We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with Stay buuuuuuuuuut....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   626 E. Russell Ave., Warrensburg, MO 64093   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Warrensburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Happy with Stay buuuuuuuuuut....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel itself is nice. Some areas needed a bit of a touch up but we were not disappointed. It is conveniently located right off of the 50 which made it easy to get around. Not really much to do in Warrensburg so this is important when you want to get out and about.

We had two queen beds, a small fridge, and a microwave.

The room was clean and while we chose not to use housekeeping, the housekeepers made it a point to ask us if we needed anything when they saw us exiting the room.

Staff was friendly. The breakfast offerings were good and we were presently surprised. They also pop up fresh popcorn at night :-)

Our only complaint (and this is the reason for three bubbles as opposed to four) was that it was a smoking hotel. Nothing against smokers but when you mix smoking rooms with non smoking rooms the non smoking guest still get the smell. Our room was fine but the hallway absolutely reeked of smoke. You were slapped in the face as soon as you opened the door.

If it wasn't for that issue I would gladly have given 4 bubbles. With that said, It wasn't so unpleasant that it would deter us from staying there again on future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Carlosvic,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, amenities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort you may have experienced due to the smelt of smoke. Your will be forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
3
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents while trying to get things settled in for graduate school. It's a nice, clean place, but not close to campus. It is not close to downtown Warrensburg either. However, it serves a decent free breakfast and they serve popcorn in the evening. Some times they put fresh cookies in the afternoon and the coffee machine it always available for use. The business center is free for all to use and the staff are nice and sweet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_of_Warrensburg, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We're glad you were able to stay with us while getting ready to join the graduate school at the University of Central Missouri. Thank you for informing our guests about the different amenities we have to offer. The cookies definitely go quickly in the evening! Have a wonderful rest of the year, and we hope to host you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel and found it to be very comfortable. The queen size beds are very comfortable to sleep in. House keeping did great in changing the sheets and supplying us with towels each day that we were there. I will give the Hotel an "A" for cleanness. The only problem that we encounter was the small refrigerator. Every now then it would make noise. In order to not here the noise that it will make throughout the night, I simply just un-plug it.
The plus of the Hotel was the free popcorn, free cookies snack, and free coffee that was available when it was placed out. The indoor swimming pool. A good place to sit back and relax. They offer you free internet service. They have a small vending and arcade area. The arcade is old school 80"s but the best is the pin-ball machine. We had fun playing it. The morning breakfast was great. You had a choice of cereals, french toast, eggs, biscuit and gravy, and fruit just to name a few.
It conveniently located. Not far from entering the highway and to the main street. Esp. if you are going to K.C. which we did. The hotel was also convenient for us because of the competition that we had to attend. DCI was held at the University of Central Missouri Warrensburg, MO.
There is a coulpe of nice restaurants to go to in the area. One is right across the street from the Hotel; "Player", the other one is "Rib Crib". Rib Crib is not far. Really good eats at both.

Room Tip: These are some the things that look for in choosing a Hotel. The location is the first thing; is it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_of_Warrensburg, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel! We appreciate you informing guests of all the free amenities we offer and the different attractions located so close. We hope to be able to host you and your family again in the future. Have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is just off highway 50 in Warrensburg. The rooms are simple but well cared for and clean. There is a small refrigerator with freezer with plenty of room for snacks, bottles and frozen foods. The microwave is directly above the refrigerator and while small works well. Most rooms are two beds, queen size, and comfortable. The walls however are thin, and the noise level can be quite high at times. Also, the below window mounted AC unit is very noisy. Avoid the rooms on the south side if you are noise sensitive, as trains seem to go by all night and blow their horns constantly.
The breakfast is handy, with juices, scrambled eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, coffee, pancakes etc. Overall, this is a clean, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_of_Warrensburg, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel! We appreciate you giving tips to our guests on different rooms they might prefer throughout the hotel. We apologize if any noise interferred with your stay, but are glad to hear that overall it was an enjoyable time. We look forward to seeing you again, and wish you a very happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travel quite a bit to Warrensburg every year from California for work reasons. I've stayed across the street at the comfort inn too, but I have to say that the Holiday Inn Express is the Best place to stay in town. I usually stay for approximately 15-20 days at a time and that's a few times a year. Being away from home that long you start to get homesick. But, the Entire staff from the Front Desk to the Breakfast Bar Crew and the House Cleaning Crew make your stay that much easier and treat you like your family and you almost forget that you're not home. They greet you every time they see if it's like the 1st time. The Hotel itself is a Very clean and Presentable/Safe Environment. The Rooms are very spacious and clean. The pool is a great added feature to relax and cool off in. The Breakfast Bar is fully stocked and has a great selection. I highly recommend that if you’re planning on a trip to Warrensburg and you want to stay at a safe/clean and friendly environment that you stay at the Holiday inn Express.
That’s my $.02
Mr. Montoya

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_of_Warrensburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, Mr. Montoya! We love having you and your group with us, and we're very glad that you enjoy your stays so much. Our staff definitely considers you and your crew to be a second family.

We look forward to seeing you all soon!

Melodie Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the moment i arrived at the Holiday Inn Express i was treated like a guest should be treated at a hotel. The service from the staff was exceptional. My wake up calls were always on time. My room was cleaned everday. The breakfast was awesome! Plenty of amenities available to the guests. The location of the hotel is great for anyone who is staying in Warrensburg or anywhere near by. Hands down a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_of_Warrensburg, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hold our employees to a high standard when it comes to maintaining and exceeding Holiday Inn brand standards. We're happy to hear your experience was a great one, and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would say this is the best hotel in Warrensburg. We have several people that travel multiple times a year to Warrensburg and have never had a problem at this hotel. We have also stayed at 2 other hotels in Warrensburg.These Rooms are nice, staff is pleasant, and the complementary breakfast,Cookies & popcorn is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_of_Warrensburg, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We're glad to hear you and your group enjoy staying with us. Our guests definitely enjoy our hot express breakfast, especially our cinnamon rolls! We're looking forward to serving you and your group again in the future. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg

Address: 626 E. Russell Ave., Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Warrensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Warrensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Excellence Award WinnerNewly renovated January 2008. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel is only minutes from University of Central Missouri and is UCM's lodging choice. Conveniently located off 50 highway and PCA road we are only 12 minutes from Whiteman Air Force Base, home of the Stealth B-2 Bomber. The towns of Sedalia, home of the Missouri State Fair, Knob Noster and Montserrat are located just East of Warrensburg on Highway 50. Warrensburg is close to Powell Gardens and is home to the Blind Boone Festival. Bristle Ridge Winery and Montserrat Vineyards provide a relaxing excursion while in the area. Our hotel offers a beautiful indoor pool making it the number one choice of travelers in the Central Missouri area. We are a great stopping off point for people headed south to Lake of the Ozarks, Springfield and Branson. Avoid the big city congestion while receiving award winning service, outstanding value and great accommodation with the safety and security of this small town atmosphere. A Man s Best Friend The Story of Old Drum Ever wonder where the old saying, A Man s best friend is his dog came from? Well, if you guessed Warrensburg, Missouri, you were right. (1870 Historical Site) Must be 21 and have a valid credit card available at check-in to rent a room. Cash or credit card accepted at checkout, checks not accepted. Hardwired and Wireless Internet Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg Hotel Warrensburg
Holiday Inn Warrensburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Warrensburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.