We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more but it was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arbor Suites At The Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arbor Suites At The Mall to your Saves list
Arbor Suites At The Mall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 E. Raynell Place, Springfield, MO 65804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
ARKANSAS
1 review
“Expected more but it was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The hotel was older. The pool was small and we had to clean it ourselves when we wanted to use it because it was surrounded by trees. The penthouse suite was actually just a loft so you did not have any private bedrooms. The upstairs bathroom was so small you couldn't shut the door if you wanted to use the potty. The fitness center only had 2 pieces of equipment in a room that was tiny. The floor was so dirty I wouldn't allow my kids to walk around barefoot. The refrigerator was tore up from past guests. The dvd player didn't work, but the staff did replace it after 2 days and 3 phone calls/ visits to the front desk. The upstairs did not have a dvd player. It was roomy compared to a regular room, but not as clean as your average hotel. It was very close to the mall etc. but hard to find the first time because it was set back from the road and there was not a big sign. The wifi did work in our room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampsouth, Management at Arbor Suites At The Mall, responded to this review, July 2, 2009
Dear Charelaine from Arkansas:
Please accept our gratitude for taking the time to point out areas in which we can make our hotel better, and ultimately, your stay more comfortable. Your shared insights and stay experience allow us to focus more directly on areas that need attention, that are not always reported to us. When a guest notifies us of issues they have found unsatisfactory, we direct our attention to their concerns in an effort to correct what we can.
Once again, thank you for your input, and for allowing us to provide you with your lodging needs while in Springfield.
Arbor Suites at the Mall – Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
10
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is a very cozy place to stay with lots of amenities. We stayed in a penthouse suite for five nights and found it very comfortable and relaxing. The staff is friendly and housekeeping keep us well supplied in towels. It was dissapointing that the treadmill in the fitness room did not work though. The pool was very nice but a bit too cold to swim in so we used the hot (actually it was warm) tub instead. The arbor courtyard was a great looking place to hang out in but there was so much renovation or upkeep work going on to the buildings it was not really relaxing for long periods. Laundry was free which was great with our four kids. I would stay there again as it offerred the biggest place in the area for our famly of 6.

  • Liked — The Apartment like setting, arbor area and proximity to the mall.
  • Disliked — Treamill didn't work, renovation work going on, Pool too cold
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We were a little reluctant to stay here because of an earlier review that listed bugs.. but we called the hotel and booked a lower rate and discussed the concern with them.. and felt confident that it was good price..

We had a no smoking room where someone had clearly been smoking so the room could have been clearer on that mark but otherwise we were very happy with the cleanliness. Also, after traveling a long time, it was nice to have a kitchen and ice in the room. We did not have a corkscrew in the kitchen and when we did call the front desk she seemed flustered by the request so we dropped it..We enjoyed watching tv on the couch and felt it was very roomy and comfortable..The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well.

The only bugs we saw were one scary spider in the bathroom, but the area is wooded and it did not strike me as unclean in that regard.

The next morning (a Saturday) we had breakfast in the main house - it was very busy but they had a good selection of basic hotel breakfast food.

We discussed that this was the most homey place we stayed over 8 nights and it would be really good if you had kids to feed and care for them. the penthouse style room offered a bed on a loft with another bed underneath it, so it could house a family. They had an outdoor pool that we saw many families enjoying.

We thought this was a great day..and enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — the kitchen
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Outside, this is a really nifty looking place...well-landscaped courtyard, a small pool with hot tub, gas grills for guests. The overall feel is something you'd see in Colorado (without the mountains, of course!). But, once checked in, forget about a relaxing stay. The place is teeming with kids & poorly behaved adults (keep in mind this is near Branson, MO). The noise level outside in the evening is similar to a well-attended cocktail party (disappointing, since they have nice patios set up, with background music & subtle lighting). Most of the noise seems to be coming from a bunch of poorly maintained air conditioners, but skateboarding kids bumping into you add to the ambience (at 11:30 PM!). Access to the pool & hot tub is limited to the most aggressive guests & whatever private party is being conducted in that area predominates.

The "continental breakfast" is an experience. The usual array of items is presented, but guests seem to feel that this is an all-you-can-eat buffet & conduct themselves accordingly. Items are not replenished and there is an almost nasty competetiveness in the breakfast area (and all I wanted was a cup of coffee & some juice!). Comments were made by guests as I waited for a coffee cup lid (which I had to ask for...took 15 minutes for a very harried desk clerk to find some "upstairs"), indicating that they were not happy with the quantity of food available. Kids pushing, adults staring...was I going to take that last tablespoon of Fruit Loops?The American tourist mentality seems to not understand that continental breakfast is only supposed to be a courtesy...not fuel for the entire day.

