We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Babb Bar Cattle Baron Supper Club

Babb Bar Cattle Baron Supper Club
Hwy. 89, Babb, MT 59411
406/732-4033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Babb
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

First mistake is ordering the salmon. Don't do it. Order steak even if you aren't a steak eater. Among the worst salmon I've ever had. Granted, we're from Seattle so we get a lot of excellent salmon so we're picky and opinionated, but it was inedible. The steak seemed to be a better choice however we ordered both the salmon and the steak medium rare and they both came medium ++ so that was disappointing as well. The salads were fine. The bread that arrives with the meal is bland and uninteresting with no taste or texture. For the price I would definitely not eat here again. Also, the service bordered on lousy. With $40-$46 dollar prices for a steak dinner I expect exceptional serivce. We waited forever at every step of the way and were served by college kids at best with no training in how to properly service a customer. Find a different place to eat dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    54
    19
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anticpating a great steak but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were told it was one of the great steak houses in MT so we gave it a try. We were a group of 14 and not a one was pleased with their meal. Prices may scare you ($37 for a T-bone) but when asked about the size we decided to share (30 ounces). Yes, it was a big cut of steak but we sent more back to the kitchen than what we were able to eat (big bone and tons of fat). If they had cut it any bigger, I'm sure it would have had some hide and fur on it.

Many shared a meal and there were left overs but no one took them. If it was not that great out of the kitchen, imagine the next day warmed over.

Tried it once, won't go back.

I can't see where those that ranked it high are coming from. I travel a ton for work, eat all over and I would give this steak place a 4 out of 10.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“really surprising (in a bad way)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After a day of hiking in Glacier, we were HUNGRY and wanted a good meal - we asked the concierge at our hotel for the best steak place around and she recommended this one. We looked at the menu and thought it was expensive for Montana, but we didn't care, we just wanted a great meal. So first of, we live near NYC and we are used to paying $40 for a steak - but not in a place that looks like a cafeteria. and then, everything we asked for, they were out of it!
My husband wanted decaf coffee with milk...no decaf, and no milk! he wanted ketchup for his steak - they ran out of ketchup! we ordered our steaks med-rare, they came out completely RAW (and I mean cold) - we sent them back and the did cook them up to mid-rare and then they were good. But really....$80 for dinner and it was nothing special and not a nice-looking place. Oh, we wanted to take the extra steak back with us but....they ran our of tinfoil! (I kid you not). This place needs to get its act together and also, they need to charge a more reasonable price for what and where it is.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“What a Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The restaurant is in the town of Babb, just a few miles north of the east entrance to Glacier National Park at St. Mary. Come hungry or plan on sharing a plate....we opted to share after seeing steaks hanging over the sides of the plates being delivered to other diners. I gave a very good here because our waiter told us we were required to pay an extra $9 for sharing and to pay for the sides when all we needed was an extra plate. We really just wanted to share everything because the plate had plenty on it. The ribeye we ordered ($34.95) was more than enough, the coleslaw was just right and we can definintely say we did not leave hungry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are in the mood for a good steak dinner this is the place. Hubby and I split the 32 oz Rib Eye. The entire dinner was very Good. The portions were crazy big -enough for 4 people. The place is very casual - a great place to eat after hiking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babb Bar Cattle Baron Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Babb Bar Cattle Baron Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babb Bar Cattle Baron Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.