We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by limp fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
Battlefield Mall, Springfield, MO
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 541 restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed by limp fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had not eaten Five Guys in a year and was looking forward to the fries, but they were limp instead of firm. They do have the coolest drink machine ever. You can push a button to make any soda any flavor. Located next to the mall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    6
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always good fresh burgers and fries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Burgers done right. Fries done right. Simple menu focused on good food. One of the best places to just get a burger, fries, and Coke.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Greasy, crowded, over hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The burgers were average (at best). The place was cramped (lots of room for 50lb bags of fries). After all the hype, I felt it was an overpriced, greasy hamburger.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Stick with the "Little" Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Their "little" is still pretty big, especially once you start piling on the toppings. I love that they have the "mix your own" Coke fountains that give you lots of options, and so many topping options. Cajun fries are delish!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wish they had milkshakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is your classic burger establishment. Juicy, fresh-tasting beef, hand-cut fries, and free peanuts! My only complaints are 1) the potato carts in the middle of the aisles are poorly placed, I almost tripped over them several times and a table with an individual in a wheelchair next to me had problems maneuvering around the setups to get to the soda fountain. 2) American "cheese" as the cheese, really? Luckily I ordered a hamburger, but if cheddar were offered, it would've been a cheeseburger. 3) No milkshakes?!? Maybe it's just a Midwestern thing, but I'd love a tall chocolate shake with my burger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

Springfield, MO
Springfield, MO
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.