We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski-in ski-out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Center Studio Suites

Village Center Studio Suites
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Center Studio Suites
Save Saved
You added Village Center Studio Suites to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Low Dog Road, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great ski-in ski-out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Boyne resorts has a quirky obsession with Murphy beds, and in the case of Village Center, they've got it right. Most of the rooms here are studios with a queen bed that folds up into the wall out of the way during the day. The finish and furnishings are very high quality - lots of wood, stone, and tile for the finish matched up with plush, western-style furniture. Voluminous storage and plenty of power outlets. Even the wifi coverage is complete and fast.
Solidly built, the rooms are nice and quiet - you won't hear your neighbors much at all. Views are either of the village or up the slopes to Lone Peak - scenic on either side.
My kitchen on the fourth level was fully equipped other than lacking a stove. Being at the center of the main base, there were enough restaurants and fast food places.
Village Center had no dedicated staff when I was there, but the crew at the Huntley next door provides great, friendly, quick service.
For skiers, Explorer lift is 100 feet out the back door of the lodge, with the Ramcharger and Swift-Current high speed quads a two-minute walk or quick skate around the corner.

Room Tip: Most 2nd level rooms have terraces - on the slope side you can ski in/out directly from your room. 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

If u want to injoy in ur vecation with wildlife activities and skiing then this will b the right choice. im really enjoying with my family with our kid. they also give you one day for kid skiing acitivity for free. Wifi and breakfast are also free here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Although it is touted as ski in ski out... It is not. You can certainly ski in but must hike up hill a bit to actually be able to ski to the lifts... With that said, the place is excellent! Very nice rooms... We stayed in a ski suite with a queen Murphy bed... Each night the staff comes by to do a turn down service, very nice touch....

I would agree with a previous review, in that they hot tub is as fat away from the door that out could possibly be placed... Actually a deterrent to us using it....

I would personally recommend staying over at Moonlight Basin, at their real ski in out hotel!

Enjoy, hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Would they place the hot tub at the absolute maximum distance from the door? Whoever did that simply did not use their heads at all. It's very cold in Montana and a long walk after stepping out of a hot tub.... Kinda stinks!

I've made several trips to big sky and have stayed at the summit, Shoshone, the village center and a cabin on cowboy heaven. Hands down cowboy heaven is the way to go. Private, full kitchen, ski in/ out ( actually I'd say they're all skin In/out except Shoshone) great beds, super nice. Of course it's also the most expensive.

Next I'd stay at the summit. They have great amenities. The hot tub is the size of a swimming pool and you can enter/exit from the INSIDE! That is huge. The room I had also had a FULL kitchen, so I could make my own breakfast and lunch. Very convenient. They also have an outside ski/pole storage facility which saves you from having to schlep your skis around. That's super nice!

The village center is nice ... But.

The walls are too thin. The first night I was here you could hear everything around you... Above, below, whatever. It's quieter now as this place is deserted (end of jan). While there is no stove there is a fridge, coffee maker and sink. They provided me with breakfast coupons ---which is excellent. I'd stay here again but would probably stay at the summit given s choice. On the bright side you can ski right up to the entrance, take off your skis and hit the elevator.

Anyone if these three is s good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a good deal for us, as we were able to ski for free with our Colorado ski passes. It is truly slopeside - in fact I even popped back into our room for lunch each day. Very nice, very comfortable (and don't be worried by the murphy bed - it's very comfortable), and had a nice bathroom. I don't know if all rooms overlook the slopes, but we had a wonderful view of lone peak from our room. The only downside is that you do hear the groomers outside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at Village Center March 10-17. First of all, I want to commend Denise at the Shoshone desk, and Madeline, the manager, for making our trip better than I could have imagined. Madeline went above and beyond, and customer service gets 5 stars! It was a wonderful week. The staff was very helpful. The room was fabulous. I loved that I could slide open the door and ski directly to the lifts! The view of the Lone Peak was beautiful. I'm already making plans to go next year! I just hope too many people don't find out about this well kept secret.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Walk out the door and you are on the mountain!!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for three days.
The views are lovely, the decor is ranch style with real leather couches, hides, and rustic mountain accents!
There was even a electric fireplace in our suite, as well as a fully equipped kitchenette!
We have also stayed in the smaller units which are great, but recommend the 1 bedroom as they are more spacious.
There is a small fitness center, hot tub, pool, and yoga studio if skiing every day is not for you.

Room Tip: one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Center Studio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Center Studio Suites

Address: Low Dog Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Big Sky
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Big Sky
#5 Family Hotel in Big Sky
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Center Studio Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Village Center Studio Suites Big Sky, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Center Studio Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.