We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Mountain Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch
750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Mahomet, Illinois
1 review
“Great Family Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family of 6 just returned from a stay at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, and I have to say that it is, hands down, one of the best family vacations we've had. Our 4 kids range in age from 10-18, and we all went together to participate in all the activities: horseback riding, fly-fishing, whitewater rafting, zip-lining, touring Yellowstone, hiking, etc.. This is a place where the parents can do everything WITH their kids if they choose, or where the younger kids can go and participate in the kids' programs if the parents need a break or the kids are too young. We never utilized the kids' program, but the kids I saw seemed to be having a great time.
The service and friendliness of the staff is unmatched, the food is great, the entertainment is fun and relaxing.
We have been to many, many destinations: Relais and Chateaux properties, Four Seasons resorts, and have been to Europe, the Caribbean, Hawaii, Mexico, and Costa Rica, many times. While those have all been great trips in their own ways, Lone Mountain Ranch provided a fantastic family memory-making trip that we will never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed at Ridgetop, which is a huge, lovely log home with its own hot tub. The rooms are huge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
WOW! It is really fun when you hit not just a home run but a grand slam. This is why an all-inclusive dude ranch vacation is THE best family vacation around. Thanks for sharing your experiences. We look forward to doing it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    3
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just came back from an 8-night stay at LMR. It was the Montana vacation that we have always dreamed of. I had researched and planned this trip 1 1/2 years in advance and it was well worth the wait. The views are just unbelievable, the staff so friendly, the ranch just beautiful. We stayed in the Bighorn cabin, and the creek runs under the front deck. With the cool temperatures in July and the sound of the creek running each night, sleep came easily. We did the Yellowstone tour which was fun, but I would have liked the opportunity to have stayed at each area a bit longer. We all would have liked to have watched the Elk and Bison for a longer period of time. My husband and I did the all day horseback ride into Yellowstone..what a view. Our first time fly-fishing and it was great! The girls caught the fish..not the boys. We would love to come back and experience this ranch during the Winter. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful vacation.

Scott, Dana, Caleb and Katie from Chesapeake, VA.

Room Tip: Book it early!! Look at the website and review over the cabins..see what would work best for you. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Having the opportunity to fulfill families western vacation dreams is what gets us up in the morning, puts a smile on our face and a spring in our step. Their conclusion is "right on", it's our entire staff that makes a vacation. Now start dreaming of a white Christmas in Montana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lone Mountain Ranch in Big Sky, Montana is one of the most beautiful places we have every visited! The property, staff, food, horses, fly fishing, all the activities far exceeded our expectations!!! The staff and guides are so knowledgeable. Everyone involved goes out of their way to make your stay an experience of a lifetime!

Thank you, thank you, Lone Mountain Ranch...we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Managing our guests expectations before they come and then exceeding them when they arrive is our full time job. Thanks Lisa for giving us the opportunity of serving and hosting your family. We look forward to your next visit when you will not just be our guest but part of our family with a Big # 2 on your name tag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the 5th dude ranch we have enjoyed. We love 4 star dude ranches that cater to those who love the beauty of the mountains, great food, decor, comfort and attentive service. Lone Mountain has a gorgeous property in Big Sky Montana, near the cute town of Bozeman. The people who work there are educated and dedicated environmentalists. Andrea, the guide who takes people to Yellowstone as well as birdwatching hikes, is a PhD candidate in environmental science. The hours spent listening to her passion re: this area were a treasure. I learned so much from her! Same with the hike to Ouzel Falls with Kaitlin, and the kayak and canoe day with ... oh, I forgot his name.... but he's from the National Forest department and now works as a guide at Lone Mountain. I had a great massage from his wife after a horseback ride. Everyone was helpful. The pastry chef is fabulous, the food is very good. We love all the ranches we've visited. They all have different strengths. They are all 4 star equivalent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
This Chicago reviewer learned a valuable lesson in her five visits to dude ranches..."They all have different strengths". She enumerated many of ours. Thank you and we look forward to your 6th visit, no matter where you go. By the way, the name she forgot was Chris. He is also a master furniture and wood maker. Most of our full time staff are well educated and love to share their home at Lone Mountain with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Get ready to create your personal dream vacation. The five of us were blown away by the beauty of the LMR. Our Douglas Fir cabin was gorgeous and immaculate, with incredible views. We had avid horseback riders in the group, who were able to go on advance rides, and new comers who were learning. Everyone enjoyed their horses (loved Tiger and Socks), especially our 15 year old horse crazy daughter. Hikes with Denise were amazing - so much to learn and see. Breakfast and lunch buffet style suited everyone's taste - the salads and fruit were so fresh. Dinner was great - with some consistent menu choices and then 4-5 specials every night to try. Don't miss the desserts - especially the choc chip scones in the morning.
We had trouble fitting everything in - so give some thought in advance to what you want to do most. All 5 people caught a fish fly fishing, though most of us were novices. We saw moose, elk, bear, coyote - and the bird watching hike probably netted us 15-20 types. And leave time for some of the unusual activities at the ranch - the high ropes course is very challenging and fun, archery was great, Tiny taught us how to rope, and if you have a car, make sure you do the oezul (sp?) falls hike - it's well maintained and beautiful.
Finally - if you want to be spoiled by wonderful service and some great friendly people - this is the place. Every part of the ranch - from horseback riding, hiking, kids club, dining area - they are focused on making sure you have a great time. This is hospitality at its best. The maint. people even helped us when we got a flat tire. I can honestly say this exceeded my expectations - a trip that can be tailored to your passions in an amazing backdrop of mountains.

