We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 Year Wedding Anniversary Well Spent Here!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pian Di Cascina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carbonesca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pian Di Cascina
Save
You added Villa Pian Di Cascina to your Saves list
11 Caresto, 06024PG Carbonesca, Gubbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“20 Year Wedding Anniversary Well Spent Here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

WOW, not many places leave me speechless, but this place certainly did. Paul and Isabel have really outdone themselves. Pian di Cascina is a perfect retreat! We celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary there with 15 of our closest friends! There was so much to do on site that we didn't have to venture off, but we did do some day trips to Gubbio, Perugia, the hang-glyder mountain (I don't recall the name) and the caves. The kids enjoyed hula hooping, swimming, ping pong and a friendly game of soccer on the large lawn area. Isabel is an amazing chef and cooked us a fabulous anniversary dinner and my husband took her cooking class. The EuroCup 2012 was going at the time, so Paul invited us all over, set up a TV outside and we watched the Italy vs. Germany game. This was above and beyond, and we really appreciated the extra effort!
We will be back and I plan on telling everyone about this place. WOW!

Room Tip: Our guests were in rooms Gubbio, Montefelco, Cantina, and the Cascina. Gubbio and the Montefelco ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have recently returned from Italy having celebrated our daughter’s wedding at the Villa Pian Di Cascina in June – it was an absolutely fantastic experience from start to finish due in no small part to our hosts Isabel and Paul. We cannot thank them enough for all the help they have given over the past few months in the lead up to the big day. Such a wonderful occasion with so many happy memories for all involved – it could not have been more perfect.

We decided to go for the full package hiring out all the accommodation for 30 guests – we would highly recommend this option. Isabel is a brilliant wedding planner – she offers such personal, genuine and friendly advice at all times and nothing is ever too much trouble. We were so happy with all the arrangements put into place – venue, flowers, wedding breakfast, favours, live band, photographer, fireworks, you name it – simply brilliant! I think you can gather we were all very satisfied customers!!

The accommodation at the Villa Pian Di Cascina is great and of a very high standard – the units are well equipped and so comfortable. Each has it’s own terrace and BBQ – it was magical sitting out at night watching the fireflies in abundance at that time. We really appreciated the daily bread deliveries – thank you Paul! – and having been away from home on a long trip the use of the washing machine! The provisions in each villa are a great idea – the homemade jam is delicious! The outdoor pool with amazing views of the countryside simply idyllic.

The Groom-to-be celebrated his birthday on the Saturday we arrived and Isabel arranged the most wonderful celebration at La Tavernetta – our guests were blown away by the four course meal she prepared. It was a wonderful start to the festivities. The lasagnas that we ordered for an impromptu group meal later in the week were also delicious.

All in all we were so impressed we are already planning a return visit next year. We feel what sets the Villa Pian Di Cascina apart from others is the dedication of it’s owners. Paul and Isabel with their delightful family Ben, Lucy and William (and dog Ollie!) really make you feel so welcome. The accommodation offers something for everyone – I would recommend to mature couples, young couples and young families – they simply have it all covered!

A big thank you from Hannah, Neil, Sue and Rob for one of the most memorable weeks of our lives!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for my Nieces wedding. Isabelle and Paul are the greatest of Host's . We took over the whole place, 30 of us partying for 5 days before the Wedding. Isabelle cooked us all a wonderful meal one evening. Villa and rooms spotlessly clean, pool was wonderful, a short jog into the village for supplies. If I have to find a fault, we found it a bit far from where the Wedding was to be held in Gubbio, so we actually stayed in Gubbio for the evening before and the night of the Wedding.... For a wonderful relaxing vacation , especially with children , this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Pian Di Cascina provided the perfect family setting for our first holiday abroad with our 2 year old daughter. We flew into Perugia which is little over half an hour's drive from the farm, so perfect for little ones. Location is great for day trips too as many beautiful places to visit within an hour's drive with Assisi (must do) being only half an hour. We stayed in the Cascina & were able to leave our front door open so our daughter could play outside - she loved the play area & the outside terrace where we had dinner most evenings. Shame there were no other families staying whilst we were there but Paul & Isabel's children were on hand to play with her. Also a great selection of toys & books too inside our villa. We ate at the onsite tavernetta when it was open (twice a week) & just wish it was open more often as Isabel's cooking is amazing. The ready made lasagnes are a nice option & we would highly recommend the white truffle & sausage one! Lastly Paul & Isabel are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just came back from Villa Pian Di Cascina after a week long break in Umbria with our two kids (2 & 4yrs). I am not normally one to post reviews but we had such a nice time that I felt compelled. Villa Pian Di Cascina is lovely. The owners (Paul and Isabel) made us feel very welcome and made sure we were well looked after. They really went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and the we enjoyed our stay. They even made wonderful cup cakes for our little one's second birthday. The pre-arrival shop of nappies and other essentials was particularly appreciated. Our apartment was well appointed and supplied, and had lots of toys/books for the kids. The pool was great for cooling off on the hot days, while the surrounding countryside and the views are beautiful and very Italian. We had lots of fun exploring the local towns, with all the amazing churches, castles and medieval buildings, and the thousand of year of history. All in all a great holiday and a great place to stay. Both Umbria and the Villa Pian Di Cascina I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We are experienced renters, having rented houses in France, England and Tuscany. All were wonderful - and Pian Di Cascina may have been the best! We were 2 adult couples and we all loved it virtually from the moment we drove in and saw that incredible view. Our end unit, Gubbio, had this wonderfully private terrace from which we would drink in that view each morning and again at aperitif time. And there was so much more: Paul and Isabel were the perfect hosts and guides, our two meals at La Tavernetta were delightful and memorable; those Umbrian hill towns were terrific nearby destinations, especially Gubbio, where we got lucky and were there for the world-famous ceri festival, the race of the candles. Oh, one more thing ... truffles!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a fabulous family holiday at Pian Di Cascina in Umbria. Accommodation is superb - very comfortable and tastefully done. Surrounding countryside is absolutely stunning and we had many memorable meals outside on our private terrace while looking at the view. Facilities for our 2 young children are some of the best I have come across - swings, slide, table tennis, large connect four, and boule, as well as a large swimming pool with lots of shaded areas. Isabel and Paul who run it are very friendly and helpful. They also provide some meals in their restaurant area on certain days of the week - highly recommended, as the food is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Pian Di Cascina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pian Di Cascina

Address: 11 Caresto, 06024PG Carbonesca, Gubbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio > Carbonesca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pian Di Cascina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.