We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express West Plains

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express West Plains to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express West Plains
1605 Imperial Dr., West Plains, MO 65775   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in West Plains
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express is a step above most of the hotels in this chain. I have stayed at this site multiple times. The rooms are extraordinarily clean. The staff at the desk are very helpful and nice. The breakfast crew remembers you every day and welcomes you warmly. Best hotel to stay at in West Plains by far!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Getting this type of comment make a managers job fulfilling. We sincerely try our best to make each guest feel welcome. While we will slip up occasionally I do feel we have one of the best staffs in the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
5
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express properties throughout the US. This one is fairly basic - no elevator and no fitness center. HOWEVER, it is extremely clean and well-maintained, and the service was amazing. It was originally sold out for the night we needed, but the desk clerk took my name and actually called me back when they had a cancellation. The staff was friendly upon arrival, helped us with a dinner recommendation and remembered our names when we came back the next day. It has the same breakfast offered at all HI Express hotels, including the decadent cinnamon rolls. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank You for your comments. I am glad we could accommodate you during your trip to West Plains MO. Each staff member wants to go above and beyond what is expected of them, and strives to make each guest feel welcomed. We are glad you appreciate our breakfast and I too agree our Warm Fresh Signature Cinnamon Rolls are amazing. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When I travel to West Plains, I always return to this hotel. It has a nice lobby with several tables & comfortable chairs and a computer & printer. Free wi-fi & friendly staff. Bed & pillows are comfortable and room was clean. Full breakfast bar was hot and fresh and lots of food to choose from. I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank You for the wonderful comments. Each of our staff strive to make each individual guest feel comfortable and welcomed. We are proud of our hotel and want to make sure that pride is reflected in our day to day job performance. From check in to check out we are here for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night while conducting business in West Plains. We have stayed at several HIExpresses with various degrees of quality. This is the nicest one we have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and did not have that funky disinfectant smell. The pool area - immaculate. But best of all, comfortable pillows!!! We had stayed at a five star pricey hotel in Little Rock the evening before and the pillows were awful - as in no sleep for either of us AWFUL!!! West Plains, HI, you should be proud for a very well run establishment!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the great review. All our staff strive to be the friendliest and best in West Plains MO. We realize you have a choice of accomodations while visiting WP and we want our guests to know we appreciate them. We will continue to do the best we can and make each guest feel comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The staff are great here but be aware that this two story hotel has no elevator or fitness room. However they have a great indoor hot tub and pool. The staff are very helpful. There are plenty of electrical outlets for computer and cell phone chargers. Clean, safe and a good place to stay in this small town.

Room Tip: Stick to the first floor near end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the compliment on our staff. Although we do not have an elevator each staff member is available to help carry luggage and supplies that our guest bring. I am glad you found our "extra" outlets in the room. We positioned them on top of the desk area for our guests, this way you do not have to hunt for them near the floor. Once again thank you for the response, it has been passed to our corporate level for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night. As usual, Holiday Inn Express doesn't disappoint. Nice room. Although simple, it had everything we needed. Comfortable beds. Very clean. Nice pool. Very good breakfast. Free wifi. I was impressed by the staff. Very nice, welcoming ladies. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and have never been asked with either of our kids if we would like a crib/pack n play, until now. The woman saw our toddler and asked. We brought our own but it was very thoughtful and appreciated!!! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank You for the great comments on our staff. Our goal is to make you as comfortable as possible. We are very children friendly and want to make even the smallest one feel at home. Please make sure to include us in your next visit to West Plains MO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at this property for one one night while in the area on business. I reserved a room with a king bed, I was actually sold a room with two doubles at $89 per night.

The property in located adjacent to the main road through West Plains. The entrance is a little tricky as it appears a long ago road upgrade set the motel back from the road a little. GPS units will be confused but the location is signed well.

This property is obviously had a previous life. Present owners have spent significant dollars for a renovation but the age and long-term lack of attention took its toll. Those with disabilities must be aware that the motel lacks an elevator to access the second floor. The exterior of the property is clean, well lit but very plain. From the exterior nothing on-site seems particularly welcoming.

Check-in was a quick affair despite the challenge in providing the type of room that was reserved. The lobby area was clean, neat and the front desk staff member was polite and customer focused.

Interior hallways had a musty odor but appeared to be clean. They were well lit and room numbers were well marked. Door access card readers worked appropriately.

The guest room appeared clean, but a quick check of areas not immediately visible showed a build-up of dust and dirt. Overall cleaning efforts seemed to be superficial. Bedding was typical for the price point but the bed covers did concern me as they did not appear completely fresh. Internet speeds were appropriate and all electrical appliances in the room worked as advertised.

The bath area was clean with toiletries and towels as expected for the brand.

The morning breakfast was found to be well stocked and of above average quality. Staff in that area were found to be polite and helpful. They worked diligently to make certain that all items were constantly refreshed.

Check-out was a quick affair as charges were correct. Interestingly, I was not thanked for my business at check-out. It seemed that I had interrupted other work that the clerk was involved in.

With the limited lodging options available in the community, I would likely stay there again. However, the West Plains HIE simply doesn't measure up to peer properties in other areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1605Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Plains, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your candid response on your stay in June 2012. I would first like to apologize for the "dusty" appearance of the "hidden" spots in the room. I have met with my Executive Housekeeper and we are setting up special training with our room attendants to get this corrected immediately. We go through an extensive deep cleaning each quarter for each room but this seems to not be sufficient. I would also like to express my concern with you booking a room with a King bed and then being offered a room with 2 Queen beds upon check in. I can assure you this will be discussed with the front desk staff as we honor all booked reservations on room types, also in discussion will be the final "Thank You" upon check out. Our goal is for each guest to leave happy and want to return. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will give us a second chance when you return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express West Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express West Plains

Address: 1605 Imperial Dr., West Plains, MO 65775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > West Plains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in West Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non-smoking facility.Holiday Inn Express, West Plains, MO is located in the center of West Plains, in Howell County, just off Porter Wagoner Blvd. Home of Preacher Roe, Jan Howard and Porter Wagoner. West Plains Civic Center is located 1 mile from the hotel. Gammill Sewing Company is 1 block away. West Plains Motor Speedway, one of the top three dirt tracks in the nation and home of the famous 'Show Me 100 Race', is conveniently located within 7 miles. Hosting MARS late models and sprint cars, each weekend is a race to the finish. Whether you like antiques, live theater, hiking, fishing or many sporting events, West Plains offers a wide variety of activities in a small town atmosphere. North Fork Lake is 1 hour away through scenic countryside. Enjoy trips to historic mills, some still in operation, where you can fish, hike or just laze around under a shade tree. MSU West Plains College Campus offers Junior college Basketball and Volleyball. Mammoth Spring, AR State Park is an easy ride south of West Plains. The 10th largest natural spring is home of historic 1888 train depot, with a railroad museum. Why not plan to stay awhile and enjoy a part of the Ozark Heritage Region, we'll make your visit comfortable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express West Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Plains Hotel West Plains
Holiday Inn West Plains
West Plains Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express West Plains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.