We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around...only gets better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Resort to your Saves list
Lakeview Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   328 Lakeview Resort Blvd, Sunrise Beach, MO 65079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise Beach
St. Charles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd time around...only gets better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at Lakeview Resort last fall on the advice of a friend, and had such a great time, we wanted to experience it in the summer. We're glad we did. The whole family had so much fun; playing in the water, boating, parasailing, sitting around a campfire in the evenings and just hanging out on our deck visiting. We had a quaint lakeside cottage right on the waters edge. If the cottage were any closer to the water, it would be in the lake! The cottage was decorated in rustic lodge theme that was appropriate for a lake cottage. The resort is very condusive for children to get around and play without parents having to worry...if that's possible. Lakeview is not a fancy resort, but we're not interested in fancy. We like the casual laid back astmosphere the resort offers with individual cottages. Yes, we experienced some bugs outside, mostly at night around lights, but what do you expect when you're at a lake with lots of trees and wooded areas. I've also noticed that Lakeview has been family owned and operated by the same family for 64 years, which to me is commendable. The resort and cottages are very well maintained, especially considering how long the resort has been in existence. Great family resort!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    32
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
84
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Overall--somewhat satisified. However...if what you mean by cottage is "double wide" then so be it...and if by rustic you mean "outdated and ant infested, poor plumbing, lack of air conditioning..." then this is the place for you. AC in 350 and 351 units is severely lacking and not very effective, fire alarm beeps/nonfunctional, very poor plumbing (but at least they included 1-2 plungers at each drain site--including the kitchen sink!). When we arrived to our facilities, it was filthy, with prior tenants dirty clothing and underwear remaining, moldy bathroom and dining room ceiling, and many add'l maintenance issues. We were part of a 50+ person family reunion--the families that stayed in the condos had much better facilities...but the dryers took several hours to dry minimal clothing. But the condos are much better than the 'cottages'. The suites are a somewhat better value for small family. Pool choices are nice. Nice location on the lake. Office staff and owner was not very helpful with coming up with solutions to problems, but very quick to come up with poor excuses for bad service and why they could not fix problems. Problems with AC, dryers, basic amenities should have been fixed and addressed--if unable, something should have been offered in exchange. Poor service by the owners.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in cottage #210 for a quiet 5 day getaway and we should of stayed home. It was terrible from the walking in to the cottage. We walked in and the smoke detector was beeping in the bedroom, the detector was hanging out of the wall with bare wires. Inside the circuit breaker box was wires that had just been taped together and was very dangerous. The roof was leaking in the living room and the carpet was soaked. The sliding patio door was broke, it needed some new rollers. The ants in the kitchen was all over my food and the seal on the refrigerator leaked. The whole place was run down. The pictures on the web site must be from when it was new. We left a day early and they never said sorry or asked if they could do something else for us. The lady at the desk said she would talk to Paul (whomever that is) about it and we never heard anything back. Don't stay here, worse vacation yet!!! Internet didn't work more than it did.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

In such a wonderful setting, with a beautiful cottage and excellent staff, absolutely everything about our stay was perfect! We have stayed at the Lake of the Ozarks at various other resorts and fortunately, found this one! I would never stay anywhere but at Lakeview Resorts on our subsequent trips to the Ozarks - it was just that good. I've posted a few photos, but I was so impressed with our cabin, I just had to make a little video - take a look ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWDzloIXj2k

This resort has my highest of recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We just got back from three days at this Resort, if thats what you want to call it and it is a complete DUMP. My family and many friends rent out condos at the Lake of the Ozarks three or four times a year. We stayed in building #236 here and had a room on the fourth floor. The elevator did not work and we where told it never will, how this passes code I do not know. The place is very dirty and all of the decks are so dirty you would not even want to go out on them. Since we stay at the lake often we thought we would give this place a try and this was a big mistake. It is obvious that the monthly dues they collect are not putting money back into this property and the building is gross. Spend your money elsewhere even if you must pay more. Stay on the other side of the lake because you do get what you pay for. I would pay $300 per night but I would not even stay at this trashy place ever again. By the way, this is the only resort we have ever stayed at that did not have any linens, the doors to all of the closets that hold cleaning supplys are not locked as the should be, so protect your kids. And the people that clean your rooms need to clean themselves first. anyone that gives this place a good score must like living in trash themselves. OMG this place is so bad that the trash dumpsters don't even get dumped and it is in open site. Please do not take youe kids here. PLEASE!!!! By the way, the small cottage areas are a dump too, do not let the pictures on the website full you. And the pools are DIRTY!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Recently, our family rented 2 units at Lakeview "Resort." We arrived on Fri. evening and departed on Sunday, although a free night was offered with our vacation package. If it had not been for the no refund policy, we would've turned around and left as soon as we pulled up. Upon arrival, we noted immediately that the "resort" is dated and in need of major renovation. Check-in was relatively easy. They provided directions on how to get to grocery stores, restaurants and attractions. Be aware that you will have to pay a $2.50 toll each time you leave the resort to go shopping or to the attractions unless you can find an alternate route (we didn't bother). The location of the "resort" is excellent - right on the water.

