We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you will want to come back to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pian Di Cascina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carbonesca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pian Di Cascina
Save
You added Villa Pian Di Cascina to your Saves list
11 Caresto, 06024PG Carbonesca, Gubbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wollerau, Switzerland
1 review
“A place you will want to come back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had planned to stay for a week, but loved it so much that we spontaneously decided to stay a few days longer (thank you Paul and Isabelle for being so flexible!)

Isabelles cooking is amazing and was the best meal we had in Italy. Be sure to try her courgette risotto!

Paul and Isabelle really achieve their goal to make you feel "home away from home" by taking care of all your needs including fresh bread in the morning, lasagne on the day of arrival and great tips for excursions during the day.

The farm is as children friendly as advertised, but I think it would be equally attractive for couples or groups without children who want to spend a relaxing week together and use Pian Di Cascina as a base for visiting other places in Umbria and Southern Tuscany.

See you next year, Paul and Isabelle !

Jan, Jenna and Amelie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at PDC for a week and this place is just wonderful.

Paul and Izzy are hospitable without being in any way intrusive. Genuinely friendly couple, great fun.

We travelled with a 13 month old baby and the selection of toys (simple ones, like jigsaws, lego blocks, books and a little tractor to sit on) was superb. The baby dishes and cutlery were great, as was the microwave and the dishwasher - what a holiday luxury. Everything feels well made in the apartment we were in, good quality stuff...from the oven to the plates and glasses.

The wifi is passable (the place is a long way from their nearest town, hardly their fault for average broadband) but we could stream the radio in the evening and keep up with home easily enough.

The pool is beautiful and well kept, the sunbeds clean. There is also a little play area with swings, climbing frame, slide and balls for the kids. We saw but didn't use football goals, a badminton net and table tennis table too.

Great homemade lasagne is for sale, which we lazily treated ourselves too a couple of times - really beautiful. Paul takes a bread and croissant order from you every afternoon for the following day - with a youngster and with us being disorganised (and lazy) this was great. We bought their own raspberry jam and their own olive oil too.

We also used their little restaurant, which was open on Friday and Sunday. Again, really lovely local cuisine that was reasonably priced and 20 metres from our door.

In terms of location it's a 5 min or 10 min drive to two local villages and the slightly larger Casa Castalda has a lovely butcher, supermarket, cheesemonger etc. We found literally no English spoken anywhere this part of Italy which is fine with us - and the folks are friendly. Proper unapologetic rural Italy. Fab.

We couldn't fault PDC at all, really wonderful place. Great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed not quite a week at this lovely villa, along with 16 others from our neighborhood. Our Cantina room was quite nice, great kitchen, roomy spaces, nice patio. Croissants delivered to our room in the morning by our great host Paul, fantastic meals prepared by our hostess Isabella. Beautiful views of the Umbrian countryside. Location was a little remote, but then we were out everyday touring Montefalco, Gubbio, Perugia on the way in and Assissi on the way out....our leaders in the group kept us very busy! I think some of the people who were there, who for the most part stayed at the property, just cooking and relaxing, found it more suitable than for we who were out everyday. But, all in all, very lovely facility, and fantastic owners!

Room Tip: The Cantina was very nice, and roomy. Minimal noise from unit above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a lovely week at Pian Di Cascina and for our first family holiday that also doubled as our honeymoon I don't think we could have chosen a more tranquil and picturesque spot. Paul and Isabel were kind and welcoming hosts and Isabel's food at LaTavernetta was simply delicious. It was an absolute treat to enjoy a quiet meal on our honeymoon, while our 15 month old was tucked up in bed, but within the baby monitor's reach. We stayed in Assisi which had two bedrooms - one with a large and very sturdy cotbed (no rickety travelcots here) and a very comfortable and cosy kitchen/living room. The fresh bread deliveries every morning made breakfast a pleasure, especially with the views from our terrace. And on those evenings when it was warm enough to sit out, we even heard some of the local wildlife - wild boar on the prowl for Paul and Isabel's figs. Our daughter greatly appreciated the box of toys left for her and spent many happy mornings on the play lawn, often playing with Paul and Isabel's children. The only sadness though was that the beautiful swimming pool was on the cold side and although I managed a couple of quick dips it was too cold for a baby or toddler to swim. However overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend PDC to friends, especially those going away with young children.

