We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Bear Bakery

Hungry Bear Bakery
116 E Main St, Bearcreek, MT 59007
406-446-9177
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Bearcreek
Restaurant details
Summerland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this little cafe when driving through Bearcreek. The banana cream pie was advertised and was mentioned in the Red Lodge magazine we had been given so how could we not stop when we found the place. We took home the pie and had it for dinner. Then the next day we were again in the area and stopped for dinner. The hamburgers are wonderful - home made and filling. Would stop again if ever in the area. The Cafe is only about 15 minutes from Red Lodge - drive out and give it a try. The owners are friendly and cheerful and the little gift shop attached to the cafe is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“So So Boring Menu & Food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had a hard time finding anything to choose off the very basic diner-style menu. I was very disappointed with the choices & my meal. The "World Famous" banana cream pie was OK. All in all, the meal was very expensive for the quality. Keep driving to Red Lodge for much better choices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
453 helpful votes 453 helpful votes
“Stop by for pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

As we were exploring off the beaten path we kept seeing signs for the Hungry Bear Bakery “World famous Banana Cream Pie”. How could we NOT STOP, when we arrived in Bearcreek, Montana. I had to have the Banana Cream pie of course, and my husband had Strawberry Rhubarb. The crust was out of this world. The owner told us tales about the area and wildlife she sees. The population is about 100. The town is very historic. Mining used to be big here. We love these little towns and talking to the local people. As were were leaving a couple of ranchers were seated outside. We talked to them for a while. Be sure if you are in the area, make time to stop have some pie!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very good service, good cappucino, and excellent baked goods

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This place is like an oasis! In the middle of no where, just outside of town. Stop in for a quick bit, and try the banana cream pie. Amazing!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear Bakery also viewed

Been to Hungry Bear Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Bear Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.