We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mother's Brewing Company

Mother's Brewing Company
215 South Grant Avenue, Springfield, MO 65806
(417) 862-0423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Springfield
Attraction details
Manito, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stopped by Mother's while passing through Springfield. There wasn't a tour that we were aware of on the day we stopped, but the tasting room was pretty full of people. The two bartenders were very helpful in picking out beers for us. They seemed to really enjoy their jobs and interacting with the people. The beer was very good! A lot of the local restaurants have Mother's on the menu. Overall, a good choice for a good cold beer in Springfield.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

People had recommended that we visit, so we did today. We tasted several and chose to buy a half pint of our two favorites. The beers we tried were all outstanding. The tasting room is comfortable, the staff is helpful. They have glasses, growlers & t-shirts for sale, along with other souvenirs. We were really impressed by the quality of their beers, and plan to go back again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mothers//fading trend in beer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I think craft beers are always fun to try but Mothers falls short in consistency. Because it is a smaller system, the ingredients and recipe tend to change from bottle to bottle. Also, from the many flavors I have tried, I've noticed a harsh after taste that could be avoidable. Stout beers I find to be the best because of their strong present and malty taste but Mothers just hasn't mastered the brewing magic quite yet. Their hoppy beers are even a bit too stout for my taste. It is a little alarming that many places downtown are not allowed to serve any other competing brand of beer because the owners of Mothers also run certain buildings that some bars and restaurants happen to have set up shop in... that doesn't seem right. I would prefer to eat where I choose AND have a decent choice of craft beers instead of being limited by Mothers. Seems like a trend beer that won't stand the test of time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reviewing the Beer, Not the Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you are visiting Springfield, make sure to look for Mother's brand beers at all of the local restaurants for a taste of local Springfield! So glad Mother's has come to town!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beers a little hoppy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had the Tow Beer (blonde ale) It's a little hoppy. Super nice people. Nice small brewing company.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Brewing Company also viewed

Springfield, MO
 

Been to Mother's Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother's Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.