We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It used to be great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lehman's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lehman's
15830 Highway 5, Versailles, MO 65084
(573) 378-4010
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Versailles
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Camdenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It used to be great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The first time we went to Lehman's was in the early 90's , It was by reservations only and was in there home, the food was great, and the service was great, they would come out and talk to you and it was a very freindly place. When they moved into town the food is still good but the service is just like any other resturants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great homestyle cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of those places you love to find and all the locals can tell you about. It's not fancy inside or out but the food is great and just like Grandma would make except Grandma don't cook like these folks. It is operated by Mennonites and everyone was very friendly and the service was great. They have a salad bar, small buffet or you can order off the menu. I ate there two days in a row and will go back the next time I'm in the area. They are very reasonably priced. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles , mo.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Older but not better ;”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have eaten at this establishment since it started over twenty some years ago . Lehman's originated as a private by reservation only in home Amish dinner eatery . This place originally was fabulous , great Amish food cooked and seasoned perfectly with great service . However the business moved to town and forgot their roots . Now it is bland , unseasoned food and no refills on any drinks . All this restaurant needs to do to recapture their grandeur is simply use the salt and pepper shakers when cooking , purchase and use some flyswatters and refill the tea glasses . It is sad to see the demise of a quaint Amish establishment .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The last time I went to this restaurant, the serivce was HORRIBLE! The food was not seasoned at all, we had to refill our own drinks while the staff sat there and watched us!!!! Everytime I have been there, it's been the same experience. I will never return!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles
1 review
“Mennonite ran just wish it was Mennonite cooking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Live in the area and have given this place several trips always thinking it might change. Food does not taste homemade at all. Tastes like it come straight from a can or a box (and poor quality at that). Just poor industrial food that gets a pass because of the people who serve it. The pre made baked goods there are the real deal though. If you go, buy pie or some cookies and go eat dinner somewhere else. It is sad because if you ever get the chance to eat the real deal Mennonite food it can be very good. Also, if you have never had Mennonite service before do not take the service you get here as the standard product. The Mennonites are known for great service it just does not happen here for some reason. There are a lot of great Mennonite shops, stores, etc in the area and if you have a little time they are worth exploring. Unfortunately this is not one of them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lehman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lehman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.