Room Tip: The four apartments in the barn conversion (Montefalco, Spello, Assisi and Gubbio) have lovely priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing first holiday with our 6 month old and we found it. Our accommodation ( Spello) was perfect for the 3 of us and every morning (apart from the 2 days it rained!)we had breakfast on our terrace overlooking spectacular views. The fresh bread delivery from Paul in the morning was something we could get used to, and the barbeque was the easiest I've ever used. Paul and Isabel provided a lovely range of toys for our daughter; and if you've got older ones there's a great play area. We dined twice in La Tavernetta: Isabel was a brilliant host and the food was as good as any we ate during our 12 days in Umbria. The property is an ideal location for day trips to Assisi, Gubbio and Perugia (though the nearest town is a little plain.) We felt very much at home at Pian Di Cascina and definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A group of 18 of us spent a week in Umbria at the Villa Pian Di Cascina. It is a lovely place to stay --- accomodations newer, very comfortable & spacious, and well kept. We stayed at the Gubbio which had 3 private bedrooms with attached bathrooms. Also, we had a large open space kitchen and family room. In addition, there was a nice private patio area with table/chairs and grill to enjoy the outdoors too. On the day we arrived, we had ordered ahead homemade lasagna, which they get from a local cook and a big salad. It was great to have food ready for us upon our late arrival. We had to heat in it our ovens.

Isabel and Paul were lovely hosts to our group. Isabel prepared 2 delicious meals for us at their onsite restaurant -- which you must arrange ahead, as she prepares the food herself. She was even gracious enough to share her yummy recipes with us to try when we returned home. Her risotto is outstanding!

Our group visited many of the different Umbrian towns and explored the region. Beautiful countryside and views everywhere. We especially loved Orvieto and Assisi.

Their pool is great --- however, the weather was a bit too cool for us to use it during our stay.

This is a great place to go if you want to "get away" and explore the region or relax at the villa.

I really enjoyed getting up each morning and picking a fresh fig off their gigantic tree on the property!

Note: You definitely need a car to get to this property and explore. It is located up a steep hill and near a very small town. You have to plan to get groceries for your stay, if you want to go somewhere more than just a little in town shop.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went on a much needed 7 day holiday at the end of August with our 9 month old daughter to PDC. Firstly I would point out that the accommodation (Spello) was absolutely lovely - not necessarily luxury, but very lovely indeed. The views were spectacular and the local towns are very pretty. Many people on trip advisor have also commented on the amazing pool, which is very beautiful indeed, but is unfortunately very very cold (21 degrees). No doubt this might be refreshing for some people, but for us and our 9 month old, it was actually very unpleasant. It meant that we weren't really able to swim with our daughter as much as we wanted as she was just too cold. It was a real shame to be honest, neither my husband or I enjoyed getting into the pool so this is certainly something to consider if you have a young family. Secondly many people have commented on the exceptional hospitality of Paul and Isobel, sadly we didn't get to experience this. Perhaps this was due to a busy week before we arrived (we were told a party of 30 had been there). When we arrived, another family had also arrived at the same time, they were shown to their room while we were told to wait at a table outside with our baby. It was only a 10 min wait, but with a little one, stuck outside in the heat, it wasn't the best welcome that we could have had after a long journey. We later asked Paul for more info about a local medieval festival, his response was to tell us to look on our ipad which was not really the helpful response we were expecting from the trip advisor reviews. Finally, we were hoping that the in house restaurant - the Taverna - would be open 2 out of the 7 nights, again with a young child, the expectation of 2 nights in 'a restaurant' metres away from our baby was an exciting treat. However, we were told on the first night that it would not be opening for the second evening as Isabel was preparing for a big party for the following week. Naturally this made us feel like the less important guests, but it must be said that for the one night that it was open, the food was spectacular. I'm conscious that the above seem like small perhaps picky points but when the website tells us it's a home from home, and the trip advisor comments advise how perfect everything is, it all adds up to be a little disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinkerbellina, Manager at Villa Pian Di Cascina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are experienced owners and managers of Villa Pian Di Cascina. We try to do everything we can to make sure that every guest that stays here is treated as an individual. While we do our very best to enable our guests to have the most enjoyable stay here possible – on the odd occasion, it simply isn’t possible for us to meet what most would consider are unrealistic expectations-

The reviewer herself says she is being ‘picky’ – well if you look hard and long enough at anything in this world- you will eventually find something not quite right – to a certain extent it is beyond our control to be able to ensure that every guest that stays here enjoys their holiday 100% -though this is always what we aim for.

We try to do our very best to make everyone feels at home and happy here (as we do) – but it is also up to the holiday makers themselves to want to enjoy their holiday – and make the most of it if the weather conditions or other things that are beyond our control that may not be ideal for them.

The reviewer says the ‘accommodation was very lovely indeed’ and ‘the pool amazing and views spectacular’ and ‘the food was spectacular’– yet we are rewarded with an average score at the end – to our minds words like ‘amazing’ and ‘lovely’ and ‘spectacular’ do not equate to average...
We would like to briefly address each point the reviewer has made so that we can enable our future guests to decide for themselves if we are the right sort of place for their stay-

The pool is an outdoor pool – it was between 21 and 24 degrees the weeks the reviewer stayed –There were torrential rains at the end of the week preceding their stay – and this, therefore, resulted in a temporary dip in pool temperatures – this can of course happen at any time-we are sorry but the weather conditions are beyond our control.
Please also take into account when reading this review –the average summer air temperature in the UK is around 14 degrees – so to have water temperature of 21 degrees with an air temperature of 28-30 degrees is hardly what many people would describe as cold... (This was the temperature during the week they stayed)
We would like to add perhaps it is a little unrealistic to expect a 9 month old to enjoy swimming in a large outdoor pool for the first time – firstly under 1’s mostly prefer water temperatures above 30 – which is not the temperature any outdoor pool reaches consistently (heated or not) in this part of the world...perhaps a pool in the Caribbean or a more tropical climate would have been a better choice for those that prefer bath like swimming temperatures –

Had the couple mentioned to us that their daughter found the water cold – we would have been more than happy to lend a baby wet suit as we have one that would have been suitable we use with our baby – it is very difficult to be able to help a situation – if we are unaware of it until we read the review...

