We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good, Some Not So Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lu Lu Seafood

Lu Lu Seafood
8224 Olive Boulevard, University City, Saint Louis, MO
314-997-3108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Some Good, Some Not So Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lu Lu is located in an area populated by many Asian restaurants, many of which are said to be "authentic." Lu Lu does offer a varied and interesting menu, along with more familiar dishes such as Kung Pao Chicken. The list of hot plates and noodle dishes is far more extensive than we've seen elsewhere.

The food was very tasty, with the exception of the Wonton soup which was so salty it was inedible. Beef Chow Fun was delicious as was the Spicy Beef with peppers. The chicken with mixed vegetables was bland and lacked sauce. Again, they are very heavy handed with the sodium and you can expect your rings to be tight the next morning.

This place is popular and we experienced spotty service. The dining room is pleasant with ethnic decorations but the chairs are hard wood and not at all comfortable. We would return to Lu Lu for the specific dishes we liked but can't honestly rate this restaurant higher than the other Chinese restaurants in the area, all of which in our experience offer above average fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is the real thing. The best authentic Dim Sum that I have eaten outside of Chinatown in San Francisco. I enjoyed every single item that we ate with only one exception, the deep fried shrimp. But all of the other dishes were fantastic. The place was packed and the wait is well worth it. Good food, excellent service, reasonable prices. I will be back, often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, MO
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“some of the best Chinese food I have ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoy Chinese food immensely. We recently dined here with friends who told us that it was very good. They were right! The portions were large and served hot. All 4 of us had ordered beef dishes, and they all had their own unique flavor -- sometimes they all come out tasting the same. The crab rangoon were quite good too -- they were loaded with filling. Most places serve crab rangoon with a token amount of filling and you end up getting a lot of fried wonton instead. Our waiter was attentive and gave us extra rice to take home with out leftovers. I'm ready to try this restaurant again -- their menu is very extensive and there looks to be a lot of choices!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Chinese in Saint Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I go here often and can't get enough of the house special beef, it's sooo good! The shrimp and pork wontons and crab rangoons are great too. In fact, I've never had a bad dish here. I've only had the dim sum once, but enjoyed everything I tried and plan on going back for that again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Authentic Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have traveled extensively in China and I live in Toronto which has an enormous Chinese community and many, many dim sum restaurants. I can attest that the dim sum at Lu Lu was the real deal - not dumbed-down, North-Americanized "chop suey". Perhaps it's not the very best I've ever tasted, but it was certainly good quality, freshly made and promptly served. Service was pleasant and obliging and the cost was very reasonable.

We did not eat anything off the regular menu, so I can't provide any information about that. But for a dim sum fix in St. Louis, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lu Lu Seafood also viewed

Saint Louis, MO
Saint Louis, MO
 
Overland, Saint Louis
 

Been to Lu Lu Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lu Lu Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.