We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO CANCELLATION!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sky Resort Village Center

Save Saved
You added Big Sky Resort Village Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Sky Resort Village Center
50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky, MT 59716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“NO CANCELLATION!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Big SKy Resort is one of those pompous places that has to nickel and dime you in order to keep your business. It has good skiing, but everything else is far overpriced. I made a reservation at the Huntley Lodge, only to find there is NO CANCELLATION ALLOWED. Once you make the reservation you automatically pay 50%. Then 30 days before your stay they charge 100% with NO OPTION TO CANCEL, even for family emergencies! Go to the Lodge at Big Sky. It is privately owned and therefore you get to be at the mountain without dealing with the Big Sky bull! Also, it is half the price of any of the Big Sky owned hotes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Big Sky Resort Village Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our cancelation policy. Our team tries to be as understanding and accommodating as possible. Our regular cancelation policy states that a 20% deposit is due at time of booking. Should you need to cancel, half of the deposit is refundable and half is non-refundable. At 30 days prior to arrival the full amount is due and is non-refundable. This info is always presented at the time of booking. We do understand that things change. Therefore cancelations are handled on a case by case basis.

We believe our friends at the Lodge at Big Sky have a similar policy that if you cancel within 30 days prior to arrival the full amount is due and is non-refundable. However, they do allow you to cancel your reservation within 30 days of booking without penalty.

As for pricing, may we suggest one of our ski and stay packages. The combined lodging, lift ticket, and breakfast packages offer exceptional value for anyone looking to ski and stay in Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
13
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

After a twenty seven hour trip to get to Big Sky we were fairly tired ! However upon arriving at our room which had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite - we were highly delighted. It was home from home, with everything one could want - the kitchen was well equipped with fridge, cooker/microwave, a dishwaher and with plenty of crockery and glassware - we didn't eat in but I'm sure that there was lots of utensils/oven trays/dishes etc. We had a wonderful fireplace in the lounge area which was lovely given that it was exceptionally cold on the hills - the coldest we've experienced in a lot of years skiing in the states! Housekeeping kept the rooms immaculate and even ran the dishwasher for us on a daily basis - despite there being enough crockery to last the two of us days. Coffee and tea were replenished daily, so along with a separate bedroom and a large bathroom, then a shower area - this was just perfect - lots of space.The room had views over the slopes and up to Lone Peak, location for the slopes/shops and dining couldn't have been better - we didn't want to leave. Oh and the ski area was vast, empty - so no lift lines - some days we could ski straight on to the first lift of the day ! Superb skiing in gorgeous scenery. Restaurants quite limited slopeside but enough for a week and there is a shuttle bus to the downtown restaurants for further choices. Hope to return despite 27 hours and three flights !!

Room Tip: Ask for slopeside, some rooms you can open your door to the slopes - although the piste bashers go p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautifully appointed, great location, wonderful friendly service. This is a great place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was my first trip to Big Sky and I highly recommend staying here. If you're looking for a ski vacation, I'd put this high on your list above traditional options. There are so many ski runs that it often feels like you're alone on the mountain. The hotel is first class and has a fun lodge feel to it. The pool-sized hot-tub sits at the base of of the mountain and is an amazing experience as you sit just feet from the snow.

Room Tip: Our room came with a full kitchen almost larger than my kitchen at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Absolutely breathtaking, in sharp contrast to Colorado ski resorts that have crowded lift lines the skiing and lifts at Big Sky were wide open. The Village center offered us ski-in/ski-out living with fantastic rooms and an extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the entrance to the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a beautiful place to visit! The wildlife is outta this world and the resort is breathtaking. Inside the lodge is older but the rooms are well maintained and cozy. We will be back with family next time! Worth the trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Big Sky Resort located on the Mountain Village of Big Sky-MT, have a variety of options for all needs and price rates, divided between Summit, Shoshone and Huntley plus Skycrest buildings and condos around for lease or temporary rent. Great service and a happy environment to be, with all the fun skiers and snowboarders around. The village offers really nice options of dinning and drinking options. An amazing option for winter and summer destination from single to entire families.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Sky Resort Village Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Resort Village Center

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village, these units offer comfort and convenience. Guests will enjoy the innovative suites and condominiums in the slopeside Village Center along with numerous shopping and dining options on the plaza level. Village Center features fine finishes, designer decor, and Boyne Beds. Select rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Big Sky Resort Village Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Resort Village Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
Big Sky Resort Village Center Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sky Resort Village Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.