We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Mountain Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch
Save
You added Lone Mountain Guest Ranch to your Saves list
750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Jacksonville Fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“more than amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Obviously the scenery is unbelievable. Really and totally spectacular. The staff is equal to the scenery. The wine list is notable, a broad selection of first class wines. The food is gourmet, and the staff willing to accommodate special dietary needs. The activity staff was superb, knowledgeable, accommodating and very caring. The Wranglers in particular were first class.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coyote. It was wonderful. There is no TV, and poor cellular reception.But we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Central Indiana
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited Lone Mountain Ranch. This was our 2nd dude ranch vacation. We enjoyed the location immensely. There are so many activities: horse back riding, fly fishing, white water rafting, hiking, mountain biking, etc. The food was always very good. But we are always comparing this to our visit dude ranch: Lost Valley. Perhaps we were a bit spoiled by our first experience. If this is your first dude ranch trip, you'll love it. But we preferred the treatment and the relationship we had with the staff at Lost Valley in Colorado. Good news: the new General Manager is the former GM of Lost Valley, so we're expecting great things from Bob in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

LMR is among the best ranch resorts we have experienced. An ideal family friendly venue offering nearly everything one could want: gourmet food, friendly quality service, great horses, fabulous scenery, wonderful spa services and more. GO!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family of four, two girls 12 and 8, stayed at Lone Mountain for a week in August. It was excellent! From day one to day seven our experience was superb. The people who work there stand out the most. From Tiny to Meaghen, Lisa Marie to Andrea, all were friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be with. Our girls enjoyed the kids OYA activities, surprising even themselves. We rode almost every day, fished, ziplined, canoed, hiked, floated the Madison River, and even had time to relax. Don't get me wrong, there were a few minor glitches (dinner one night was late and unusually average, sometimes the "extra" costs are surprising), but nothing that Bob and Karen won't have worked out soon. Please go and enjoy and forget the cost -- it is worth it. The best measure I can give you is how hard our girls cried when we had to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coyote Cabin. It was wonderful. However, All of the cabins looked similarly nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 4 days, 3 nights at Lone Mountain Ranch in August of 2012. We were there to fish and to fish only.

The fishing manager set us up with the perfect guide: Rick Reed. If you're fishing through LMR you want Rick as your guide. Not only is he an excellent fisherman and full of insightful tips he also respects the art of fly-fishing and the need of his clients. Being dawn to dusk fisherman Rick had us on the water at a minimum of 8 hours a day. This does not include the 6 hour round trip commute. He gave us 14 hours of his day - good luck finding that anywhere else... This is no easy feat! We never felt rushed nor did Rick ever give the sense his job was simply punching the clock. He hooked us into large browns, rainbows and cutthroats. Again... if you're going to LMR, fish with Rick!

As for the lodge... they quickly accomodated me with a mountain bike on our off day, fed us well, and were extremely friendly. The cabins were rustic and normal per lodges in the area. The waitstaff was friendly and knowledgeable. Food was excellent. Bar was stocked.

Note that Yellowstone proper is quite a drive from the lodge. However the property and surrounding National Forests can do the trick for the hiker as well.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spent a week at Lone Mountain Ranch for the second time. As a 20 year old architecture student and overall city lover coming to LMR with my family seemed a little scary. I am not exactly the most adventurous outdoorsy person and had gone 4 years prior as an angsty teenager (I actually did enjoy myself too on that vacation even though I opted out of the youth program and only participated in horseback riding). This time I embraced LMR fulling. I went mountain biking, tons of horseback riding, zip-lining, high ropes course, hiking, yoga, yellowstone day trip, and fly-fishing. I had an absolute blast. The staff at LMR caters to your every need and will make new activities to fit with your schedule if you request! The ranch had recently changed managers and the new couple who was managing the resort are absolutely delightful. The wife, Karen, walked around breakfast, lunch, and dinner pouring water and talking about what we were doing that day. She was so hospitable and sweet. The food is phenomenal. They have a basic menu for the week with a few specials each day. The chefs will cook food specially for you if you have a request! They will make things specially to your dietary needs. The horseback riding was wonderful. They try and keep you with one horse for the whole week so you "bond". If you are comfortable and can handle 6 hours on a horse do a lunch ride! They take you to the most amazing places. All the staff is amazing and will help you in any way. Our group was particularly taken by the naturalist Andrea who knew so many things and was so friendly we even invited her to dinner one night at LMR. If you happen to go there, ask her about her dog Darwin! She might let you meet him! I fully recommend going to Lone Mountain Ranch. They will make anything happen if you ask. They are all incredibly friendly and the Lodges are beautiful and rustic. My family will definitely be coming back in future years. Everything is A+!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the smaller cabins near the dining room as well as the large ridgetop lodge. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

There were 5 adults and 3 childrren---my husband flyfished all week with a wonderful guide. The grandchildren could not believe the OYA (youth activities) available, from the ropes course, archery, and lots of riding. The highpoint of the week was the kids' rodeo on Sat. What the wranglers managed to put together with the kids was truly amazing! The 5 year old could participate and did not seem to mind that her horse was being led. The 13 year old did a back-packing overnight! The trip to Yellowstone Park was wonderful...lots of bison, some elk and a bear!! The adults loved the riding, hiking and canoeing. Nikki's massages were very popular with all of us. It was our third trip, but first one with the whole family. Before, we went for the fishing. Food was great, and I continue to love the cabins. The staff went out of their way for everyone...especially the dining staff, for our four vegetarians.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic summer and winter guest ranch located in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. The Ranch is a member of the National and Montana Dude Ranchers' Associations, an ORVIS Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and it was voted #1 Nordic Ski Resort in North America. While the Ranch primarily hosts week-long stay guests for an all-inclusive vacation, visitors to the Big Sky area are also welcome for half and full day outdoor adventures such as fly fishing, horseback riding and tours of Yellowstone National Park in the summer and over 85 km of Nordic Skiing and 20 km of snowshoeing trails, Ski lessons, Guided Ski and Snowshoe Tours and Yellowstone National Park tours in the winter. Our dining room is also open to area visitors and residents breakfast, lunch and dinner in the summer and winter, as well as the Sleigh Ride Dinner in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Big Sky
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Big Sky, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.