this expensive, plus with the Christmas tree outside there was no escape. On top of that sound comes in easily, whether from the outside or from other rooms in the hotel. Beds were also not very comfortable. After skiing everyday, you want a good nights sleep and it was hard to get it here.

We'd think about staying again if improvements are made, but for the immediate future would encourage others to price check with other properties before booking.

Room Tip: Mountain facing is good view, but noisy especially with events (like the concert that happened durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. If you could email us what room you were in so that we can double check that the black out curtians are working properly. We do have sheers, blinds, valances in every room and some times the black out blinds can be easily overlooked. We stive for prefection and each and every stay here at the Lodge love your feedback. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    79
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
85
72
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to a medical conference at the Huntley but chose to stay at the Lodge because it was smaller and the pictures of the rooms and the bar/eating area were so pretty. This was a great place - the manager and his wife made it feel more like a bed and breakfast, and helped in every way to make our stay comfortable and homey and they helped with information about shuttles and activities....endless. The rooms were large and clean with amenities needed (refrigerator/microwave/etc). The staff was so friendly. We're planning on another trip this summer and will stay there again. Thank you to Jeremy and Beata (manager and wife) for making our trip extra special....

Room Tip: Close to skiing and shopping at Big Sky (walk it in less than 5 minutes) and just a wonderful place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate the great feedback. We are excited to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Lodge is a nice hotel. The rooms are spacious enough to lay all your ski stuff out without tripping all over it. Each room has a decent size fridge with a counter, cabinets and microwave, way better than just a combination unit. There are 3 outdoor hot tubs that are nice and hot, and the bartender will even come take orders for you. The manager and staff at this place could not have been nicer.

The breakfast is OK, it is a continental breakfast similar to what you get at many major hotel chains like Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn. Eggs, hash browns, sausage gravy, and a variety of breads, cereals and drinks. It is filling.

The main room has a bar, comfortable seating, a nice fireplace, and great views of the mountain. It is a nice place for groups to gather. There is also a room downstairs with ping pong tables and plush seating.

The Lodge is located somewhat downhill from the main base area. It is not a bad walk at all with street shoes, but I would not want to do it in ski boots. They run shuttles up regularly. The most inconvenient thing about the shuttles is that when they run up to Moonlight Basin, it takes about 20 minutes so you might have to wait a while. Gettting back from Moonlight is easy because you can just ski to the Big Sky base and you can either get on the Lodge shuttle bus or often the shuttles to the main parking area will drop you off at the entrance. The "town" area of Big Sky called The Meadows is a pretty good distance, but that would be true of any other lodge up near the base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate the great feedback. We are excited to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for a week with the Baltimore Ski Club. Jeremy and all of the staff were super accommodating. the lodge is in a convenient location near everything, the only criticism is breakfast. I would recommend a heartier breakfast selection and real coffee; the brewed room coffee was better than the machine in the dining area. (Skiers need good Java before hitting the slopes) The main room and fireplace were very comfortable. The hot tubs and heated indoor pool were nice after a long day on the slopes.

The rooms are comfortable wi-fi worked well and the bathroom shower had plenty of water pressure (I was on the top floor). I highly recommend this lodge. If breakfast is really as big a deal for you as it is for me, you can always walk next door to the Huntley Lodge and pay for the amazing breakfast buffet, I did three times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and givings us a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at The Lodge at Big Sky this winter. The location is fantastic, views are spectacular. Warm nice breakfast was a perfect start for day of skiing. Another very good thing was clean and pleasant room. Nice hotel with very high standard of services, helpful staff, shuttle bus at any time you need, great atmosphere - very positive experience. I will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and givings us a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I spent lovely 2 weeks in the hotel last Autumn. This is a great place to choose while planning to visit Yellowstone - you get very clean room, warm nice breakfast and friendly atmosphere plus very good advice regarding what's worth to see around. After visiting number of hotels in Europe and Asia I would definitely reccomend this place to everyone who is seeking relaxing place with great views and with excellent service and also with few surprises - like wandering moose who also picked the hotel area to chill out. Looking forward to return there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and givings us a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Md
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed there the week of 2-9-13 with the Balt. Ski Club. Nice clean rooms. Very pleasant and efficient staff. Shuttle service any time that it was needed. Clean hot tubs for aching muscles after a hard day on the slopes. Hot and cold breakfast buffet, simple but good. Jeremy was an excellent host. Rooms had good views. I would certainly visit this lodge in the future.

Room Tip: choose an end of the bldg. room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyJ, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time on writing such a great review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Big Sky
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only private Ski In/Out resort located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Big Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.