We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 North 9th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select St. Louis - Downtown (Conv Center))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #88 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

I know it's boring to start off a review with "after reading some of the reviews on here I was fearing the worst" but it's absolutely true. Obviously we were either very lucky or the hotel has bucked its ideas up. We arrived late on a Friday night and were dealt with very prompty and politely before being shown to a clean, decent-sized room. The rooms seems to surround the small indoor pool and jacuzzi. We only used the bar once but it was very nice with a chatty barmaid. As for the location; people have described it as being in a bad part of town. Let's face it, St Louis is a typical big city but the location of the hotel only looks bad because it is right behind the massive convention centre. Within a 1 minute walk, we were on a busy street with bars and restaurants and only a 10 minute walk from Laclede's Landing with its plethora of eateries and bars. Another 5 minutes gets you to the Arch and waterfront. We had a very good stay here and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    257
    350
    296
    221
See reviews for
419
222
51
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

I wanted to stay in the downtown St. Louis area, and booked this hotel through the Holiday inn website when I found it was available at a decent rate. The mattress needed to be replaced. It was too saggy and not very comfortable. My other main complaint was lots of noise on the floor. There were lots of party people staying at the hotel for either a family reunion or a church event. Someone brought their dogs with them. It sounded like 2-3 dogs were locked in a room on my floor, barking. I told the front desk when I checked out and they called someone to look into it. If the dogs had not been quiet during the night, you bet the hotel would have heard from me. I liked the fact that they had lots of vending machines on the ground floor; I got a salad from one of the machines that ended up being a meal for me at a very reasonable price. It was fresh and tasted good.

  • Liked — downtown location
  • Disliked — noise, dogs in the hotel rooms,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Disgusting bathrooms!!! Hair on floor, in tub and toilet upon our
arrival and it was very apparent the room had not been cleaned for a while. Stains on doors, dust accumulation on A/C unit controls would have required gloves to use!
Had to wear shoes while walking around the room due to the gross
carpet and the obvious lack of vacuuming that took place during our 4 day stay!
Negotiations with staff were useless, as cleanliness is obviously not a concern at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Staff were all friendly. However, service was difficult to come by. After requesting twice to have our bathroom cleaned, we ended up borrowing cleaning supplies from maid's cart and cleaned it ourselves. One time a maid did arrive to clean, just as we were leaving the room. Somehow she beat us downstairs! Upon arrival, we received a roll-away bed which was broken in at least three places. It was not clean, either. A friend in the next room had a medical emergency and the hotel shuttle would not take her to a medical facility.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO, FL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

I got there 30 minutes hour before check-in time. They wanted to givve me a call on my cell phone to let me know when the room might be ready. When they were ready to check me in they did not have the type of room I requested. I don't smoke so I really wanted a non-smoking, I would have to wait until the room was clean. It was not worth the wait room still dirty.

The service is slow and rude. I tried to order room service with the pre-order request you put on the door. I makred everything that needed to be checked, only to call room service and them not answer. I know that have caller ID, they called me back to ask did I order room service. When they got to my room they told me they lost my request. This is not true because they had my order right but not the time I requested it.

They claim to have internet access, but you better have your own wireless card because they ran out of the adapter that you need to get internet access. The told me that they would call me when one is turned in. They never called! The business center smelled and only had one internet connection. The hotel was not full.

The front desk people were rude and not helpful. You better make sure you understand about the parking or you will pay retail price.

This was my third visit to STL love the city hate the HOLIDAY INN - DOWNTOWN. Íf you priceline bid 4 star or higher or you just may get this dump.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

My son and i stayed at the holiday inn select during the first week of April. We have stayed at many of the downtown St Louis hotels over the years but this was the first time at the holiday inn select. it was one of the few hotels we found for under a $100 during the Cardinals homestands so we booked it on Priceline. It is a bit further away from Busch stadium than some of the others but not too bad. we walked to the stadium twice and it's about a mile or so walk, but not bad. there is the Metro Link a few blocks away from the hotel that can take you anywhere, but we decided it was easy enough to walk and eat/shop along the way.
overall the hotel was nice, room was clean, parking across the street was free and easy enough to get in/out of. the hotel was very easy to find off I-70E and easy access to the freeways. the room was larger than average which was nice and the desk staff was very friendly. the only strage thing is that they have a "bar" in the lobby, but they don't have a liquor licsense so its sodas only with your meals.
we liked the hotel and made reservations when we checked out for 3 nights in July during the Cards/Cubs series.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 811 North 9th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select St. Louis - Downtown (Conv Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center! We are located in the heart of downtown Saint Louis, next to America's Convention Center, Edward Jones Dome-home of the Rams, 1 block from St. Louis' newest expansion area 'Washington Avenue' featuring unique dining, shopping boutiques and entertainment, and only 9 blocks from the New Busch Stadium, home of the 11 time World Champion St. Louis Cardinals! Visit Saint Louis' historical sites, St Louis Gateway Arch, Anheuser Busch Brewery, Busch Stadium, Forest Park Zoo, Lumiere Place, Casino Queen Riverboat Gaming, and St Louis Union Station. The Ramada Plaza Hotel Downtown Convention Center is only blocks from the Metro Link rail system. Travel to the 'Gateway City' on business or pleasure and enjoy superior banquet and meeting facilities, a 24 hour business center, complimentary wireless high speed Internet, 24-hour snack and convenience center, and our newest restaurant, the 9th Street Bar and Grille. Relax at the Ramada Plaza Hotel Downtown in own atrium indoor pool and exercise room. Our hotel features 291 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Covered parking is available adjacent to the hotel for a fee. We're the perfect business address for visitors to AT&T, Proctor & Gamble, US Bank, Nestle Purina, CPI, Fiserv & Saint Louis University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select St. Louis - Downtown (Conv Center) Hotel Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.