We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Incredible Meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilardi's Ristorante

Gilardi's Ristorante
820 A East Walnut St., Springfield, MO 65806-2424
417-862-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 519 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow! Incredible Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A very cool little place. We were a little worried about not being dressed well enough. Although it's classy, we didn't feel out of place in shorts and open toed shoes.

I had Tortellini, and it was some of the best food I've ever had. The prosciutto put it over the top, and then chef/owner informed us that he imports it from Parma, Italy, because he wasn't satisfied with what he could find here in the states.

My girlfriend ordered some sort of vodka pasta...sorry can't remember the name, and she LOVED it as well. I much preferred my meal, but she preferred hers, so we were highly satisfied.

With drinking three glasses of wine, we still ate for less than $70.

If I had time to visit only one restaurant in Springfield, I would go here.

One note, reservations might be a good idea! We didn't have one, but got lucky to have a seat because we went pretty late.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stumbled upon a great little restaurant last evening during our over night stay in Springfield. Great ambiance. Not so noisy that one could not enjoy the background music and conversation. Food was well prepared and delicious. Generous portion and wife enjoyed the leftovers for breakfast. Would definitely return. Modest prices. Good wine selection. Frank did nice job taking care of us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Italian with Home Grown Veggies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a quaint restaurant behind an old house on Walnut Street in downtown Springfield. The atmosphere is warm yet professional. We were there on a business dinner and were not disappointed. The Mahi Mahi and mussels are well-seasoned and taste great, but the salads take the plate here. All of the lettuce, onions and other veggies are grown in a garden in front of the restaurant. The water used to hydrate the gardens is from an advanced rain collection system connected to the restaurant. The freshness is overwhelming and the lettuce type combinations make the salads delicious. We met James who describes himself as the "Head Dishwasher". Very enterprising young man focused on delivering high quality food with a unique taste and doing as little damage to the environment. I will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luther, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Last week in Springfield for a basketball tournament and wandered into Gilardi's. Server was outstanding (Kelsey), cheerful, informative regarding the menu, Too full for dessert so suggested we take some homemade Tiramisu in a carry out for later. Great suggestion and well worth waiting for. Meal was excellent - chicken piccata was great, as was the Caesar salad and the crab cakes.

Will definitely go back whenever in Springfield.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The food isn't the same as we remembered. The menu is the same as when Nicola owned it. We were there on New Year's Eve. The kitchen was out of several of the items we tried to order. This was unfortunate. I wouldn't say we wouldn't go back, I will say it may not be our first choice for New Year's Eve any longer. The staff was great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilardi's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Gilardi's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilardi's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.