We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in the west” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 South Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
1 review
“best in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We enjoyed the room's décor and its cleanliness. we have stayed in several motels and hotels in the last 3 weeks and we have never had such a clean aired out room as this motel. We had the breakfast ....more choices as well as amounts shown...we love the waffles and the mini-cinnamon sweet rolls as I said the best in the west

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Becky S: Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven. Our waffles and cinnamon rolls are by far the most popular item we have in our breakfast selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    179
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
133
214
27
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Plains, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are not spacious like some of the more modern builds, but what they may lack in size they more than make up for in character. I have paid more for much less sadly. Kudos to the Rail Haven for the tasteful remodel without losing the charm of the roadside motels of days past. SUPER clean room, VERY comfortable bed, and the staff was amazing. I stay in hotels approximately 200 nights a year across multiple states and countries, and this was at least in the top five of the year for me.
Will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Parking is easier on West side, but rooms are comfortable on the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Scott S: Thank you for the wonderful review of the hotel. I appreciate the five star rating and all the compliments you have shared. I am also thrilled to hear that we are in your top 5 of best hotels that you have stayed at. I am excited to hear that you will be back and look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Love this motel. Staff is excellent, service is great and the rooms are perfect. I always stay here when I visit my son who is in college. I brought my extended family along this time and they too loved this motel. They were used to staying in hotels and were pleasantly surprised at how awesome their stay was at this motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Tina S: Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad to hear that you and your extended family enjoyed their stay in Springfield, while visiting MSU. We hope to see your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This motel has very nice rooms, ours was small but very well designed. The room was clean, sheets and towels very nice, bed very comfortable.
The complimentary breakfast was good.
The 50's theme was a lot of fun! Pictures of the motel over the past several decades in the rooms.
Several 50s autos parked outside.
No restaurant at the motel but several close.
Very reasonably priced. We will stay at this motel whenever we come to Springfield.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Sherri M: Thank you so much for all your positive comments on the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel definitely preserves the historic ambiance of the old town lodging. The rooms are definitely renovated with all modern technology. I definitely liked how the rooms are separated from the others unlike some of the newer tightly packed inns.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Ugin R: Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Rail Haven. At the hotel we do strive to preserve the historical character of this property and the uniqueness of this type of hotel. It is not common anymore to find this type of hotel, many hotels have several floors which compacts the rooms all together in one area. However our hotel is one level so all the rooms are side-by-side which makes them feel more spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

So cozy and clean - just loved it! The staff is so friendly and the rooms are immaculate. It has such retro charm and character - I had a great time at this hotel and even though I was passing through on my way to St. Louis, I will come back and stay again. The American idea of space has changed so much through the years and when I was a kid, all hotels were this small. It's amazing because you realize you don't need that much room and less room is actually much cozier and intimate. Best Westerns are always a good bet for me and I've never had a bad experience. You can tell the management and staff care about this property. It shows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Ellen L: Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you loved our hotel. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is 75 years old and is along route 66, if you are interested in the history of route 55, this was ideal. There are many photos of the early 50s. It was ideal for a walk into Springfield where we enjoyed dinner The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dorothy L: Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I will pass along your praises to the entire staff. I hope you enjoyed the history at the Rail Haven and enjoyed your time in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Address: 203 South Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#4 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.