We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place but a very Rude Owner Operator” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ponderosa Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Ponderosa Campground
Save
You added Fort Ponderosa Campground to your Saves list
568 Armington Rd, Belt, MT 59412   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Belt
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad place but a very Rude Owner Operator”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

No one was in so we folowed the notice and camped. When the operator returned she was very rude to us (we were 5 units) and even though we followed her directions where to move without complaint she continued to be rude. I have several years of camping and have never met such a rude operator. If my very elderly Dad hadn't been so tired and so late we would have returned to Belt 25 miles back and found another campground. Thank goodness the other campgrounds in N & S Dakota, Wyoming and Montana welcomed us Canadians. I am telling my Canadian friends to avoid this campground if they decide to go to Montana. 9 very unhappy Canadians.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fort Ponderosa Campground, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are new owners and have spent a great amount of time and money to try and fix this place up after years of neglect. We are a Mom and Pop operation here and sometimes both of us need to leave for supplies, business ect. We leave a note regarding our fees and for our guest to make themselves welcome. We normally have no problems with this. This group did not wish to pay the fees according to the utilities/ sites they occupied. It's the same with every R/V Park. The fees are based on tent, electric, water and electric, or full hook-up = water, electric and sewer.
This group did not want to pay our fees for there sites so we suggested they move to a less expensive site. They neither wanted to pay the price for there sites or move to another. One female in there group actually spit at my wife in anger. If it were me at that time I would have had them simply leave the park but she did not. In the end this group of very rude people move into a less expensive part of the park and saved themselves $3 each. I hope we never see them again.... We work hard to continually improve this park. We show respect to our customers and expect the same. This park may be old but it's clean and safe. We have plenty of repeat customers. I ask that rude and arrogant people need not come here. It's not about the $ here.. Thanks for your time. Hope you will decide for yourself about The Fort.
Bret and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

What a neat little place. With 4 big motorhomes and eight motor bike we arived to a pleasant park. Checked in after ten at night, and Carol directed us in very freindly, Settled up in the morning.
Clean, No bugs at all. Amaizing. Just very nice. Dan Olsoln

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days. New owners very accomondating & a joy to be with. Park well maintained & fellow campers friendly. Cost is a lot less than the other campgrounds in the area, and you have hot showers & running water in the sinks & toilets. Fresh Popcorn is made for the kids & adults alike. Plenty of shade & a creek running by the property that you can fish from. You feel very safe and don't have anxieties about any neighbors. Well worth the stay if you are going to be in the Great Falls area. Both tent campsites & RV sites are available with firepits at each site.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We (1 adult, 1 pre-teen) had planned to stay at Fort Ponderosa Campground before hitting the road, and I called when I thought we were an hour away to make sure they would have room. The owner assured me they did and made sure she would be around when we arrived (after 7pm) to get us checked in.

We arrived in plenty of time for daylight and set up our tent for the night. Despite the colony of mosquitoes, the campground was a good decision for our night's rest. The owner was very helpful, the facilities were clean, the other campers were nice, and the layout allowed for the kids to enjoy each others company and burn off some energy.

The price was very reasonable. The location was convenient for those not wanting or unable to travel all the way into Great Falls while trekking across Montana.

Although we only stayed there for one night, it seemed like a campground where we could spend a few days quite comfortably.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Ponderosa Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ponderosa Campground

Address: 568 Armington Rd, Belt, MT 59412
Location: United States > Montana > Belt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Belt
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ponderosa Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.