The reviewer neglected to mention there is a lovely little baby paddling pool in the pool area with warm water and toys for little ones – which is ideally suited to a 9 month old baby.

Incidentally – the other guest who stayed the same week were in and out of the pool all week – and seems to enjoy it immensely. (One family have even said they will be booking to come back here the same week next year...)

We are very sorry if we caused any inconvenience to the couple during the check in – it is never our intention to inconvenience any of our guests...it was an unusual situation the day they arrived-
We asked the couple to wait for under 10 minutes on a shaded terrace with a spectacular view - as they arrived just a couple of minutes after 2 other families arrived – and as the other families arrived first – they were shown to their properties first – this doesn’t happen often – in fact hardly ever- – but when it does –in order to give each family a personal tour and personal welcome by us -the owners-sometimes a short wait is requested –we try to do everything possible to avoid this happening –but as we cannot have any way of knowing exactly who will arrive and when – it is very hard for us to be able to predict when this may happen – or try to prevent it.

We also sincerely apologise for our error regarding informing the reviewer about the local medieval festival – it was not acceptable to refer the guests to the festival website – We should have taken the time to explain the week’s events in person – in this instance we underperformed and we will do our best to make sure that this doesn’t happen again –
There was, however, a very comprehensive guest information book in the property that had details of all the local events along with walks and days out in the local area...the information regarding the festival was also here- we did explain this upon check-in.

We would like to say that we both spend a lot of time helping guests to get the most enjoyment possible out of their stay here – we are always on hand to help and offer advice, assistance or just chat –
Some guests like to chat daily and discuss their plans – others prefer to keep to themselves – we very much try to respect the wishes of each guest as individuals– as everyone is different and has differing expectations.
In this case it seems that the guests felt that they lacked the personal attention they required – we apologise if this was the case – we misjudged the situation – we got the impression the couple were on a much longed for holiday together and wanted to spend time as a family – had they expressed any of their concerns regarding the pool temperature, requirements for more information or any additional services they thought were lacking– we would have of course been more than happy to assist in any way we could.

The restaurant was in fact open only 1 night that week – due to unforeseen family circumstances (not because Isabel was preparing for a group!) and what the reviewer neglected to mention was that a lovely alternative dining experience was offered the same night in order to make up for it.
The reviewers didn’t say that they also enjoyed this service – which was a delicious 4 course meal including a local antipasti platter, and handmade pasta - delivered by us to their terrace from a local Tavernetta with a lovely bottle of local wine –so they could enjoy an hassle free ‘adult’ meal – under the stars on their own private terrace... in fact this experience was such as success with our other guests – we will be continuing to offer the ‘Italian take away experience’ midweek next year.

We really don’t feel there was any lack of service other than the 2 small points mentioned above-unfortunately there was no mention of the level of service we did provide throughout week –a level of service we feel is well above and beyond the expectation of a self-catering establishment by anyone’s standards...

Here are just a few of the extra services we provided for this couple - whilst they stayed with us at Villa Pian Di Cascina:
The couple enjoyed freshly baked bread and handmade lasagne this first night of their arrival. (They also enjoyed another 2 lasagne delivered to their terrace on 2 other evenings-)
There was a specially sourced selection of local wines and drinks in their property – so they could relax and unwind immediately if they wished
We provided a variety of baby toys, a bath, cot, bedding, high chair, changing mat and a variety of baby equipment for their daughter at no additional charge –
We provided the option of a baby shop – for nappies and wipes, formula and baby food before they arrived
We offered the services of a child-care trained babysitter
We provided a complimentary service wash for them – which they utilised.
We organised an experienced local masseuse to provide a relaxing stress- relieving massage for them in their property one afternoon.
We delivered fresh bread and croissants to their property every morning in time for breakfast.
We personally recommended a lovely local restaurant – that they really enjoyed – as they reviewed this highly on Trip Advisor.

We don't get it right all the time - we are human -
When we get it wrong - we are the first to admit it and try to make amends for our mistakes - and ultimately we learn from them.
We don't feel this review is a balanced account of the overall holiday experience this couple enjoyed at Pian Di Cascina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Pian Di Cascina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pian Di Cascina

Address: 11 Caresto, 06024PG Carbonesca, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio > Carbonesca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pian Di Cascina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.