We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Zen

Ocean Zen
600 East Battlefield Street, Springfield, MO
417.889.9596
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 519 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
westchester, ny
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This restaurant is very elegant, but fine for casual dining. Lunchtime is a good time to be there as it's not crowded. Service was exceptional; our waiter was very attentive. The food was so fresh and delicious! I had the Sweet Tamarind Shrimp with Chicken Pad Tai Noodles. The portion was huge - I only ate about half of it and had to take the rest home with me. Great ambience; spacious dining areas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    41
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Traveling thru springfiled. Saw the reviews on trip advisor. So glad we stopped. Clean friendly pretty. Delicious food beautiful presentation. Will come back if ever in town again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fondu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am not a seafood fan, but I really like the fondu options at Ocean Zen. A pot of melted chocolate, graham crackers, marshmallows, etc. are brought to your table. There is a huge fish tank, and it makes for a neat environment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bring your kids for happy hour sushi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I wanted to hit this place after work one afternoon to get in on the happy hour sushi. (We loved this place, had visited it many times before, but never for discounted sushi.) We walked in with our infant son, and the server immediately tries to seat us outside of the bar area (where the happy hour sushi and drinks are available). I said, "We're actually here for happy hour sushi." The hostess said, "I'm sorry - we don't have any space for high chairs or baby carriers back there." When we asked if we could still take advantage of happy hour, she said, "Happy hour specials are only for guests who eat near the bar." We walked out and haven't been back since. There is no smoking in Springfield public restaurants or bars these days, so I have no idea what the issue was.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Valentine Day dinner fiasco, made up for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ocean Zen has been our favorite restaurant in Springfield for quite a few years. In previous years, we enjoyed wonderful meals there on Valentine Day without any problems. This year was a fiasco. The reservation system was a disaster. We arrived a few minutes early for a 7pm reservation to find that they were still working on 6:30pm reservations and still had to work through 6:45pm reservations before they would even start 7pm reservations. They reception area was extremely crowded with people waiting to be seated. We were very disappointed, so we left after several minutes.
After sending a complaint on the Ocean Zen website, I received a prompt reply offering us a free dinner to make up for our disappointment. We took them up on their offer and enjoyed another outstanding meal. All is well now. I believe that they will be much more careful with their future Valentine Day reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Zen also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.