We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent local interpretation of Mexico” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
35 N Gore Ave, Webster Groves, Saint Louis, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Decent local interpretation of Mexico”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Atmosphere is good and food is tasty. The cilantro rice that they serve with their entrees is quite good. We've been there twice (convenient downtown Webster location) but nothing on the menu really sticks out. I just remember being satisfied with my experience. Good place to take kids.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster Groves, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I wanted to like it more than I did.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

First, they had they music way too loud, and our food was just okay. The fish tacos were not that flavorful. My wife asked for a recommendation and it was mediocre and kind of greasy. The owner has another restaurant that is better than this one, but we only tried it the once, we definitely need to try it again because we have friends that like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing worse than cold Mexican food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Cute restaurant nestled in next to the "railroad" tracks. Only had a few trains go by while we waited over 30 minutes for our food. Service was pitiful. Ten minutes for water and chips, another 10 minutes waiting for our waiter to return to take our dinner orders. And when he finally returned I had to have another margarita. Which was the best thing I had. When our order finally arrived, ALL three of my enchiladas were cold. As a matter of fact, all of our food was cold. What to bet they were sitting out back waiting for our waiter?
I did mention the lack of attention of our waiter and she tried to smooth it over with a 5% decrease in our bill. That didn't cover the second 'rita I had to have during the wait.
I all fairness, the food would have been very good if it had been delivered when it was ready. We'll be back in July and I'll try it again, without this particular waiter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Different Flavor But Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

After another restaurant had too long of a wait, we were brought here to La Cantina. I'm glad it turned out that way because I really enjoyed my meal. We arrived about 5:30pm on a Saturday evening after calling to see if they had room for 8 only to find a non-existent crowd. Our service was great and our food was awesome. Compared to other Mexican restaurants, the food here had a slightly different flavor - more tomato-y, is the best way that I describe it. This goes for the salsa and the red sauce for my enchilada dinner. Costs are comparable to other casual restaurants, around the $10-$14 mark for an entree. The building fits in nicely with Webster Groves. There are train tracks about 30 feet from the windows and it is a busy route. This could be good or bad depending on your personal preferences, but I didn't notice any excessive noise and the kids loved watching the trains go by. The trains do not blow whistles at the crossing and move pretty quickly but you might see about 4 trains during your meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were visiting on spring break, husband, wife, two daughters (14 and 18 mos). Service was awesome, they even brought the baby's food first. Food was very good. Salsa and chips were very fresh, food was hot. I was very pleased with our experience. If we lived here, we would frequent this restaurant. If we visit again, I would make plans to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.