We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Dive, but Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thronson's General Store and Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Babb
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thronson's General Store and Motel
Save
You added Thronson's General Store and Motel to your Saves list
89, Babb, MT 59411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babb
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's a Dive, but Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

There is nothing fancy about Thronson's. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are tiny. They are clean and not that comfortable. They are, however, affordable, when compared to the dearth of rooms available on the east side of Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Babb doesn't have much but this was a real find. We stayed in the new cabin outback it was excellent. Clean, rustic setting very nice. There are two bedrooms and an excellent kitchen. The owners were very helpfully.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I loved my stay at this motel. It is appropriately priced, and the room was clean and comfortable. If you pick this motel, I recommend room 28 (the one I recently stayed at), it was spacious, had two queen size beds, and a nice view. The beds were amazingly comfortable, the mattresses were firm and felt and looked new. It has a little desk such that you could put your laptop on it. The room even had a little fridge, and a small coat rack with a few hangers. The bathroom was crispy clean and room service was good. I liked that the room service did not come around until like 11 or something, since I am the type that likes to sleep in. I also really liked the restaurant that is directly across the street from this motel which also belongs to this motel. The tiny town it is in reminded me of some sort of western movie like the fistful of dollars or something. Summary - stay here.

Room Tip: I generally feel that the rooms on the second floor of this motel would have a nicer feel and view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been to Glacier Park several times and we enjoy staying at Thronson's in Babb. They have what we require, parking for our trailer, a bar/restaurant within walking distance and reasonable prices for the area. We have been at the motel and at the cabin in the back. The motel room had been updated and was very clean. The cabin has 3 private rooms which was nice, the bathroom was right outside but it was so cute with it's antique furniture and the large porch with chairs that we really enjoyed that. The café is right across the street and has good food, the grocery store has everything you need and the antique store has what you didn't know you needed. We always end up buying stuff there. When we want a drink we walk down to the Cattleman's supper club which also has good food. The staff and the owners that run it are very friendly and helpful. Would suggest staying for 3 days; there is too much to see in just a day or two.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Clean, quiet, friendly, a most adequate bed. I enjoyed being off the beaten path. this review wants 200 words but I think i said everything one would want to know about a motel. but if trip advisor needs more words, I'd say stay here if your in the wilderness to get away from the boob tube and staring down at your waist and twiddling your thumbs. If you need to be entertained by techonology, you should go to disneyland or stay at home on your computer and make all those important cell phone calls

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

10/5/12: Thronson’s in Babb, MT is the back and beyond if you’re there to hike! From before we arrived till the day we left, Marie and Stephanie couldn’t have taken better care of us. The General Store has everything you’ll need and then some to ensure you have a great time exploring the East side; snow arrived early and we needed to further weatherproof some boots at the last minute and sure enough at 6pm when we arrived they had what we needed on the shelf! Day hike food/after hike – not a problem. Not to dis the larger grocery store at St. Mary’s entrance but if you are heading further north, Thronson’s general has what you need.

We stayed 2 nights at Thronson’s motel; would have stayed longer weather permitting! No frills but immaculate and the queen size bed was soft and the water was HOT. NO TV (unless you’re into 24 hrs of Matlock), or radio, but complementary coffee from the Mercantile store and a basic college size fridg, perfect for day hiking leftovers from the Cattle Baron Supper Club (a must go; thanks T!) Basically as close to roughing it as this girl likes to get! Don’t miss out on Duck Lake Lodge either; a fine lighter fare to Cattle Baron and cozy family friendly establishment - take your time and peruse the bar wall – some amazing pics!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We ended up in the St. Mary's area without reservations. Rain and sleet was falling, and rooms were not to be found. A local mom and pop operation called Thornton's for us about noon. They had only rooms with 2 queen beds remaining. $95. Which was still cheaper than other placed. We took room, unseen. If you are looking for top quality, high amenity quarters, move on. Limited in-room amenities, but beds were comfortable, room was clean. By 3:00 pm, Thornton's was also full. They are about 1/4 mile from road into Many Glaciers part of park, where most wildlife tends to be found. Limited commercial and eating in immediate area, but we only planned for one night, and this was perfectly acceptable for a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thronson's General Store and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thronson's General Store and Motel

Address: 89, Babb, MT 59411
Location: United States > Montana > Babb
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babb
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Thronson`s General Store Hotel Babb

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thronson's General Store and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.