We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Employees EVER == facility needs HELP!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge I-44

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge I-44 to your Saves list
Econo Lodge I-44
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2611 North Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65803 (Formerly Eagle's Lodge Springfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
plain dealing
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Employees EVER == facility needs HELP!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

arrived with request of handicap room... rapid check in & on to room == desk clerk even came with me to UNLOAD!! WOW! YES! GREAT STAFF!!! once in the room... immediately i noticed there was NO fridge or microwave as advertised??? clerk stated she could move me or i could wait until morning & maintenance would bring it.... decided to wait until morning. unpacked... got undressed... ready to relax & go to bed. COULDNT FIND REMOTE TO TV??? called desk & asked if it maybe was kept where i couldnt seem to find it? she stated NO! should be right there??? next thing a knock on the door.... the other desk clerk comes in & announces YOU ARE MOVING! i will move EVERYTHING for you.... i have already been to the room & turned up the heat and checked to make sure EVERYTHING is there! so TWO DOORS down we go!! exactly as she said... she moved EVERY SINGLE ITEM, except me & my purse!
third day in that 2nd room....(you guessed it... just as my ONLY FAVORITE show was coming on!) the TV went out!!! UGH! UGH! UGH! the clerk called maintenance even tho it was 8pm on a sunday night.... she then told me he would be right up from home... again: GREAT STAFF! he worked & worked... changed the cable box... then changed out the TV... then called cable company... they said they wouldnt come out and change their part until morning! by this time my show was of course OVER! he then came back & said they were moving me to the next room as the TV was fine there! i just broke down crying! i had NO DESIRE to be moved AGAIN!!! so i opted to stay there with NO TV... i didnt care to see anything else anyway... the next morning Cable was there by 9am & had it up and working within 30min. so, as the facility goes... it really has problems!! but, you will just NEVER find nicer more helpful willing to please staff anywhere!!! 2 staff even suggested i should have been given a night free possibly for the inconvenience we suffered! but, the manager nor owner were upfront about that!! IMAGINE THAT?? and since we will never need a room in Springfield, Mo, to comp us a night in the future would have been futile! the noise level at this facility is HIGH! anyone above you... can be heard EVERY STEP and some things can even be heard from the rooms next door.... we unfortunately had a child above us that jumped & ran & squealed much more than an average normal child!!! but, she was in bed at night before we were... so it never disturbed our sleep! in fact none of the noises disturbed sleep... they were all during AWAKE hours!

Room Tip: if you can climb stairs = GO UPSTAIRS
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Mamagirl3
Thank you for staying with us at The Homestay Inn. I am so sorry to hear about the issues you had when you were here. Thank you for bringing to our attention the cable issues. It is very uncommon and we did look into that problem and the cable company has assured us that everthing has been taken care of.
We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention about the refrigerator issue in our handicap room. It was orignally thought that space was an issue with that room. We understand how important it is to have a refrigerator and after reading your comments, we have done further investigation and have plans for one to be placed in the room.
We have a great staff here at The Homestay Inn and everyone here takes pride in making sure that the needs and comfort of the guest come first. I am very sorry that you were moved so many times and I would love to speak to you concerrning your visit, i am sure that there is something that we can do to make you happy.
We love to get return guests and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
12
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our first stop on the drive from Michigan to Arizona. It was exactly what we were looking for.
The location was perfect. It is right in town with alot of stores and restaurants next door. The room was clean and spacious (with a micro and ref), the cost was low, and it included a hot breakfast with bisquits and gravy, waffles, yogurt, bagels, danishs and more!
On our next trip out, we will definitely stop here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
SpartyK
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We love to get feedback from our guests and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and i decided to stay here after reading the reviews online. Not only was the room clean but it had a microwave,coffeemaker,fridge, and a decent free breakfast. We were very happy with our visit and had no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Katykat33
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel, we are pleased that you decided to stay with us and you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was tired from driving and decided the best chance for a bargain, was at this exit, since there's more hotels than red lights! I started at exit and slowly progressed towards south. I was getting annoyed, since the parking lots of the hotels were empty and the average price was $79.95, plus for a room. The representatives of these establishments, put out no effort, basically saying, It is what it is. Now I came to the Homestay Hotel, it used to be a Red Roof, but looked presentable. The only young lady, that actually had a personality, when I walked into the lobby. I told her to give me a reason to stay here and Wham, How about $54.95 for a suite? Nice place, big room and comfy bed, at my price for business travel. Give them a try, the others are duds!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Road Dog Cincinnati
Thank you for the great review for our property. We take pride in our rooms, prices and the customer service we provide to our guests. You could have chosen any number of hotels but are glad that you chose to stay with us. We do appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again when you are traveling to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayer, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked online at Expedia. 55.00 total for overnight so we could complete a test at AG's School of Ministry.
When I arrived the building looked a little dated, but hey 55.00 and 1 night. I could tolerate!
YAYYYY, we stayed in room 126 and it was a WONDERFUL surprise. Room was very nicely renovated, immaculately clean and included a king size comfortable bed. Another surprise I LOVED was the very comfortable futon couch...
We had breakfast the next morning before class that included: cereal, mini cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, waffles, toast, bagels, pastries, yogurt and fresh fruits and drinks....
Enjoyed our stay very much and will return again..The accessibility to local eateries was an added plus and freeway on ramp within 1 block.....GREAT VALUE, GREAT STAY AND GREATLY APPRECIATED!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Beverly R
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of our hot breakfast.. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We checked about 6 hotels before we stopped at the Homestay Inn in Springfield, MO... And it was a waste of our time! The Homestay Inn staff was very friendly from the moment we got there. And the hotel rooms were very clean and very pretty. We only paid $49 for our room and it was by far the nicest one we stayed in our whole vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
LawandaKress
Thank you for sharing your experience while you were a guest at The Homerstay Inn. We love to hear from the wonderful people that stay with us. We are very happy that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you in the future when you vist Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We discovered this motel last year on our way home and were very pleased. That is why we stopped again. We were greeted at the front desk and were given our room They have clean spacious rooms. The property is clean and well maintained. It is right off of I-44 and close to shopping and sightseeing in Springfield. It is also close to Andy's Frozen Custard. This is a particular favorite of mine. To bad they don't have any in N.Y. The Continental Breakfast is great and has a good variety of food. I rate this 15 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Bill
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property. We were so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge I-44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge I-44

Address: 2611 North Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65803 (Formerly Eagle's Lodge Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge I-44 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge East hotel in Springfield, MO near Fantastic Caverns Located near Interstate 44, the Econo Lodge(R) I-40, Exit 80 hotel in Springfield, Missouri offers easy access to Fantastic Caverns, America's only ride-through cave. Additional points of interest nearby include: Dickerson Park Zoo Ozark Empire Fairgrounds Discovery Center of Springfield If here on business, you'll also appreciate our proximity to Bass Pro Shops headquarters and the Loren Cook Company manufacturing facilities. Amenities and features offered at the Econo Lodge include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free hot breakfast and coffee Seasonal outdoor pool Business center with computer, copy and fax services Pet-friendly hotel; fees apply All guest rooms include a hair dryer and coffee maker. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, iron and ironing board. This Econo Lodge I-40, Exit 80 hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Whether traveling on business or leisure, the Econo Lodge hotel provides valuable accommodations in Springfield, MO. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge I-44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay Hotel Springfield
Eagles Hotel Springfield
Econo Lodge Springfield
Springfield Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge I-44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.