The room: While one expects a smoking room to have that telltale lingering odor, this one was disgusting. There were no less than 4 cigarette burns on the bathroom counter, along with a very large burned/melted spot on one of the counter stools. There were multiple holes in the carpet, large nicks in the paint on the wall, and gouges in the woodwork. Very sad for a property as new as this. We were informed at check-in that there is no linen service on weekends (??!), which actually translates into no housekeeping at all. There was only one wastebasket in the entire suite (which we discovered after a lengthy search...under the kitchenette sink). Walking barefoot in the room proved interesting, as several sticky spots were discovered. An ice-make in the fridge is a nice touch, but the age of the ice in the container could have been analyzed by a geologist. The 2 mismatched glasses in the cupboard looked like they had been lifted from a nearby restaurant...I'd just like to have a couple of the standard plastic-wrapped hotel ones. And the noise level inside the room was no better, because of another poorly maintained air conditioning unit inside a closet in the room. The ventilation system did nothing to keep the humidity at bay (and the A/C compressor emitted a horrific clunk when it came on), so we set the thermostat to 67 degrees & turned the fan to constant on in order to keep the room at a somewhat comfortable temperature. Opening the windows/slider door proved to be no better, due to the all-night nature of the activity outside.

The bottom line? For the price, you're much better off at the Hampton or Clarion. This felt like a dorm room during college...dirt & damage inherited from previous occupants, and an "I paid for it, so I can do whatever I want" attitude from guests. Our advice to management? While we understand that this is an "extended stay" hotel, you are attracting a calibre of guest that has little respect for the property and other guests. Raise the price 50 bucks a night to weed out some of the riff-raff. Set up some rules for the public areas and hire some staff to enforce them. And maintain the place! Hire a good HVAC guy to look at the blowers & compressors, get rid of the cigarette-burned upholstery (or better yet, make the place non smoking), and impose a penalty (maybe a security deposit) for damage to the room. Touch up the paint, repair the carpet, & keep the place clean. Dump the ice after someone checks out & start over. And provide at least the basic hotel amenities like an ice bucket, disposable glasses/cups, etc. I know these things were all available "at the desk", but, when you check in at midnight, you don't want to have to take inventory of the basic things you need & go running after them.

We won't stay there again, nor will we be seeking out other hotels "managed" by this corporation.

  • Liked — Probably a good spot to "party down" in the room. BYO most everything...
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

This “all-suite” hotel featured functional décor, full kitchens, and high-speed wireless internet. The full kitchens include a refrigerator, microwave, oven/stove, dishwasher and a coffee maker. The dishwasher was great for our length of stay! Other extras include complimentary breakfast, a weekly complimentary pizza night, free laundry facilities and a fitness center. Oh yes and pets are allowed, no need to give your pet an unnecessary heart attack by putting them up. The staff was extremely efficient but could use a little more knowledge about surrounding entertainment. All in all a great place to get your dollars worth.

  • Liked — Kitchen and the fact we could bring our pet
  • Disliked — Parking in front of my suite was already taken/full
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Our room was dark, dingy, and shabby. It was on the first floor, right on the parking lot. The walls, floors, ceiling, furniture, and bedspread were brown. Nothing seemed to have been redone since the 1970s. It was dark and cave-like. Ultra depressing and uncomfortable. We felt as if we were fugitives in hiding in a cheap motel. We stepped around broken beer bottles on our sidewalk when we left in the morning. We agreed that we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Mo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

We selected this location based on past comments. What we did not realize that while the rooms are large, great location for shopping and restaurants -- the roaches are running the property. We were dislocated because of the ice storm, so for the past several weeks we have been complaining about roaches -- although we were given the option of another room we would only be carrying the roaches in our luggage to another room and ultimately home. They offered to give us a few nights (after our stay was completed) gratis. Now we have to have all of our belongings cleaned before we depart so we do not carry the horrible insects home. The housekeeping services are poor at best. The help at the counter is great -- nice people -- but then again they are not staying in the hotel. I should have looked a bit closer to the dates on the comments. Bring your bug spray and sleep with the lights on!!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cockroaches - horrible housekeeping services
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ryan, General Manager at Arbor Suites At The Mall, responded to this review, December 19, 2007
At the Arbor Suites we realize that the heart of the property is in our outstanding staff, however we take pride in maintaining our property and preserving that “As good as being home” feeling.

To GaleP, thank you very much for your time and effort in informing us about your stay. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. On behalf of Arbor Suites at the Mall and all of our guests, I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We have taken the necessary steps to prevent similar situations from occurring in the future. I can now assure you every issue you experienced has been resolved. We continue to be committed to providing you and all of our guests with the highest standards of service. I hope that if your plans include returning to Springfield, you will return as our guest.

Sincerely,
Ryan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbor Suites At The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Suites At The Mall

Address: 1550 E. Raynell Place, Springfield, MO 65804
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbor Suites At The Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arbor Suites At The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbor Suites At The Mall Hotel Springfield
Hawthorn Suites Springfield
Arbor Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbor Suites At The Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.