We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique pleasant experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E. 4th Street, Sedalia, MO 65301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A unique pleasant experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is first time we haven't stayed at a "chain" hotel. We enjoyed the fact that everywhere you look you are reminded of how it used to be and appreciate the workmanship. The 2 things that are most important to us are how clean is the room and how comfortable is the bed. One of the cleanest rooms we've stayed in, and the bed was wonderful. Linens looked like new. We're hoping to come back for Thanksgiving and see their holiday fireworks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    42
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
36
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Just because you have wifi doesn't mean your hotel is updated! What's the worst was their plumbing, still 1930s fixtures and pipes. Within seconds your shower would go from scolding hot to ice cold water all during the shower. Parking lot held 15 spots for a seven story hotel? I was told to park two blocks down on the street by the manager when I asked where do you park the guests. Food was highly overpriced and the quality was poor? We ordered prime rib which I was told was their specialty, ordered medium and got well done. Potatoes and rolls were old and tasted dated. When I refused the plate it was taken away with no offer of another dish or attempt, I just didn't eat dinner that night! The rooms were small, windows were dirty, old outdated elevator, staff members didn't have answers when we complained other than replying with well you know this is a historic hotel!

Being historic and being outdated are two different things you charged as much as a new updated chain hotel with half of the quality! Rude manager to boot!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Hotel Bothwell was a pleasant surprise! The accommodations were pleasant and the staff was phenomenal. We look forward to staying here again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I never expected such a unique hotel to be in Sedalia. Very comfortable and beautiful. It's definately one of a kind. I'll be back for a wedding this summer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family just recently spent a night at the Hotel Bothwell. It was quite a wonderful experience.
It was like stepping back in time to the the 1920's. The rooms were richly appointed, the lobby was splendid and the service was personal and attentive! The Ivory Grille's menu had many delicious items to choose from. It was hard to choose just one! I even enjoyed the breakfast that was offered in the morning. I was especially pleased to see that an omelet was one of the choices. Often all that is served is pastries, cereals and bagels. It was very nice to have a protein option! Definitely try this hotel out, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We found ourselves in Sedalia for the Holidays, we look for places that are not the normal chain locations. We like to find spots the have flair. The Hotel Bothwell fit the bill. We read several of the notes on the site and decided to give it a go. We had an owners suite which had an electric fireplace, 2 full bathrooms, flat screen TV, king size bed. It was a joy to stay. The Lobby of the Hotel was decorated with 4 Christmas Trees and the staff was most helpful. The Hotel was built in the 1920's and it still has that historic look and charm. We had a grand time staying at the hotel and will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Hotel Bothwell was a wonderful rest stop as we rode the Katy Trail. The Hotel is about 3 blocks from the trail and the Katy depot. They housed our bikes for the night and had them ready to go the next morning. The room was clean and we had a flat screen TV. The breakfast is served on the 1st floor just off the lobby and it was nice, The staff were very helpful, I needed something from my bike and they brought the bike to the Lobby for me and then returned it to the storage area. We have already made our room reservation for our next trip on the trail.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 103 E. 4th Street, Sedalia, MO 65301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Sedalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bothwell
Clarion Sedalia
Clarion Collection Sedalia
Sedalia Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.