We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And a Goldfish?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 John Q. Hammons Pkwy., Springfield, MO 65806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“And a Goldfish?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the Missouri Library Association 2012 Conference. We were given a goldfish for our room, superb bell service, and we were even given a ride on the hotel shuttle to the local liquor store. What MORE can you ask for? Oh wait, a full buffet COMPLIMENTARY breakfast? YES PLEASE! This place blew my mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, the Goldfish included thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center. We are so humbled by your feedback and excited we could make your stay so enjoyable.

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Springfield.

Sincerely,
Robert Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    107
    61
    23
    30
See reviews for
122
71
21
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really not sure how this hotel has received such high reviews! We stayed in October, 2012 on the third floor. After viewing the hotel information online, pictures online, and reading all the great reviews, we really didn't think we had anything to worry about. Wrong. Our room looked run down and the carpet had multiple stain spots to the point that I didn't really want my kids walking around without shoes on at all times. The AC didn't work well at all. We had to turn it all the way down to 60 to try to get the room cool. Every time we left the room, we could instantly feel the cooler, comfortable temperature of the hall and lobby. The bathroom was not very clean and I had to clean it before it was acceptable to use. Another family was traveling with us and also had a room on the third floor. They did not have any issues with their AC, but their carpet also had some stains and their toilet ran off and on all night.

If you are traveling and want a relaxing, quiet stay, this is probably NOT the hotel for you. Inside our room, we could hear A LOT of noise from the lobby up until around 10:30pm.

Hate to say it, but we won't be back to this hotel when we travel through Springfield, MO. We much prefer a hotel with a clean and peaceful room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your story with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked this place last minute through Hotwire and wasn't sure what to expect as the ratings were excellent but the price was so low.

What I got was absolutely superb. The hotel is modern with clean and spacious rooms that had 2 chairs plus a work desk.

All the rooms are off balconies around a central atrium containing the hotel's in-house grill, bar and reception desk, which means they can be a little noisy in the evening, but things never got unacceptably disruptive and it went quiet by 10:30.

When I stayed they were having an issue with their WiFi, which was a little frustrating as Internet is a criterion I used to choose the hotel. It was something they knew about and apologised for at check in and it did work later in the evening as they said it would because they had a tech coming.

At breakfast the food was plentiful and good - real scrambled egg and they use ceramic plates and coffee mugs rather than my pet-hate expanded polystyrene land fill cloggers like most places in the US seem to.

Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor above the bar and I did hear laughter quite clearly at some points...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for all your kind remarks about our team and our hotel! Our team works hard to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and it's great to hear you enjoyed it.

I also want to apologize for the WIFI issues, we are starting a multi million dollar renovation and one upgrade is to our internet, the temporary solution you experience was failing.

Thank you, again, for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice comfortable hotel close to Missouri State University. Staff is always friendly and welcoming when we stay there. We have stayed at this hotel several times since our daughter has started at MSU and have never had a bad stay. The hotel is within walking distance to the University as well as some nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.

Robert Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel is in great location and hotel was just overall great ! The room was extremely clean, the staff was very friendly and food was just excellent. The new menu in restaurant was terrific and great choices. Thank you and will definitely return for a visit and will recommend your hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the University Plaza Hotel Springfield. All of our team members work hard every day to make each guest feels special and by the sounds of your review, we accomplished our goal.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Robert Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at the University Plaza Hotel several times on my business trip to Springfield. The experience is always a good one - from the warm and friendly staff to the large comfortable rooms. There seems to always be something fun going on in the Atrium and the hotel seems to be a favorite spot of the local people for lunch and Happy Hour. The location is very convenient to downtown and centrally located in Springfield. I can't wait for the new Spa to open!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center. We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you back to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is THE perfect location if you are doing anything involved with Missouri State! It was a nice short walk to campus! The staff was so nice! Especially our Bellman Jordan! He was so nice, helpful, & made us laugh & smile. The hotel is VERY clean too! All of the amenities ever needed & a perfect location. Thanks for a wonderful experience! We will be staying here every time we come to Springfield!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO and next to MSU. We will be sure to pass the kind words about Jordan and our staff on to them.

Again we are glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks for taking the time post your experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 John Q. Hammons Pkwy., Springfield, MO 65806
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#7 Green Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
#22 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTERDowntown Lodging at the Top of Its ClassExperience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Complimentary hot breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield just 30 minutes from Branson, MO• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.