Room Tip: If your group is big enough and in good shape - do the douglas fir cabin. It's gorgeous. But it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
One portion of our mission statement says "we want to fulfill your western vacation dreams". I'm very happy we did just that with this family. We thank you for your kind review. Our staff deserves all the credit for these positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent a week at Loan Mountain Ranch with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. It was beautiful, clean and well managed. Any activity we wanted in the mountains was available to us. The staff was the best. Always going out of their way to make sure we were having a good time. The horseback riding was tailored to our different abilities and by the end of the week we were all feeling comfortable on the beautiful trails with experienced guides. Our 11 year old granddaughter fell in love with her horse. There was archery, a ropes course & fly fishing, so something for everyone. We stayed in Ridge Top Lodge which was outstanding, roomy and very comfortable. Located high above the ranch with views from balconies & large windows. The food was exceptional with lots of seafood, salads & fresh vegetables & homemade soups which made the girls happy and more hearty food for the guys or anyone who wanted it. Great desserts & lots of fresh fruit. We hiked to beautiful falls, Kids participated in Organized Kids Activities when they wanted company or did things with the family if they preferred that. We all met nice people and the kids made new friends.
We all highly recommend Lone Mountain.

Room Tip: Ridge Top Lodge has larger rooms and bigger living areas, but you need to have a group people. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We feel the best family vacations happen on guest ranches. The mixture of spectacular scenery, a responsive staff, well executed activities and good old western hospitality make for unplanned moments of sheer happiness for most families. Thank you for your words of encouragement. It was a pleasure serving as your host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed 7 nights and didn't want to leave at the end of our week. The scenery is gorgeous. We went for a horseback adventure wih NO horse experience. The wranglers were knowledgable and made riding a great time even for our 8 year old. Speaking of the OYA (kid program) was super fun and a huge confidence boosting experience. The food was amazing with lots of variety and just down right yummy. Foodies bring your fat pants! Portions are more than filling. The activities list is flexible and you tailor your own experience. You can be as lazy or busy as you like. I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy everything possible. Overall out of this world experience. We will be going back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
This reviewer used three phrases that are music to our ears: stress free; didn't want to leave; will be back next year. We are thrilled you enjoyed your adventure at Lone Mountain Ranch. We look forward to your return when you will be a friend and not just a guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lone Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty lodging in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic summer and winter guest ranch located in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. The Ranch is a member of the National and Montana Dude Ranchers' Associations, an ORVIS Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and it was voted #1 Nordic Ski Resort in North America. While the Ranch primarily hosts week-long stay guests for an all-inclusive vacation, visitors to the Big Sky area are also welcome for half and full day outdoor adventures such as fly fishing, horseback riding and tours of Yellowstone National Park in the summer and over 85 km of Nordic Skiing and 20 km of snowshoeing trails, Ski lessons, Guided Ski and Snowshoe Tours and Yellowstone National Park tours in the winter. Our dining room is also open to area visitors and residents breakfast, lunch and dinner in the summer and winter, as well as the Sleigh Ride Dinner in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Big Sky
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Big Sky, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lone Mountain Guest Ranch to your Saves list