We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Encounter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Save Saved
You added Lamplighter Inn & Suites South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1772 S. Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Springfield
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected Encounter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I read many glowing reviews on this hotel, so expected good things for our family. One of the first things we saw as we turned into the hotel was a large Girls and Dance sign in a small building adjoining the hotel's parking lot. Not a good sign. My husband talked to the staff and was able to check out a room. The room was okay, but he said it smelled in the hotel and saw clothes just laying around in the hallway. Meantime, I hung out in the entry-way and wandering down the hall toward a conference/meeting area saw chunks of the wall missing and paint gone. It didn't look well kept. Another "dance club" nearby had free admission with a room card. We decided on many fronts, this was definitely not a great family stay and were surprised no reviews have mentioned it. Even after telling our friends, they shared how people know it's not in a great spot and it's a so, so place. We've had many good experiences, so thankful this hasn't been the norm with on-line booking. Hope this helps other who may be better off at the Lamplighter Inn & Suites North or stay where we did in the Greenstay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busymom44, Front Office Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking time to give us a review.It is a disappointment that you decided not to stay with our hotel in order to experience the level of service and quality that you have read about in our previouis guest reviews.Our location is popular among travelers because we are centrally located amongst major businesses such as the Bass Pro Shop amd the Battlefield Mall.Unfortunately,because we are located in such a metropolitan area, there are some businesses that are not family friendly.I would like to assure you as well as any travelers considering our property that we are in no way affilated with such businesses and ensure the security of our guests through 24 hr video surveillance as well as security personnel.We do strive for the upmost in cleanlines and want to thank you for the mention of possible guest items littering the hallway,as we have since instituted hourly checks of our room halls to prevent your experience from happening in the future.In closing, it is our top priority to continually improve upon our facilities and service and we hope that should you ever visit Springfield again,you will reconsider staying with the Lamplighter family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
13
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

Everything exceeded expectations. I will never stay at another hotel in springfield

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busymom44, Front Office Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
As front desk manager,let me say Thank You on behalf of all our staff here at Lamplighter South.We greatly appreciate your stayinjg with us.We try very hard to provide good quality at a reasonable price.We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My stay at the Lamplighter was very comfortable. Nice rooms, friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel because my mom was in st. johns hospital. They.have a special agreement with the hospital.
The people are incredibly helpful and kind. And,while I wasn't expecting the taj mahal at the price, believe me I was soo pleasantly surprised.
It is an older motel but they have upgraded the rooms and they come closer to Drury inns than motel 6 (the motel 6 is the same prce yet soo much worse)
They accept dogs, have a wonderful pool and the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave as well as an internet hookup (not wifi but for the price bring a cable!

Also, the. Tv isn't hi def but again, the pluses so outweigh the picky negatives.
they also have a restaurant semi attached that has good basic food and will do room service if fully staffed.

Bottom line : this is a good fit for families who don’t want to spend the whole vacation budget on lodging, but want a pool available in the summer and everyone else who is looking for a good deal. Nice people trying really hard to please.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busymom44, Front Office Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
First of all,let me say Thank You for choosing to stay with us at Lamplighter South.We realize that there are many choices available to you as a guest.We do try to go above and beyond our guests expectations.I hope you are able to come back and visit us in the future just for fun !!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

I was so pleased with the service my husband and I received at this hotel. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the hot breakfast was an unexpected treat! We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Springfield.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busymom44, Front Office Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Greetings, and thank-you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Lamplighter South! Our full hot breakfast has indeed become a very popular treat. We hope that you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the attached restaurant was convenient (open 24 hours) and made good food. The internet wasn't the fastest, but it worked consistently. They had a good cable lineup, too, which was nice during my boring down times between working.

All in all this has been my favorite hotel I have visited on business yet. I would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one overnight during July 2008. The room was paid for by someone else but I believe the rate was around $60 and overall a good value. The hotel is very "homey," including a large lobby with comfortable chairs and a big screen TV. There is also a 24hr reasonably priced resturant attached to the hotel. They have a nice outdoor pool with small slide for the little ones. The pool furniture seemed new or at least in good condition. Watch out though, the floor of the pool is very slippery. The rooms were spacious and included a fridge and microwave. The beds were comfy as well; soft but firm. If in the area again I would chose this hotel for the value and comfort offered. This review is for Lamplighter South only - I'm not sure of differences between this one and the North location.

  • Liked — Overall comfortable feeling at hotel
  • Disliked — Slippery pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busymom44, Front Office Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
I want to say thank you for staying with us at Lamplighter South.We do appreciate your choosing us.Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay.Im sorry about the pool being slippery on the bottom.We have solved this problem by draining and cleaning the pool.I ihope that yu get a chance to come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Address: 1772 S. Glenstone, Springfield, MO 65804
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.