We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Chinese buffet at great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian King Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asian King Buffet
3130 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804-4404
417-889-8388
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 519 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great Chinese buffet at great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

All three times I have been there the food has been fresh because there have always been a lot of custmers - so the cooks just keep it coming. very reasonably priced and a great assortment of great tasting food. There is a mongolian BBQ for those that want it, sushi for those that like sushi and both hot and cold foods on the three rows of the buffet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nixa, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chinese buffet w/ sushi YES!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love sushi, and I would not think this is the best i have ever had, but I have gone several times with good results every time.

The wasabi is fresh, the food prep and health is very good for a buffet, and I just like it. My friend has gone there over 40 times without a bad meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ive tried every chinese buffet in SW MO i eat here every weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When I first began eating here it wasnt this good. Now the sushi is fresh and delicious the mongolian grill is clean and the crab legs are fresh and plentiful. The proprieters and employees undertand english perfectly and speak it pretty well. They are very polite and helpful. The food has a nice selection and two can have buffet for about $25. near christmas they offer $25 gift certificates for $20
The problems that plague this type of establishment are not present here. the decor is refined everything is clean and the food this last year has been very fresh hot and flavorful. Unlike most asian restaraunts where they snicker at you in Viet and assume you do not speak it because you are white. These people are happy to see you and are quick to refill your drink rather than judge you for taking to many crab legs. With food this good i barely touch the crabs. i head for the sushi mongolian grill and mussels.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Missouri
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Better than most Chinese Buffets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Asian King Buffet use to be something else, what I can't recall. The Asian King is much better and I really prefer this in many ways. They have added a sushi bar and the sushi is fresh and good with someone making rolls pretty much the whole day. It's wonderful to find it made fresh and not brought out from the back. The service is always good and the food on the bar fresh. They make a sliced beef in pasty that I devour when I am there.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Above average Chinese buffet in the Queen City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I dined at the Asian King Buffet a couple of weeks ago and we both enjoyed the experience. We were worried that at 2pm on a Sunday afternoon the food would be cold, not plentiful and had been overall sitting around for awhile. We were pleasantly surprised to find that there was an abundance of food, everything tasted very good, and the staff was attentive and were always freshening the buffet if you will. They had some seafood items that aren't normally seen on most Chinese buffets such as oysters, mussels, etc. I am not a big fan of them, but it does show you that there is a plethora of items. Oh, and they had what looked to be a nice soup area as well as a well above average sushi-roll bar. Their coconut shrimp was delicious as was their crab rangoon. I am tempted to give this restaurant a 5 * review but I was really hoping for some fried dumplings when I went and they didn't have any. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Chinese buffets. The quality of food seemed very "non-buffet".

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian King Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Asian King Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian King Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.