We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to eat for a special evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Steakhouse and Wine Bar

Flame Steakhouse and Wine Bar
314 West Walnut Street, Springfield, MO 65806
417-862-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 519 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat for a special evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Too pricey for us, except for a special celebration type of meal. Definitely a great place to impress a date. My steak had to be sent back to be cooked as I ordered it, which left my date awkwardly waiting for me to get my food before he felt good about enjoying his. This was disappointing for the price, but I was offered a soup in the meantime; which I opted not to take, because I didn't like the type offered. The steak literally melted in my mouth, once I did finally get it. Delicious but expensive. Nice ambiance. Romantic. Contemporary decor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    28
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sometimes you have to treat yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Let me just start by saying my wife and I avoid fancy, over the top, stuffed-shirt kinds of places. Generally I don't like to spend more than $18 a plate, and typically I would rather stay home and cook. If a restaurants can match or exceed my ability in cooking then I will usually return.

The ambiance is dark which is fine if you are into that sort of mood. Those who are visually impaired may need some extra lighting assistance from a flashlight or phone to see the menu. Because of the table proximity, it can get pretty loud but just expect it going in. It can even be fun engaging with the other guests. The majority of the waiters looked as though they could dunk a basketball with out much effort, which adds to the visual aesthetics.

The food is on the high side, but typical for what I would classify as a "fine-dining" experience. I ordered the mid-rare ribeye and my wife got the small mid-well filet mignon. Our waiter was not very attentive, and I have had far better service as casual restaurants than here (it wasn't a busy night for them). Overall the steaks had great flavor and the sides were amazing. The temperature on each steak was a bit under what we were each expecting, so you might ask it a half step up from what you normally order i.e. mid-rare should ask for medium. We each got a few mixed adult beverages which had great presentation and really dynamic flavors.

Overall the food was good and the experience was alright, but we had fun and enjoyed our time. It was worth the large bill we paid in the end, and suitable for a once a year treat.

-SoCal Skater

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey But Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went to Flame to celebrate our anniversary. The atmosphere was very pleasant, the waitress very nice and efficient. The food was pricey by fabulous. We had the most tender salmon we've ever tasted! The baked potato bar (cart) had many topping options. Because it was our anniversary we were given a luscious deep chocolate/strawberry dessert (on the house). We probably won't make this a routine stop, but it was excellent for a special occasion!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat in Springfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is probably my favorite place to eat in Springfield- besides Touch (their sister restaurant on south side). Amazing filet mignon, and the best service in town. Great wine and beautiful atmosphere- perfect for a nice date night. This is high quality stuff for Springfield!

Also love the red room lounge- great happy hour specials. The flirtini is my fav. Love that I can get a still get a decent drink at a reasonable cost in a classy environment.

Also- they do amazing catering!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“GREAT Happy Hour in The Red Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The dark, dungeon-like atmosphere in Flame's basement is brightened by one of Springfield's best happy hours! The Red Room has hands down the best hamburgers in town, and so much more. The atmosphere is retro funky - VERY dimly lit red and black decor, with seating on sofas, lounge chairs, high tops, or the bar. The service is always very good, even when the bar is crowded.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Steakhouse and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Flame Steakhouse and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Steakhouse and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.