We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lamplighter Inn & Suites South to your Saves list
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1772 S. Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Clinton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here about 10 nights over the last year and it has steadily gone down hill. Rooms are not cleaned very well, no TV remote in room. When I sent in the card stating problems I never heard from them. The 1st card I had in the room and the housekeeping staff took it so I filled another out and mailed it from home.

Room Tip: If you do not smoke request a room in the nonsmoking wing as the whole hallway where I stayed smelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I hope you can accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced. Our ultimate goal is to provide our guests with a comfortable and delightful stay. If there is anything I can do please feel free to contact me at the hotel. We hope that when you are in town again you will decide to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    7
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
15
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have attended the Bear Bash Handball tournament for years in Springfield, MO. I always stayed at the Lamplighter South. I missed a couple of years. In the past the Hotel had started to be run down and I was skeptical but I reserved my room anyway out of tradition and was pleasantly surprised. The new management had started to make up grades and the staff was phenomanal. From reservation, check in to check out first class treatement.

Clean and reasonable where people treat you right, can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Returning Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. As the General Manager I am highly pleased with the feedback that you have given to my staff and I. We are undergoing many wonderful changes here to the hotel: forturnately, the staff is not one of them. Again we look forward to
your business in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our dad had to be hospitalized at Mery hospital in Springfield Mo. The hospital recommended Lamplighter hotel to my sister & I. They gave us a discount since we were there due to our dad being sick. We got a clean two queen beds, micro & frig. hot breakfast for $49.00. Very nice staff, they went out of their way to make us comfortable. If we have to do this again we will go back to the Lamplighter. I highly recommend the place. It's about a mile from the hospital

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany C, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response about your stay! We are very sorry to hear that your dad was in the hospital hope he is doing better. We are over joyed that we were able to accommodate you in your time of need. We hope to see you again but under much better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is terrible. Cheap rates for a reason. If you're decent enough to read reviews on hotels, then this hotel isn't for you. Strip club shares the parking lot and open 6 nights a week. Both nights we stayed here had crazy people running the hallways at 3am. Couldn't take it and checked out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany C, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
travelfam61873-
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I hope you can accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced. We strive to provide our guests a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, we do have neighboring businesses which we are unable to regulate. We are currently remodeling our rooms in the hotel and hope that the next time you are in town you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My room smelled of mildew. Having a restaurant with a bar in the hotel was nice but nothing special. It was clean, minus the odor and it had a passable breakfast but don't expect much. The staff was pleasant. This is about what I expect for the price I paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany C, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We are very sorry that the room smelled like mildew. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms. We hope the next time that you are in town you will give us another chance and come in stay in one of our new rooms! If there is anything I can do for you please feel free to contact me at the hotel! Have a great day! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a nice time at this hotel. We had a suite with jet garden tub. The gym area is out in the open for all to see but only the treadmill really works. The free breakfast was good and clean area to eat in. The employees were very nice and helpful with all our needs. This is an older hotel and at some point there was smoking allowed but I dont think it smelled. Great price, Great people and met our needs :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany C, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your previous stay at our hotel. I am over joyed to hear that you had a nice time at the hotel and enjoyed the king garden suite. I have taken note of the workout facility and will be making the needed changes. I will also share your kind words with my staff. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearns, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The NON-SMOKING room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. But worst of all we saw a ROACH!!! BEWARE! If you go in you stay you will not be going home alone! I was unable to complete my stay. It is right next door to a strip bar (some may think this is okay but I didn't). It did look like they did try to pretty up the place, and the service was pretty good, not great but, pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffiany C, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Julie-
I am terribly sorry to hear about your stay at our hotel. We have taken all of your comments seriously to improve our hotel and the training of our employees. Since reading your comments we have gone through and inspected the entire hotel and have not found any evidence of roaches. However we went ahead and took the precautions and sprayed the entire hotel. We would love for a second chance to show how our hotel is supposed to be. We are undergoing renovations of the rooms and would love for you to stay in one of them. For any questions please feel free to call the hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Address: 1772 S. Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65804
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.