We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sky Resort Village Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Sky Resort Village Center to your Saves list
Big Sky Resort Village Center
50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poorly managed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Our room, a studio, was OK, although oddly laid out. Assuming you will keep the bed out all the time (as most people do when they're skiing all day), it's positioned at an odd angle that blocks several drawers from opening and has no lamp or table on either side of the bed.

We were unhappy with management's response to two problems. We were 2/3 through an in-room movie ("No Country for Old Men", $10.99) when the picture went out for a critical minute-long scene. The front desk was unable to rewind it and -- get this -- we could not start it again until it ended, which meant that we had to take a forced 2-hour interruption in our evening and stay up much later than planned. We explained to the manager on duty how badly this messed up our last evening (we had to wake up at 5am the next day) and asked, as compensation, for him to pay for our dinner, but he refused. He acknowledged that their video system was ancient and the subject of many complaints; considering how much money they doubtless make from this dysfunctional system, I think they owe it to their guests to go out of their way to make things right when it fails.

The previous day, we attempted to use the hot tub, but it was occupied by a group of 6 cigar smokers and their wives. We asked them nicely to put out the cigars, but they refused. (There was no sign about smoking, but this seemed inappropriate to us.) I called the front desk, who promised that security would come over, but no one ever came.

There were other management failures as well. One day our bed wasn't made when we returned from skiing at 4pm. One night at 10pm an employee knocked on our door and then apologized saying he thought the room was unoccupied. The espresso bar in the lobby, which supposedly opens at 8am, sometimes didn't open till 8:30. No newspapers appear to be sold at the Huntley Lodge, though the front desk said the store had them and the store said the front desk had them. Breakfast is good but if you don't go early, you must wait in a 15-minute line to be seated even though there were seats available and the meal is a buffet.

This is not the sort of management you would expect in an expensive resort.

  • Liked — Convenient location to Big Sky skiing
  • Disliked — Poor management
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Big Sky Resort Village Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused and assure you this is not the type of service you can expect at Big Sky today. We value your comments and will share them with our team to help continue to improve our level of service. We invite you to return and give our team another chance to show you a better side of Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
13
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We just came back from Big Sky. We stayed in one of the new studio rooms at Village Center. It was so nice! Tastefully decorated and very quiet. The murphy bed was fine and we left it down the whole time and had plenty of room. We booked through the resort and got a free buffet breakfast daily at the Huntley Lodge which was great! Only two "problems"--

The parking is a hassle. It is a walk (through snow) from the rooms. There is no easy way to do it
The pool and hot tub are a walk in the cold from the exit. We found out on our last day that they do have robes but you have to ask for them. Also, hot tub was small and always seemed crowded.

  • Liked — Excellent location, very clean
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

The Village Center is a brand new (opened 12/07) ski-in/ski-out hotel/condo. There are a mix of rooms ranging from 3 bedroom 2 bath private residences (you can rent) to a ski suite, which is what we stayed in.

We booked our room through the Big Sky Resort website. We arrived very early, around 9am, but the front desk was able to find us a room that was available!! If you are staying at the Village Center, use a bellman. The VC is not connected to Huntley so the bellmen actually use a truck to deliver your bags. It was well worth the tip. Brian our bellman was a great help, he actually brought our bags up on Friday and brought our bages back down on Monday.

The VC is brand new, we could actually still smell the fresh paint. The ski suite was very nicely appointed, with a small kitchenette (mini fridge and microwave), the countertops were granite and all the materials were first class. The suites had large bathroom with a large walk in shower, sorry no tub. The living space was larger than your average hotel room, with a nice western touches. THere was a small table to eat at and a lage pull out couch. The bed is a murphy bed, but the matress is very nice. There is also a nice sized plat screen TV and a gas fireplace. Our room overlooked the village not the mountain.

This is a true ski-in/ski-out property. If you have a 2nd floor room facing the mountain you can actually ski right to your patio. Each floor has ski lockers that guests can choose if they wish, we were on the 4th floor so we decided to store them on the mountain since it was included in our price. The VC also has its own private outdoor pool and hot tub. We only saw a few other people using it so it is very private. Be warned tha the hot tub is hot and that the tile around the pool and hot tub can get very slippery if it freezes.

Overall I gave the VC an excellent rating. For the price, it's close to the same cost as the Huntley, it blows most other accomidations on the mountain away. It is the ultimate in skier convience.

If my wife and I are there again as just a couple, well try to stay at the VC again.

  • Liked — Convience to the mountain and the quality of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2002

We happened on Big Sky this year on our way to Yellowstone Park. What a great place! We went rafting with Geyser Whitewater Expeditions and had the best river trip we've ever done. The Big Sky resort is a greast place to stay with families. Great hiking, fishing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sky Resort Village Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Resort Village Center

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village, these units offer comfort and convenience. Guests will enjoy the innovative suites and condominiums in the slopeside Village Center along with numerous shopping and dining options on the plaza level. Village Center features fine finishes, designer decor, and Boyne Beds. Select rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Sky Resort Village Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Resort Village Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
Big Sky Resort Village Center Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sky Resort Village Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.