We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meramec State Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sullivan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meramec State Park Campground
Save Saved
You added Meramec State Park Campground to your Saves list
115 Meramec Park Drive, Sullivan, MO 63080   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice campground.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We love visiting this park. We camped the last time we were there and it was a good experience. The kids love playing in the river and enjoyed a trip through the cave located in the park. We stayed in our motor home this stay, but we have previously stayed in the cabins and they were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We reserved 6 campsites for a family camping trip, and we were harassed by the park rangers and volunteers the entire time - to the extent that we couldn't enjoy our weekeend. We had a group of about 25+ people ranging in age from toddler to senior citizen (by no means are we disruptive, disrespectful to other campers, etc.) While I appreciate that the rangers patrol on a regular basis, they were constantly coming into our campsite for BS reasons. They scrutinized our every word and action. They criticized how close we put our tents together (although we had no more than the maximum 2 tents per site according to the rules). They got out of their vehicles and walked through our campsites unannounced and uninvited. The first night (a Thursday night), a "volunteer" came around at 10pm and said he received complaints and said we had to turn our radio off and we must not talk anymore if we were going to stay outside. Then he proceeded to the only other occupied campsite and made them turn their movie off. We spoke to those other campers and neither of us had complaints about the other or any noise. Later we caught that same volunteer had crept up into our campsite on foot in the dark, and he was standing behind one of our tents just listening and watching us. The old man volunteeer and the rangers bothered us so much that by the time we left on Sunday even our kids were running around yelling "Ranger Danger - Ranger Danger" because of the stalking and harrassing treatment we received all weekend!

I do not recommend this campgroung and I will never go back there again.

Room Tip: Find a different campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

my husband & i rented a cabin for our anniversary and had the loveliest time. our section of cabins was nicely secluded by a tree line between each building. we had neighbors on either side both nights and we hardly noticed them. there was a fire pit out front (someone was so nice as to leave us a few great hefty logs) and a picnic table where we ate breakfast & dinner each day. we really didn't see many people while we were there (a Monday & Tuesday). just some curious raccoons that came creeping out of the trees at night. i know they're pests, but the baby was just darling. that said, be meticulously clean about your food waste.

the cabin was really clean, had AC, a stove top, fridge, and all the dishes & utensils we needed. the bathroom was roomy & the shower had nice water pressure.

water access was about a five minute walk away. at first, i was put off by the fact that it was just below an underpass. then the midday heat struck and i was thankful for the shade over the water. plus, it was full of barnswallows, which were pretty entertaining to watch.

prices were reasonable, the store had everything you could need in the event that you forgot something at home. my only complaint is the bed. i think the mattress was made of bricks.

i look forward to going back for another getaway with my husband. OR with a group of friends. the cluster of secluded cabins would make for a great group destination - gather in front of one cabin or escape back to your own place for some time alone.

Room Tip: 5-8 were nicely isolated from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

I will definitely go camping here again! Great campground! Stone fire pits! Great employees! Cheap firewood and clean showers! Canoeing down the meramec river was awesome and I cant wait to do it again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Camping is more pricey than other places. I made sure to have coupons ready in case we did the cave tour, boat tour or zipline.

The scene: We arrived on Memorial Day. 2 days after the water receded from the campgrounds.(The mosquitoes were out in force) There were lots of people there when we arrived but by then end of the day there were only a few tents left.
It was my husband, me & our 4yr old. The campgrounds were pretty messy from the holiday campers but otherwise maintained. There was a playground (in good shape) and our son was thrilled. The ladies in the small store were very nice. We bought our wood there and I'm glad we had everything else we needed because like every other place we've been with a camp store, foods and equipment were priced pretty high. We spoke with two of the security rangers during our trip and they were both nice as well.
I enjoy camping but I prefer to have a shower nearby. The ladies showers & restrooms were very well kept and the water was nice & hot. My husband said he & my son encountered a large amount of mosquitoes on the mens side though.
We walked over to the cave entrance and took advantage of the restaurant for lunch one day and took the cave tour. Our tour guide, Justin, was nice. Could tell he was scripted but he seemed to enjoy what he was doing for the most part. He was able to answer the questions our tour group (21 people total) was asking. We also took a boat ride. Our captain(Joe, I think)was extremely knowledgeable and very good with our son.

We will keep this campground on our list of maybes when we go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

If you want to go someplace where everyone is being loud all night, this is your place. If you want to enjoy the outdoors, stay away. From teenagers cruising the camp loops blaring rap music and hanging out the windows to PA systems with DJs across the river running until 1am. A line forms to get into this place on weekends, and people were partying up until 3-4am. Of course, the normal campers then get up at 5:30-6am, so you get about 2 hours of quiet sleep. We regular so many Missouri state parks, and while it is a BEAUTIFUL camp area and park, the other "campers" really ruin what could be a gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Tx
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Hi, Just to let you all know we hold our family reunions at Meramec State Park, we mostly use the cabins and they have been wonderful..We have done this for many years. Some of us camp but mostly we use the cabins as a lot of us live outside of MO. Some from Washington State, Texas and Colorado and of course MO... We have never had any problems, the staff is always friendly and of course there are alot of us so we put them to the test. This year we are going back since our mother passed away. There are 8 of us kids plus our Dad and then our uncles and aunts and cousins come down on Saturday to visit with us. Some of them stay in the hotel or drive back. The cabins are great always clean and always everything working.. I just want to say "THANK YOU" to all the staff there and the programs that they do have for us to do. If you get a chance stop by and visit Fisher Cave too, Bring a jacket... Sue from Texas

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meramec State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meramec State Park Campground

Address: 115 Meramec Park Drive, Sullivan, MO 63080
Location: United States > Missouri > Sullivan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Sullivan
Also Known As:
Meramec State Park Campground Hotel Sullivan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meramec State Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.