We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing its age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Springfield South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Springfield South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Springfield South
3232 S. Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65804   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Northeastern US
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Showing its age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was opened in 1993, and it shows. It isn't terrible--if it was, I would have demanded a free night--but there is plenty of room for improvement. There is a lip near the elevator that makes it hard to wheel the luggage cart on. There was condensation dripping from a vent near the third-floor elevator. One morning, there was a bucket and towels on the floor in the breakfast room due to a leak. The business center could use a second Internet terminal, which most Hampton Inns have. The room wasn't bad, but the lighting over the bathroom sink wasn't as good as the lighting over the sink in the area next to the bathroom. I felt that one of the bulbs should be replaced, but this didn't happen while I was there. The shower head was too low. At only 5'10", I shouldn't have to duck. When I checked out, I was told that this Hampton Inn was considered in the top 10% of all Hampton Inns. I've stayed at more than 60, and I would rank this in the bottom 25%. I expect better from Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about our facility. Yes we were built in 1993 and since then we have had 4 major renovations. we recently received new Setra Sweet Dreams Bedding, new furniture, new lighting features, new 32" flat screen TV's, new hallway carpet, and a newly renovated lobby.

Because of such a dry summer and getting almost six inches of rain in a 24 hour period, there were a few leaks. We have had the leaks fixed and I will speak to our elevator company about the threshold between the floor and the elevator. Our staff is always available to assist with luggage carts and I aplolgize they didn't offer help. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
45
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The check in staff here is pretty laid back. They were helpful, but not overly. They seemed a bit uninterested. The place is not new, but very very clean and well kept. The housekeeping staff should be commended. Breakfast was very typical for a Hampton Inn. Something different was that they offered cookies in the evening as you were coming back from work. Kinda nice. There is a TGI Fridays in the same parking lot, convenient, and they will also deliver to your room.. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn South. I will review your positive comments with the Housekeeping staff and also review this information with the Front Desk Manager.

As always, we appreciate feedback from all of our guests. I hope you are safe in your travels home and in the future. Daniel Silas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel twice now. It's convenient, surrounded by good restaurant options and across the street from a mall. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Afternoon cookies were a nice touch. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danosilas, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to send in a review to Trip Advisor. The Team Members at the Hampton Inn South Hotel thank you as well for the warm review and will continue to strive to maintain excellent guest services and cleanliness. Daniel Silas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We like Hampton Inns and have stayed at many around the country. This high rating is based on a comparison to hotels in the chain. This is a little nicer than most. The lobby area was large and fancier than usual. Our room was clean and included all of the things we like about Hampton Inns, like the bedding. In addition, ice cream bars and cookies upon check-in! The breakfast area was large with family seating.

Be careful. There are two Hampton Inns on Glenstone. Both hotels have Glenstone addresses, but our GPS listed The south one by frontage road address. So of course we went to the wrong one. The north hotel was very friendly, checked our reservation, and redirected us to the south one. This hotel is located in the Battlefield retail area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danosilas, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to send in a review to Trip Advisor. The Team Members at the Hampton Inn South Hotel thank you as well for the warm review and will continue to strive to maintain excellent guest services and cleanliness. Daniel Silas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed at several hotels in the Springfield area, this one was so far the best. We had an issue with our neighbors singing loudly, playing music and guitar very late one night and the night manager took care of it and we slept soundly the rest of the night. Breakfast was good, no issues at all with anything. The beds and room were very comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the end of the 3rd floor, so only had one neighbor, great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family was driving from Chicago to Oklahoma, and stopped in Springfield. We made reservations a couple hours before, and stayed there because of the close proximity to the highway. There are plenty of food options nearby, including a Steak N Shake next door. The pool was nice, and the hot tub was larger than ones I have seen at other hotels. The breakfast was wonderful, and the staff kept giving us free boxes of mints. It's a convenient place to stop, with an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crest Hill, IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were driving back to Illinois from Arizona and decided to stop in Springfield, Mo. As others have stated it is just off Glenstone Road and the highway. We didn't have a reservation but there was a king bed room available. Our room was clean and what we have come to expect at a Hampton. The breakfast was good and staff very accomodating and helpful. Lots of high stools instead of table and chairs. We ate dinner at Logan's Roadhouse at 1110 E. Battlefield and it was great! Would make this hotel a stop on future trips through Springfield.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Springfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Springfield South

Address: 3232 S. Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#15 Family Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Springfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield South Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Springfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.