We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meramec Caverns

Meramec Caverns
I-44 W, exit 230, Stanton, MO 63079
800-676-6105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Stanton
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovered in 1716 and later used as a hideout for the notorious Jesse James, this large cavern contains five floors of unusual formations.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“This place rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had seen this place on many T.V. shows and when we were in St Louis, just could not resist making the drive out. It took roughly an hour from St. Louis. We were there on a Monday afternoon. The parking lot is the size of a football field but there was maybe 5 cars. Our guide was Jeremiah, he was awesome! The tour moves at a nice pace. Lot's of time to take pictures and take everything in. The musical number near the end, is something else (in a good way). They also have a huge gift shop

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    113
    44
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“One of Route 66's Big Attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We made a point of stopping at the caverns and taking the tour and we weren't disappointed. The tour guide gave lots of information and the caves were interesting and beautiful. We thought the light show and musical numbers fit right in with the atmosphere of the place. There's also a big gift shop for your purchasing pleasure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard,Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Natural Wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

On a recent trip to the St Louis area we took a drive to Stanton, Missouri to visit the Meramec Caverns. Part of the mystique is the references to Jesse James Gang using the Caverns to hide out and split up their loot. The bigger story is the Caverns themselves ! Although we only got a short tour the guide ,mentioned that the formation goes on for sixteen miles.
The only disappointment is that the tour didn't reference the rest of the facility ( dining room, gift shop, etc )

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meramec Caverns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very pretty cave, especially for flowstone formations. Guide / naturalist was unenthused and did not seem to like the job (vocal about that). Narration was more scripted and love of and knowledge of the cave less than we hoped for. Worth doing , but if you have limited time, other caves in the area might be better. Also more expensive than nearby caves.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not like other caves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were not planning on going to this attraction, but changed our minds after seeing a billboard on the highway that this was one of Jesse James' hideouts. We rearranged our trip to accommodate it and we're SO glad we did! Our guide was particularly good and knowledgeable about Jesse James, the cave itself, and the actual geology of it. We could ask him anything and he always had the answer. The light shows in the cave made it extra special. It was well worth the side trip.

The gift shop was quite nice, with reasonable prices. We picked up some unique gifts for our family members. There is also a cafeteria and some other activities.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meramec Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Meramec Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meramec Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.