We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't want to shower!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Hwy. Z, I-44 Ex. 161A, Saint Robert, MO 65584-4649   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Saint Robert
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you don't want to shower!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here on the way back from AZ. We were tired and hungry. Front office is well kept, unlike the room we were assigned. The room was fairly clean, but not quite to my liking. We went next door to the Waffle house to eat and returned to our room about 9pm. I was expecting to shower and get some sleep so we could start on our journey early. After running the shower for 2-3 minutes, I called the front desk to ask why there was no hot water. I was hoping to change rooms, but was told they had been having hot water problems for some time. I asked why she did not tell me this when checking in, and she had no answer. I did end up getting a $10 credit on my charge card. I will never stay at ANY Econo Lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

motel is old and really outdated, rooms were clean but did not want to shower.. it was late at night and finding motels in the dark can be trying,, front desk person was nice and helpful, would not recommend to friends and would not stop here again..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Unfortunatly I did not read the unending bad reviews on this motel until after my stay. We stayed for two nights and in two different rooms. The first room we were in ended up having no hot water. Yes, things like this happen, I do understand that, but when you go to the front desk and they tell you it is a recurring problem on that side of the building that the owner will not fix, that is when the huge red flag goes up. We were put into another room. It had hot water, but only sporaticly. One minute it was hot, then luke warm, then hot again. Never again!! This motel was on a list from he army base as suggested motels. I am in the process of trying to get this motel off that list.
Now, a week after my horrible stay, I am still getting charges on my card. It is Christmas Eve and I will be dealing with disputing charges with my bank!!! Happy Holidays!!! I have never had a worse experience at any motel.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMARILLO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My wife and booked the hotel off of hotels.com thinking it would work just for the night. Boy were we wrong! The office was nice and the night person was nice too. We got up to our room and it looked like we stepped back in time to the 70's! The room stunk, heater worked on its own schedule. That was the worst part because the temperature was in the teens that night! The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast was continental but the bagels and bread were stale. The guy at the desk asked if we would mind if he listened to music since we were the only people in there. He puts his music on speaker as loud as it can go. His choice of music wasn't bad (Linkin Park) it's just not the kind of music you want to hear at 7am! If we ever go through there again we'll more than likely stay at some of the newer hotels!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Robert, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I would not recommend staying here. Our room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Stains all over the walls. Smelled heavily of smoke even though we were in a smoke free room. Had bugs running around this place is disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Until my stay at Econo Lodge, St. Roberts MO, near Fort Leonardwood, i thought bed bugs were a legend tale from the 1800s. Boy was I wrong. They rexist, and they are alive and well in Econo Lodge. I woke up after my second nights stay to numerous "bug bites that were whelted and VERY itchy. At the time I wrote it off as mosquito bites (maybe one got in my room) and continued to stay one more night. I woke up after the third night with more bites. Come to find out after i got home, and someone suggested they might bed bug bites that I did research on the internet and confirmed that is exactly what they are. It is noted that upon check-out, that i showed the front desk lady come of the bites on my hand and arm and informed her it was from me sleeping in the room (room 112) and she said she would look into it. I did not recieve a call back, an apology, or anything. I even followed up one week later and left a message for the manager, and am still "waiting" on a response. My bites are beginning to heal- but i take benadryl every chance i get. DO NOT STAY HERE---- EVER. I would rather sleep in my car then go through the hassel, sleep-depravation, itching, and possible scaring related to my recent stay. Not no mention, i requested a non-smoking and they said they did not have any and my room reeked of smoke to the point that i smelt like it when I went to work the next day. Worst expereince in a hotel ever-- and i travel at least once a month for work!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin, Ga.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Close to Fort Leonard Wood. The only room available because of the activities at the base was the jacuzzi suite. The desk clerk was great. She gave us directions to food & shopping. The room was older but clean. It had a comfortable queen bed & a good shower. The bathroom was the same size as the bedroom. It was too big with lots of wasted space. We enjoyed the 2 person jacuzzi. The jacuzzi room was overpriced & would not get again but would stay at the hotel again. But once again, the motel is old & in need of remodeling.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 309 Hwy. Z, I-44 Ex. 161A, Saint Robert, MO 65584-4649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Robert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Saint Robert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Saint Robert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.