We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub

Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub
1935 South Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65804
417-886-5466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 561 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Erin served my dad and I and it was great. My dad is a little weird about service and all he had to say is that his tea never went empty. Great food, great service, great environment

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric3742, Manager at Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are very proud to have Erin on our team! She will receive her gold star, we assure you! A full glass of tea can make or break the experience....we take pride in our service. Thank you for acknowledging us! we hope you and your father return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    29
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere; Tremendously flavored, aged steaks; careful preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A local friend introduced me to this amazing restaurant. Wonderfully aged fillets; and even better prime rib. All you can eat salad bar; wide variety and selection of veggies. Seems to be home made salad dressings (Blue Cheese particularly delicious.)

We had our meal at the bar area which was not crowded at the time we had dinner (near closing time this night: 9PM). Staff was very attentive and friendly; they didn't mind that we overextended our dining experience a bit pass closing time. Side dishes were just as carefully and freshly prepared . . . . late diners will NOT get the baked potatoes that were in the oven hours before.

Dessert . . . . I recall hearing the waitress/ bartender reading us the selection, but we stopped listening when she mentioned Fr. Silk Pie . . . . with a little coffee . . . . . heaven!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric3742, Manager at Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are thrilled to receive your feedback. You have singled out most all of the aspects we are most proud of. All of our produce is cut from a fresh state, and 5 of our dressings are house made as well as all of the other fresh finds on the bar (pickled items excluded). our beef is hand selected and hand cut in house, aged and well cared for.....furthermore it would be impossible to go wrong with a French silk finale. Come and stay late any time! We are just happy you are here. Thank you for all of your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ah the old Steak 'n Ale...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Did you love Steak 'n Ale in the old days? Apparently not many nationwide did since it went belly-up, but we did in Springfield. When Steak 'n Ale closed, Jimm's was born. It's a very similar menu and atmosphere. I've never had a bad meal there. I'm not a big prime rib fan, so I can't attest to it. But the filet in any fashion, fish, and chicken dishes are all great. And they have some interesting appetizers as well (one with cream cheese, bacon and peppers that was outstanding!). Also the salad bar gets an A+! There is almost always a wait, but they DO take reservations and I recommend going that route. A wonderful place for a meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric3742, Manager at Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Ah the old Steak and Ale indeed.....it is amazing how something so seemingly devastating as the abrupt closure of a business can lead to greater opportunities than we imagine. Without the closure of Steak and Ale, Jimm's would have never been born. We are honored to be here for all of those who loved S&A, as well as all those who are walking through our doors for the first time. Thank you very much for your take on things. We feel very blessed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best eateries in Springfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Several years ago this location was a Steak and Ale... and it was indeed "ailing". When Jimm's opened the interior was cleaned and updated and since then it has been one of my favorite restaurants when I visit Springfield. The prime rib, steaks, shrimp and lobster are among some of the items my family has ordered and we have yet to be disappointed. The servers are well versed in their craft and very friendly, engaging and polite. During several of our visits, the owner has come around to each table and asked about our experience... I've never had to complain. The prices are reasonable and the food is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric3742, Manager at Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for the fine review! We were so blessed to be given the opportunity to revamp this old Springfield staple. Given that all of the classic restaurants in town have gone by the way, we consider ourselves very fortunate to be keeping a tradition alive! Thank you for your support and that of your family. the support of our community only makes us work harder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have a group of girlfriends that I meet with here at Jimm's once a month for lunch. The food and service is always fantastic! Some of my favorite items on the menu include the french onion soup, the steak tips on the appetizer menu and the southwest chicken. You can never go wrong with the salad bar as it is one of the best in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric3742, Manager at Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Shannon, we are always honored to have you ladies in for lunch. If there were ever a list of those qualified to provide a well rounded perspective on our menu, you ladies would definitely have it covered! We hope you know how valuable you are to us and we always look forward to the first Friday of the month! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub also viewed

 
Springfield, MO
Springfield, MO
 

Been to Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimm's Steakhouse & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.