We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird in Hand

Bird in Hand
Church Road, Wreningham NR16 1BJ, England
+44 1508 489438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Wreningham
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: English, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just returned home from a really super meal at The Bird In Hand at Wreningham Norwich and we cannot praise this place enough, this food is way above pub grub you must go there and try for yourselves. Also great service, we shall return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bird_in_Hand, Owner at Bird in Hand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review for us, we really appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you again soon :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    137
    47
    16
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

went here with my partner for sunday lunch we didn't have the roast so I cannot comment on that but the meals we did have were very good , I had a crab dish from the specials board and it was lovely but there own recipe crème brulee was even better I will return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bird_in_Hand, Owner at Bird in Hand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we are very pleased that your experience at The Bird was enjoyable. Tristran's Crème Brulee is very popular with our guests, and we hope you will return soon to try some of his other delicious home made desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pub with very friendly staff and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great country pub which I would highly recommend.
The food took a bit of time to arrive but it was well worth the wait. The service and friendliness of the staff cannot be faulted.
A large menu whcih catered for vegetarians as well as meat lovers.
Definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bird_in_Hand, Owner at Bird in Hand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Bird.

All our dishes are prepared and cooked to order, obviously certain dishes require longer cooking than others, and we do ask for our guests patience sometimes. I am pleased that you considered the wait worth it!

Many thanks again, and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service, Lovely People and Terrific Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's not the first time I have visited the 'Bird In Hand' and I have never been disappointed while both under previous management and now the present owners, David and Gill. This time, however I really felt that I had to put down in black and white how good this place is.
Having not visited for some time we chose it as a suitable venue for lunch for a party of six adults one of which is quite seriously disabled with Parkinson's Disease. The welcome, the food and the service was as usual exceptional and Gill and her staff bent over backwards to be accommodating, even opening up another room for us to be more comfortable. When we had a bit of a crisis with our friend after the meal and she was unable to move due to her condition, it was very distressing for everybody but the staff were very patient and helpful through all the inconvenience. Many thanks to you and your staff Gill we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bird_in_Hand, Owner at Bird in Hand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome your party to The Bird, I hope that your friend enjoyed her lunch despite her difficulties.
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review, hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious, freshly cooked lunch in a great atmosphere and served by very friendly staff. We shall certainly keep this on our personal 'menu' and plan to come back soon to enjoy other choices on the list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bird_in_Hand, Owner at Bird in Hand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, we are happy that you were happy!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird in Hand also viewed

 

Been to Bird in Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird in Hand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.