We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun stop to get out of the heat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Vineyard

Cave Vineyard
21124 Cave Road, Sainte Genevieve, MO 63670
573-543-5284
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Festus, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really fun stop to get out of the heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The wine tasting was really fun and cheap--$5 and you get to keep your glass. Then a bottle of wine will buy your entrance into the cave. Take your wine and some food or chocolate down to the cave (they drive you) and chill out. There was live music when we went. It's so nice and cool in the cave compared to the ridiculous +100 degree temps outside. I hope they decide to do some cool Halloween stuff in the future. Oh, and the wine is good too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Loved the Cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

When we arrived we were the only group tasting wine by the time we were halfway through the tasting 3-4 other groups arrived. The employee did a great job of paying attention to everyone and answering questions. We bought a few bottles of wine and walked to the cave. We were told that they have a shuttle on weekends (seriously, it's a short walk). The cave was awesome. It was a cooler temp inside the cave which was nice since the outside temp was 100+. We sat in the back of the cave and enjoyed the view toward the outside. The lighting is perfect and really liked the wine barrels throughout. There were plenty of tables and chairs. The winery has a dog - he followed us around so that was fun. Very friendly dog. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Our group will be back to visit the Cave.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique venue with cave area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed drinking our wine in the cave area. It was serene and quiet off the beaten path. Very relaxing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wine ok-Cave cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The best thing about this vineyard is that it is open on Monday-unlike any other winery in the area. The cave is 200 yards from the tasting room; the price of admission is a bottle. The trek down was fine, but back up-pretty strenuous!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wine in a cave. Need I say more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Want in on the party? Just buy a bottle of their wine (I recommend the Traminette). Then you can head down the hill to the cave. You can also bring along other any food or non-alcoholic drinks that you like. Forgot dessert? They have scrumptious biscotti and chocolate truffles up at the shop for afters. Wonderful way to spend time with friends.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Vineyard also viewed

 
Sainte Genevieve, MO
 

Been to Cave Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.