We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenstay Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Greenstay Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 N. Ingram Mill Road, Springfield, MO 65802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lees Summit
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here while I was in town for a concert, so I wanted to find a cheap place to sleep. I found a cheap price for it online and it was a very nice hotel. It was right next to the highway and train tracks, but I didn't hear any highway noise all night. I didn't even hear the other guests slamming doors or anything in the morning; the hotel must have great insulation. It had a separate sink outside of the bathroom which was nice while getting ready in the morning. But the lights when you turned them on were very dim but eventually got brighter. There was a closet with extra blankets and a desk with a chair, plus a plush chair to relax in. The room also had a fridge and microwave in it which was nice. The bed was soft and comfortable; the only drawback was the air conditioner. I had it set at 60, but it never got cold in the room; plus when it turned on it kind of sounded like a siren so it woke me up a few times during the night. But it was a very pleasant short stay, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    59
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
92
53
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had to stay at this hotel when University Plaza was booked up. What a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was great, hotel clean. The staff was friendly and it was a good location. Stayed two days would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Bootyjack,

Thank you for your review of Greenstay Hotel and Suites. We are very pleased that we were able to accommodate you during your May 2013 stay. Our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff work hard every day to ensure that your room is clean and comfortable. We are also very happy that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast. We still offer it as a complimentary amenity to all guests. We look forward to seeing you again with your next trip to Springfield, Missouri. Thank you for your stay and review of Greenstay Hotel and Suites.

Yours in Hospitality,

Jeff Portman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Greenstay Hotel – Springfield, MO
This green hotel doesn’t live up to the hype. They tout their healthy, sustainable approach but it really seems like most other hotels. Hotel is nice with good size rooms and was well cared for. They did have a couple of charging stations for electric vehicles. However at breakfast they used single use cups, bowls, plates and utensils – nothing reusable. Even the cereal came in pre-package single serving plastic containers. Breakfast also included few healthy options. They offered scrambled eggs and sausage which ran out and were not replenished. Limited fruit (only bananas) no yogurt, poor commercial cereals. Note the hotel is near a train track so if train noise bothers you might reconsider.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Travelez1234,

Thank you for reviewing Greenstay Hotel & Suites. We are constantly striving to improve our efforts in sustainability. Since your stay, we have switched to utensils and napkins that are made of 100% recycled materials, and we have expanded our breakfast selection to include oranges, bananas, pears, and multiple types of yogurt. We are also very excited for the city of Springfield to begin construction on a bridge over the railroad tracks in Fall 2014. This will alleviate the issue of noise from the train. Until then, we are happy to do our best to accommodate guests with rooms away from the tracks. Thank you for your stay at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Jeff Portman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed 2 or 3 times on discount offers. Fine at that price but wouldn't pay the non deep discount rate.

Room and facilities are clean. (However, water pressure was barley adequate on one stay.) Two-story building with no elevator.

Staff is friendly and accommodating. They'll gladly fulfill any reasonable request.

Breakfast is poor. Eggs are without doubt powdered and always need to be reheated. Breakfast staff is overtaxed. Hotels that do breakfast this poorly should consider upgrading or abandoning breakfast.

It also irritated me how transparently this hotel formerly campaigned for 5-star reviews on TripAdvisor by hotel guests.

In a town with so many choices, only the substantial discount would tempt me to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear bayerner_13,

Thank you for your review of Greenstay Hotel & Suites. We are glad we could accommodate you with a clean room for the price you desired. We apologize that you did not enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. Since your stay last May, we have dedicated more personnel and money to improve our guests’ breakfast experience. We do encourage our guests to review us on Trip Advisor so that we can continue to improve on our guest services and accommodations. Since you have already stayed multiple times, our rewards program would be helpful to you. After staying ten nights, we will either pay you $50 cash or give you a complimentary night. Thank you for your stays at Greenstay Hotel & Suites.

Yours in hospitality,

Jeff Portman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night and were quite pleased. The facility was clean, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. They honored our request for a late check out and even packed us Breakfast To Go bags so we could have food to eat before our half marathon. The rates were reasonable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I checked in 3-27-13, greeted warmly (and with Andes mints!!) and they called 15 minutes after I got into my room to make sure everything was satisfactory! So pleasant, and very helpful. Allowed me to have a late checkout the next day with no problems. The hotel smells very clean, room was perfect. They have pictures of wildlife that names every room, and coincidentally my room was elephant which is my favorite :)
The gym was gorgeous, everything worked great. The best part: FREE LAUNDRY SERVICE! They have washers and dryers in the gym and the are free to use. As a business traveler, this was so great.
The only tiny little complaint I have is in the room, the lights are very dim. I am not sure if this is because it is an eco-friendly hotel or what, but it was difficult to work on my reports from paper. I did them later so I still give this place 5 stars, just wanted to give business people a heads up. All in all, I would stay here every time!

Room Tip: Elephant room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Terrible experience. Upon checking in we notified the front desk that the security doors which are signed "locked for security" were not working. Anyone could access the building from outside. We were informed it would be fixed immediately, which upon leaving four days later were still not locked. Too compound, our vehicle was broken into the last night there. Front desk help did not exist. Hotel manager was not available and has not return requested phone calls for several days. Notified "Corporate" of security and breakin issue, but received the identical customer service, "NONE". It is apparent it is not a safe place to stay and customer service is at a minimum. To top it off, the hot breakfast was consistently cold. "Consistent"

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear 604TerryS604,

Thank you for your review of Greenstay Hotel & Suites. We apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay here. We are currently undergoing a remodel giving guests updated guest rooms and a new elevator. This remodel also addresses the security problems that you encountered with the exterior door. Today, the Greenstay Front Desk staff is striving to accommodate guests and their needs. We value our Greenstay guests, so during your three-night stay, we refunded the final night in order to offset the costs of damage and items lost from your vehicle. As a safety precaution, we advise all travelers to refrain from leaving valuables in their vehicles overnight no matter where you are staying.

Thank you again for your review of your stay at Greenstay Hotel & Suites in Springfield, Missouri. We look forward to your return to see the changes and improvements that we have made in the last year.

Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenstay Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenstay Hotel & Suites

Address: 222 N. Ingram Mill Road, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Springfield
#5 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenstay Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This environmentally friendly hotel follows and exceeds the Green Program established by the American Hotel & Lodging Association. Your choice to stay here makes a statement that you care. The hotel is decidedly comfortable and classy for the business or leisure travel. Our goal is to reduce our energy usage and carbon footprint but not the enjoyment of your stay. Check out our Rewards Program. Conveniently located in East Springfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenstay Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenstay Hotel And Suites
Hampton Inn Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenstay Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.