The units we stayed in were decent, but definitely not worth what we paid. Both had fairly nice, large kitchens with decent cookware and dishes. Bring your own knives. Both units had knives that were practically useless.

The "Blue Gill" is one of the 3-bedroom units we were assigned. It has an odor we could not eliminate with Febreeze or air freshener. The decor is hilarious! Pictures are screwed into the walls, which also struck me as quite funny because if you saw the pictures, there is no way in hell you would want them anyway. (I question the mentality of the owners to think they need to screw pictures into the walls. What does that say about what they think of the people who spend their money to stay there?) There is a charcoal grill on the deck that needs to be tossed in the lake. It's badly deteriorated and any person who knows how to grill would probably rather not do so on that thing. The unit had a 19" color T.V. (not a flatscreen) in the living room. There are no T.V.'s in the bedrooms. The living room furniture is low quality

Unit #39 is the other 3 bedroom unit we were assigned. Again, the kitchen is fairly large and pretty decent. This is the unit where we spent the majority of our time. The bedrooms were small but we all slept comfortably (in both units). Both units had dining sets that seat 8. This unit has a 25" (or maybe 32") flat screen T.V. Again, the living room furniture is low quality as well as the worn burgandy carpet. After 2 days, we desperately wanted to vacuum, but Housekeeping did not stop by either unit to check if everything was o.k. We fully understand that these are "self-catering" units, however, it would've been nice to be asked if we needed anything. Neither unit had a phone, so if you want to contact the office, use your cell or take a walk. There are 3 floor-to-ceiling windows in this unit, however the blinds need to be replaced. We could neither open or close them and only 2 of the 3 could go up & down. The Weber grill on the deck is decent. There is also a swing & firepit with seating to the left of the unit.

Bikini Pier is where the "resort" rents jet-skis & boats. As with the theme of this "resort" it's worn and in need of renovation. The two young ladies walking around in bikini's (thus the name Bikini Pier) were nice enough, but I would re-think whether or not I would have them explaining safety rules to men (insert humorous sarcasm here).

While I in no way blame the resort for this, the lake looked filthy. Plenty of debris floating around. They were trying to clean up the landscaping and I observed a maintenance worker through a huge tree branch in the lake very close to the "beach." There is a rocky stretch of "beach" where you can get in the water to swim if you'd like. We cautioned the kids about getting into the water for fear they would get "The Crud" and turn lakewater green in a few days. So far, they are o.k., but it's only Day 1 post-trip (LOL!)

*If you need something and don't want to drive 30 min. to get to the nearest grocery store, stop in Pier 11 to the left of the road that leads to Lakeview. It's very well-stocked little store.*

As one previous poster wrote, if you want to stay in an outdated "resort" in need of renovation, this is your place! Otherwise, stay elsewhere - I know we will.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed at Lakeview Resort over Easter weekend and had a Wonderful time! I love that there are 2 parks on the resort. We really enjoyed walking around and the kids were able to ride their scooters in a safe environment. Even though the weather was beautiful, it was too cold to jump in the lake. So, we decided to take our children 4 and 8 to the inside pool and they had a blast! It was pretty cool that my husband only had to walk a few feet from the cabin to go fishing. Everything was so convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. To top the weekend off, the resort had an Easter egg hunt for all the children Sunday morning. It was a big hit! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Resort

Address: 328 Lakeview Resort Blvd, Sunrise Beach, MO 65079
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Sunrise Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sunrise Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Resort is located in Sunrise Beach, Missouri on Lake of the Ozarks and tucked on the end of three peninsulas. Lakeview Resort is your place to explore new frontiers, have quality family time, and relax as you enjoy the surroundings and embark on new adventures. Family owned and operated since 1946, we have been creating memories for families for generations. Our guests will find that our resort is unique with it's heritage. With lakefront lodging ranging from 1 to 7 bedrooms, we can handle couples to the largest of families. Accommodations at Lakeview Resort range from a cozy cottage for 2, to a deluxe penthouse 5 bedroom condo. The off season is great one of our units with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub and a lovely view of the lake. All of our units have fully equipped kitchens. We also offer RV sites with hookups for electric, water, and sewer and include use of all Lakeview amenities. Our amenities are vast and include tennis, basketball, bocce ball, sand volleyball, shuffle board, indoor and outdoor pools (including a toddler pool), sauna, boat and swimming docks, campfire sites and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakeview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Resort Sunrise Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks
Lakeview Hotel Sunrise Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.