We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children had so much fun, they all cried when it was time to leave.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Mountain Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lone Mountain Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch
750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Children had so much fun, they all cried when it was time to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The staff could not be better. From the General Manager to the Wranglers they are all exceptional people who do an exceptional job making a guests stay a wonderful experience. This was our first stay at Lone Mtn. Ranch, but it will not be our last. Also, the children's program, OYA, is OUTSTANDING! Our children all cried all the way to Bozeman when they had to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Lone Mountain Ranch has been an escape for 3 generations of our family. First visited by my parents who cross-country skied for many winters, my own family, including our two young (and active) boys have skied both at the great trails through the mountains around the Ranch, in Yellowstone Park, and downhilled/snowboarded at nearby Big Sky Resort. The food has always been wonderful, the western saloon and music are great and the sleigh-ride up to the North Fork cabin is a must. This June, my 10-year old and I came for a summer visit and had a blast this time as well. White water rafting, trail rides, rope course, zip line at Big Sky and fly fishing. The cabins were surprisingly cool in the early summer heat. Highly recommended for families and for couples too. Winter and Summer activities for the kids, when they need a break from the parents (or vice versa) are numerous and fun – great staff.

Room Tip: Depends on how much exercise you want. Doug Fir and the Hilltop are a 5 minute walk from the main l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have just returned from our 15th year at LMR. We originally came for the snow and the best cross country ski trails and SNOW anywhere. Now LMR continues to offer great reliable snow conditions and trails, but in addition, gourmet meals cooked to your liking and a welcoming environment that encourages conversation. There is nothing that the friendly, competent staff will not do for a guest. You are made to feel like a member of the family. Speaking of families, our adult son and his wife often join us here enjoying the skiing and companionship of the guests. While we do not take advantage of the nearby down hill ski area (Big Sky), it is easy to get to and totally without crowds. Yellowstone and back country ski tours are another high light of the vacation. Awe inspiring does not do credit to cross country skiing up to Old Faithful and having this natural wonder almost to yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms are individual log cabins nestled in the woods, some duplexes and some with sitting areas,many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Amazing restaurant and the room was comfortable, spacious, and clean. The complementary breakfast was much better than most hotels and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just got back from our fifth year cross country skiing at Lone Mountain Ranch. With a number of small changes this year, it is better than ever. We have skied at many of the top cross country resorts in the U.S. and Canada, and Lone Mountain is our favorite by far, with its truly outstanding trail system, excellent food, and comfortable cabins. Many of the guests return year after year, and the atmosphere is friendly and inclusive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I just got home from my first trip to the ranch, and I can't wait to get back. We had 7 days of cross country skiing- 4 of them were right from the front door of my adorable cabin, and 3 in the backcountry of Yellowstone with guides. The guides were so knowledgeable about wildlife, plants, history of the area, it was wonderful. And the scenery was phenomenal! We also did the full day tour of Yellowstone which I highly recommend. We skipped over Old Faithful to stay away from crowds (and snowmobiles) and had a wonderful ski experience all to ourselves. The ski days on the ranch were also totally enjoyable- ski a few hours in the morning, eat all you care to of the amazing food in the dining room (and pack a few cookies in the pack!) and head back out to all new trails. There was so much to explore, we didn't hit the same trail twice. The staff really knows how to take care of their guests, by our second day they knew of my dislike of olives and made sure nothing came my way with olives in it! And I loved the family dinner night- so much fun to get to know some of the staff over a bottle of wine and an amazing meal. The chef prepared fabulous vegetarian entrees every night. It is totally worth the trek to Montana to visit Lone Mountain ranch...I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The best cross country skiing anyone could ask for. Lone Mountain Ranch is a very special place. A lot of changes have occurred the last few years, but my husband and I have been the the ranch many times, and I would have to say this was the best year yet. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious, our cabin was clean, comfortable and cozy. Skiing was fabulous!!! I only hope I can return next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic summer and winter guest ranch located in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. The Ranch is a member of the National and Montana Dude Ranchers' Associations, an ORVIS Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and it was voted #1 Nordic Ski Resort in North America. While the Ranch primarily hosts week-long stay guests for an all-inclusive vacation, visitors to the Big Sky area are also welcome for half and full day outdoor adventures such as fly fishing, horseback riding and tours of Yellowstone National Park in the summer and over 85 km of Nordic Skiing and 20 km of snowshoeing trails, Ski lessons, Guided Ski and Snowshoe Tours and Yellowstone National Park tours in the winter. Our dining room is also open to area visitors and residents breakfast, lunch and dinner in the summer and winter, as well as the Sleigh Ride Dinner in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Lone Mountain Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Big Sky
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Big Sky, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Mountain Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.