We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical but very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   203 South Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Newnham-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Historical but very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed on 29 Sep 13 and it was our first time in a motel, I don't think I would choose to do so again; having just stayed at the Omni Majestic in St Louis perhaps we were expecting too much. The bed was too small for us and the decor was somewhat tatty, additionally the passing of people by the window meant we had to have the curtains drawn even in daylight. The upside, if you are an Elvis fan is that you can stay in the room he used for an additional $120. The breakfast was very hearty even if the room was somewhat cramped for the number of people there.

Room Tip: Make sure that you understand that the beds are not the size most have at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Peter A: Thank you for your review of the hotel. Some of our rooms are smaller than others, since the hotel is 75 years old. I apologize that you weren't satisfied with the size of the room. We appreciate the compliments on breakfast and hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    179
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
133
214
27
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stacy, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed one night. Room was mostly clean however we found a small clump of hair in the shower. Bed was comfortable. However two of us in the King was a problem when one got up night and easily disturbed the other. Our bed at home allows one to move without disturbing the other. We stayed in room 2xx. Although hotel is on rather busy street we slept fine. There are many well known restaurants a couple miles further south from hotel such as Chilies, Olive Garden, Cheddars, etc. The breakfast room was very small. I was looking forward to a egg/cheese/muffin in the microwave. It did NOT taste good. I tossed half of it and I don't normally waste food. Maybe the sausage one would have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
charger1970rt:

I sincerely apologize about the condition of your shower. This is not typical here, but I have passed this review on to my head housekeeper anyway so that she is aware of the situation. I hope you give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've stayed at the other Best Western in town in the past and decided, based on price and good reviews to try this one. This one isn't as convenient for someone traveling west on 1-44 like we were but we weren't in a hurry so that was fine. Got to the motel and checked in quickly but found they had given us a room with no refrigerator. Plus it was very close to the street and the traffic noise was quite noticeable. The staff quickly changed the room and apologized, saying that the website reservations didn't tell them that we wanted a refrig. Whatever. The new room was farther from the street and we had no problems with traffic noise.

Our room, a king, was quite small compared to what we are used to. But it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We were disappointed that there were no restaurants very close since we had been on the road for many hours and didn't relish driving again. But it was only a couple of miles so it didn't take long.

Breakfast was a typical continental. We were there early so had no problems with seating but we could see that it would get crowded very quickly due to the size.

In the future, we'd stay at the other BW. A little more money but more convenient and more room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
kglen1:

I am sorry to hear that you have decided not to stay with us again. We obviously can't do much about our location within town, but we do have rooms that are larger than our standard king rooms. They cost a little more because they come with a whirpool tub, but it sounds like the extra cost wouldn't be an issue for you.
We do have restaurants located very close to the hotel, so I'm not sure why you had to drive a few miles unless you just weren't in the mood for the selection close in proximity. George's Restaurant (Variety) is less than 100 yards from our parking lot and they offer a discounted meal to Rail Haven guests. Many of our guests walk there from their room. El Maguey, Mexican Villa, and Jose Loco's (all Mexican), Hong Kong Garden and Pacific Kitchen (both Chinese) are all less than a quarter mile. Also within a quarter mile are McDonalds, Taco Bell, Steak 'n' Shake, Mr. Goodcents, Burger King, Hardee's, Chipotle, Domino's, and Braums; but I understand if you'd prefer something other than fast food for dinner.
We hope you reconsider staying with us. Next time we can get you a bigger room and some directions to restaurants nearby. Regardless, thank you for reviewing your stay and for rating us four stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

THe hotel was very clean for the price, the air unit was a bit tricky, the room was either very cool or warm but overall room experience was great. However in this hotel the breakfast room is way to small and as you will have happen their were other quest that forget everyone else is trying to do the samething getting their breakfast also. Had a family that would not let anyone else use the waffle maker nor did the seem to care that others might want to use it. Overall though I do recommend this hotel for the price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I'm sorry that the breakfast area was crowded. It can be a bit cramped when we sell all or most of our rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield mo, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

when we come we stay for a week or more.Enjoy this hotel for convenience and comfort.The staff is very helpful and pleasant to deal with.the rooms are well equipped for a extended stay.ialso find the price very reasonable.would recommend this motel for all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Cherylann K:

Thank you for rating the Rail Haven five stars! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Franklin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Old motor inn setup but impeccably clean and comfortable. Had not a single problem, and our king size bed was extremely comfortable. Lots of channels on tv, also. Check-in and check-out were incredibly smooth. Quiet where we were. Didn't use the breakfast option. The dining area was cute but very small and crowded when we came in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Matthew C:

Thank you for rating us five stars! Our housekeeping and maintneance staff works very hard to keep our rooms "impeccably clean and comfortable." Thank you for taking notice. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have nothing but praise for this little treasure on Route 66. We would have loved to have stayed for more than one night. It was great fun parking our Camarro outside our door beside the Harley Davidson motorbikes. The room itself was delightful and we enjoyed looking at the photographs. Breakfast was excellent even if a little crowded at the start. But we found a great spot outside to enjoy watching the world go by and eat our breakfast without being rushed. Definitely worth a return visit on day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
nialliam:

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stop at the Rail Haven during your Route 66 trip. I hope the rest of your visit to the States was as enjoyable. Thank you for telling us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven

Address: 203 South Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#4 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.