We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Forest Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Forest Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Forest Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5915 Wilson Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63110 (Forest Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you're looking for a clean, quiet hotel room, this is the place to go. However, the location was not ideal. Although it was next to the freeway, it was not in the prettiest of areas. If you stay here, we recommend one of the delicious Italian restaurants nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear TheBigMuffin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the location of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    32
    16
    14
See reviews for
40
22
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice room TERRIBLE service. I was there on saturday, feb 15th. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was great but you can hear every bit of a conversation through the wall. The people next door were yelling and arguing all night. I called the desk and the night manager said he would send the guard up to check. Nothing changed. Called back 10 min later he told me he was not responsible for what people do in their rooms and was clearly not willing to do anything about it. When i asked him what he was going to do about it he told me "If our accommodations didn't meet my needs, i could pack my things and leave". I was the one being quiet and I was told to leave!! I was treated like dirt. I've had far better service at $30 / day hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel has been newly renovated and I enjoyed my stay there. The one complaint I have as a quiet sleeper is that the highway is very noisy. Fortunately you can control the HVAC system so I had the fan on high the entire time but I could still hear the trucks. Should have asked for a room on the other side of the hotel. Bar/cafe are a little "cave like" but other than that I would stay again. Good workout room.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Duration: 2 days
Purpose: Business

Typical Holiday Inn experience, except for two major caveats: first of all, outside of Margie the front desk people are (at best) indifferent and (at worst) rude. I had several interactions and was put off by the demeanor of two young women who worked the desk. There's no need to be rude! For example, when you call the front desk for the Internet code, they sharply tell you to look on your check-in card. I'm well aware of the code being on the card, but I couldn't find it...hence me calling the front desk. I happened to call twice and this was the reaction each time. It struck me as strange. Further interactions confirmed that the front desk people didn't care much about their jobs.

More significantly: when I needed to use the business center it was out of operation. This is the only HI property I've seen that has the computers directly opposite the main entrance. When I went down they were covered with trash bags, presumably because they got wet from the recent snowstorm (polar vortex thing) in St Louis. Perhaps they should move the computers away from the main door! It is not an exaggeration to say the computers are less than 5 feet away from the outdoors!

The only other notable aspect of this property was how wide the hallways and stairwells were. I wonder if it was something else before becoming a Holiday Inn? In any case, I wouldn't advise staying here given the poor service unless you deal exclusively with Margie.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked this hotel thru Priceline and clearly feels the staff did not like guests booking thru 3rd party. We've been using Priceline for years and got Holiday Inn many times during our travel. Our experience with Holiday Inn has been pleasant so far until tonight. With 2 kids, I always call after making the reservation to make sure we get a room with 2 beds. Most of the time, the front desk staff would kindly accept the request and reserve us a room with 2 beds. Or sometimes they would politely advise they would try to put in a request to get us a room if it's available (of course without extra charge), but always in a very nice and friendly way to make us welcome. Not the case with the front desk clerk at Holiday Inn Forest Park. She is by far the least friendly Holiday Inn clerk I have ever encountered (and yes we've been to at least 50 diff Holiday Inns across the country). She repetitively states the $20 per night upgrade fee and the altitude is basically forget it you are stuck with your single bed room unless you pay an upgrade fee and you are stuck with me on your date of arrival. She then "nicely" ended the conversation saying "good night"... Well I might be stuck with a single bed room at Holiday Inn Forest Park for this trip, but one employee like this would make sure Holiday Inn would never get my business again. Friendly and professional staff should always be one of the top priority of any hotel chains. Make sure you check out better biding before you bid to see which hotels you would get.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoMo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Pricelined this room for about 50 bucks. The staff was extremely friendly, and when our remote didn't work, they apologized, upgraded our room, and gave us a $25 voucher for the restaurant downstairs. Rarely does one encounter such friendly hotel staff!

The breakfast at the restaurant was what one would expect from a restaurant built into a Holiday Inn on the interstate - pretty average.

The only negative thing about the overall experience was the ham 'steak' (do not order it), but hey, it was free!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFP-HotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are so glad that you had a great stay. We take great pride in the level of personal service that we provide, our staff will be very happy to hear that we were able to provide a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is rated 3 stars and it delivers. I booked this hotel through Hotwire and got an excellent price. I was a little worried about what I would find since I got such a low rate. But from the moment we checked in I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was above and beyond friendly, hotel was clean and recently updated, rooms were comfortable. I really do not have a single complaint about this hotel.
The only caution I have is...the hotel is right beside the highway. There is some muffled highway noise in the rooms but I did not find it bothersome.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room on the opposite side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFP-HotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We find it very important to get customer feedback so we can go above and beyond the service expected of us.
Our staff works very hard to provide excellent service and they will be very happy to know that you were pleased! If we are lucky enough to have you visit again, we will get you on the other side of the hotel away from traffic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Forest Park

Address: 5915 Wilson Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Forest Park , The Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Forest Park 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Forest Park now boasts the completion of a multi-million dollar renovation, featuring stylish new guest rooms, flat screen HDTVs, contemporary lobby, and modern restaurant and bar. Explore St. Louis in the center of all the action at the Holiday Inn Forest Park/St. Louis. Ideally located next to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Washington University, Barnes Jewish Hospital, Science Center, History Museum, St. Louis Hill area, and close proximity to The Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Grant’s Farm, Missouri Botanical Gardens, and Six Flags, this convenient hotel in Midtown St. Louis puts you in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Forest Park Hotel Saint Louis
Forest Park Holiday Inn
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Forest Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.