We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchells of Tattenhall

Mitchells of Tattenhall
High Street, Tattenhall CH3 9PX, England
+44 1829 771477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Tattenhall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“An Excellent start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Mitchells has just opened in October after just being refurbished , it is also under new management and is a family run business. My wife and I visited this week and I must say that the new Mitchells is great. The service is attentive and friendly, the ambiance is just right ( it seems to us that it is aimed at attracting both young and the not so young, perhaps some seating in the bar area might be appropriate) , the food is freshly prepared from local suppliers and it was served quickly, the wine list compliments the food and all wines are served by the glass. The food is aimed at value fine dinning and it achieved this objective.
Bearing in mind that this is a brand new venue , I would expect that there will be some teething issues but if it continues in the way that it has started it will be become one of the top venues in South Cheshire . We have already booked again , this time for our family .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“dont let it slip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi
We visited on a Saturday early evening. Having been before on a couple of occasions expectations were high. Sadly it did not live up to expectations. The service was very good but the food and presentation was not as good as it has been in the past. I hope this was just an off day as I really rate this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“lovely food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

ate here the other night with my mum have passed by before but never been in. we had a drink outside as the sun was setting and then we ate inside off the 2 for 10 menu. the food was beautiful and service excellent. atmosphere wasn't quite right but that could have been an influence from other diners conversation next to us. have already recommended to friends and we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Terrific value always, excellent food, just gets better and better , wines superb choice, and a really great atmosphere always.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A bit stingy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am not a big portion person, but i have to say one potato is a bit stingy. it looked even more pathetic when your one potato was presented as chips.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchells of Tattenhall also viewed

 

Been to Mitchells of Tattenhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchells of Tattenhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.