We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, almost rivals Mexican Food from California.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milagro Modern Mexican

Milagro Modern Mexican
20 Allen Ave Suite 130, Webster Groves, Saint Louis, MO 63119
314-962-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lockwood Ave.
Nanuet, New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good, almost rivals Mexican Food from California.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant. The collection of mezcal alone is well worth the trip to this restaurant. It features Mexican fare as the name would imply but unlike many other restaurants that feature Mexican cuisine, here the portions are reasonable. The bar is lively with some unique creations provided by the mixologist. This is a restaurant that I wish was closer to home so that I could go more often.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster Groves, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great fish and carne asada tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good stuff. The tacos, both fish and steak were really good. The fish tacos have a really tasty sauce on them, and the impressive thing is I tried the fish with nothing on it, and all by itself the fish had a really great flavor. The salsa was also good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smooth atmosphere where new and old come together perfectly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I went to this place after finishing a test and enjoyed the clean relaxed atmosphere. The staff who helped me find my seat was nice and the server was more than helpful when it came to my order. She had plenty of recommendations. I ended up going with the fish tacos. Everything from the plate, walls, bar, and the food itself was well put together. It seemed like a good place to take a date because it was not overly loud or busy. I would go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love Milagro. Great food. Flavorful and fresh. And, our service has always been top notch. Our last server (Erinn, I think) was hilarious but professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican with a little modern/metro twist.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

A little hard to find place in the cute town of Webster Groves. We are Mexican food lovers. My wife a not-so-adventurous eater and myself being the opposite. I'm also a margarita lover and tequila connisiour. My wife found the place to be decent but only because of the metro flair on Mexican they had. I had the 3 tacos and found that it didn't look like much quantity but later found it filling. It was very flavorful and good IMO. I had the "house" margarita which happens to be made with Milagro Tequilla, imagine that. It was a VERY good house maragrita! They also have several very good micro brews on tap, including a stout and many in bottles.

The kids plate of fish came as 3 long sticks tempura fried and were excellent. It also came with sweet potatoe fries which had a tiny bit of spiciness to them. 1 kids plate was enough for my twin 4 year olds IMO.

All in all if you're looking for the traditional Mexican place, want your chips salsa, refried beans and budweiser beer, this is probably a little too "wierd" for you.

I'd return definitely but not sure my wife will.
:)

Id recommend reservations.

Hope I helped you!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milagro Modern Mexican also viewed

Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 

Been to Milagro Modern Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milagro Modern Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.