We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 John Q. Hammons Pkwy., Springfield, MO 65806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Katelin and Susan went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met. After a long day of flying with little to no food, they were kind enough to treat us to a complimentary app (food, not phone) to tide us over until our rooms were readied. The gym is 24 hours which is a plus to anyone working long days and nights, the terrace grille has food to die for, and the rooms are exactly what you want to come home to after a hard days night. Book your stay now!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    107
    61
    23
    30
See reviews for
122
71
21
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Dining was great! Waitresses Kathy and Heidi were great. Also, Chef Jerry did an outstanding job on meal.the staff really make my stay a pleasant experience. You'll enjoy this hotel while in Springfield.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a nice hotel. Great rooms and friendly staff. Room was very clean and comfortable. I travel a lot and the complimentary breakfast is one of the best I''ve seen. Brook in the Terrace Grille Restaurant is a delight!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at University Plaza Hotel, we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed our convenient location while visiting with us. We are absolutely delighted that your favorite part of the stay was breakfast and that you were able to engage with our friendly and helpful staff.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My family and I recently spent two nights at the University Plaza Hotel. We booked through Priceline therefore our check-in was very quick and smooth. Since we traveled with 2 infants the hotel kindly provided us with baby cribs at no extra charge. The rooms were very nice. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was wonderful!!! Our only complaint would be that the air conditioning did not work very well. It kept the room sufficiently cool but not as cool as we prefer. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: King rooms are quite large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
University Plaza Hotel is delighted to receive your praises and hear that we have exceeded your expectations. It is our mission to truly delight and satisfy our guests. Thank you so much for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spent three days at the University Plaza on business. My stay started with frustration as I called for a shuttle from the airport and they told me 20 minutes and that turned to 40 minutes. At 9PM at night there was no excuse for the delay.

Check in service was fine after which I had a sandwich at the bar that was no better than average.

The room was clean and quite ordinary. No refrigerator.

In the morning I found that the tub faucet leaked and the tub had a couple of inches of water in it - see photo of leaking faucet. The faucet leaked for the whole stay.

The breakfast is below average for a hotel breakfast. The only fruit they had was some cut melon - no bananas, no oranges, no apples, etc. The coffee is machine coffee and not fresh brewed - poor quality. The rest of the breakfast menu was typical of a low cost hotel. Not appetizing at all.

The condition of the room was poor - see the photo of the broken curtain and the hanging shower curtains.

Overall this is a very disappointing hotel and I cannot recommend it at any price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We strive every day to make sure our guest enjoy their time with us. Unfortunately this did not happen in your case. We are just finishing a renovation of the exterior as your title mentions, the interior starts in August, I am sure you will notice a huge difference in the future.

Your comments have been shared with all of our staff with the hopes of improving our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel was exceptionally clean and well laid out. The first floor was furnished with high quality and comfortable furniture. A wonderful place to gather and fellowship with friends. The breakfast included in the price of the room was a full course meal and the service was excellent. Kathy was very friendly and a attentive to clean the tables for arriving guests.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for selecting University Plaza Hotel for your stay. We could not be happier that you enjoyed our helpful team, convenient location and luxurious guestroom accommodations.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our breakfast club meets every week. They are an awesome place to meet for business and personal fun") Kathy is amazing") They always go above and beyond to ensure we are happy and
well taken care of. I greatly recommend staying here or moving ur networking event to this locale. Pricing is great. Food is great. Price is right.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
University Plaza Hotel is delighted to receive your praises and hear that we have consistently exceeded your expectations, specifically Kathy. It is our mission to truly delight and satisfy our guests.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 John Q. Hammons Pkwy., Springfield, MO 65806
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#7 Green Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
#22 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTERDowntown Lodging at the Top of Its ClassExperience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Complimentary hot breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield just 30 minutes from Branson, MO• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.