We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day on the River!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geyser Whitewater Expeditions

Geyser Whitewater Expeditions
46651 Gallatin Rd., Big Sky, MT
800-914-9031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 activities in Big Sky
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Yellowstone Rafting Trips on the Gallatin River near Big Sky Montana. Plunge through Yellowstone's most famous whitewater or kick back and relax as you glide down the river on a Scenic Float. A perennial favorite, Geyser Whitewater will provide family memories never to forget. You can be assured of great times and great service as Geyser is unparalleled in safety on the Gallatin River, and is the only Yellowstone region outfitter to host both the First Family of the United States and the Vice President. Geyser Whitewater offers the Original and Best Value on Horseback and Rafting Adventures and introduced the Zipline and Rafting packages, imitated but unequaled by others in the area. Rafting, Kayaking, Zip lining, Horseback riding, Family boat rentals, Climbing Wall, Bike Rentals.....Grab a paddle, for the Adventure of a Lifetime!
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great day on the River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a fantastic day whitewater rafting on the Gallatin River. The company recommended the more difficult part of the river since the water was very low....which we were unsure about. Their description of what we might experience was very accurate and we all had a great time. Our guide Morgan was fantastic!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    11
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thrills and chills on the Gallatin River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I chose the whitewater rafting trip on the lower Gallatin. We had been on a rafting trip before while in Alaska, but not a participatory one like this. Our guide, Michelle, was skilled, friendly, and provided clear direction. For us, this trip was just the right level of excitement. The staff at Geyser were organized and very helpful. We opted for the lunch offered before rafting, and it was very good.

I also rented a bike from Geyser on 2 other days. A staff person provided me with handwritten directions to a nearby waterfall, Ousel Falls, a 16 mile round trip. This was a very good morning bike ride--mostly uphill headed out, and coasting down Lone Peak on the return trip. Most of the ride was on a beautifully maintained, paved bike trail.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Expedition, Great Photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great Rafting Company, Great Photo Memories

Geyser Whitewater Rafting Company planned a Horseback and Raft Adventure for us when we took four of our grandkids to Yellowstone. It was a side trip for us and turned out to be the very favorite of our grandkids! The staff at Geyser were professional, courteous and enjoyable, and we will certainly be “rafting and riding” with them again when we get the chance.

Besides the great experience with Geyser, we especially appreciate the work done by the photographers of Crystal Images, who work with Geyser. I had no idea they were taking pictures during our rafting trip because we were so “busy” with paddling and laughing hysterically. When we returned to the base, we were greeted with the opportunity to see, on computers, an amazing number of pictures of us in the raft at various stages of splashing and rafting. They were awesome!

We had no idea that we’d be able to get these shots! Thank you, Crystal Images, for being there. The looks on the kids’ faces are priceless, some we’d never have gotten with a waterproof camera, or our own. Money well spent, there were 48 shots on a CD for $125, or we could buy less, or order regular prints. The memories of the trip are great, but the pictures bring it back each day! I’m glad we left our memories to the professionals. Instead of pictures being in a photo album, these will be on the wall!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
“Awesome experience in Montana for a South Carolinian family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had an awesome experience!!! Our guide, Michelle, was confident, competent, and lots of fun!! She helped our 9 year old daughter, who was a little nervous at first, have a wonderful experience!! All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful!! We would definitely recommend this to everyone!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fun experience, except for the photography”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were impressed with the friendliness and enthusiasm of the guides, even though the river was very low at the time we went. And having rafted with other MT companies in the past, we were hoping for a little more excitement on the 1/2 day Lower section whitewater trip than was advertised.

One huge negative of the experience was the highway-robbery price of the photos, taken during the trip by Crystal Images photography. We would have loved to have the memento of our trip, but the price is an absolute insult to the customer. (Over $100 for a CD of photos, and upwards of $65 for just three 5x7 prints.) Bring a waterproof camera and don't waste your money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geyser Whitewater Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Geyser Whitewater Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geyser Whitewater Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Geyser Whitewater Expeditions to your Saves list