We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful only an overnight stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 North 9th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select St. Louis - Downtown (Conv Center))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #88 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thankful only an overnight stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was great for our one night stay. We booked off of Groupon so the price was right as well. However, the night desk guy was too into whatever was on the TV to provide excellent service.
The rooms - bed was comfortable, pillows were tiny. The bathroom must have been under remodel. The ceiling had dry wall mud on it, the shower had a corner shelf ripped off, the shower curtain was dirty, the lotion bottle had been used.
Again, location was great but would never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    245
    336
    281
    203
See reviews for
397
212
49
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The walls are paper thin. After being woken up at 2 AM by yelling and cursing in the room adjoining mine, I called the front desk to complain. The guests next door heard me call, left the room, and came back after security had come to check on my complaint. The group of men continued to taunt me through the wall until 4 AM. I called the front desk again, but the same thing happened. I am female and was traveling alone and didn't feel safe to leave my room.

The room was very small, but OK for a solo traveler. I was put in a room with a handicapped shower (I am not handicapped), and the shower head was at chest height, making it very uncomfortable. My room was on the 3rd floor right over the pool, which was also very loud.

The hotel has a good downtown location, but parking in the hotel's garage was more expensive than I expected. The staff was friendly, but not overly so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Some friends and I stayed a few days in this hotel over the weekend. The pros- Extremely clean and friendly environment. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spotless. It was also in a great location downtown. It's just down the road from Washington street which is a big party street. It's also near the big event venues. The cons- There were a few shady people hanging around the lobby. I stayed on the second floor where the pool is located and it was SO LOUD. I could hear children screaming all morning.
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked through Priceline and hadnt realized how close it was located to the Edwards Jones Dome which worked out perfect. We decided that fancy, right down town hotel wasn't necessary since we wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel.

We got in late and we usually leave early but it was so comfy we all ended up sleeping in and it's now 1130 and not one person has knocked on the door and considering the pool is right outside the window, I was shocked that didn't bother us. Overall this hotel was perfect for the purpose and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

There was a rather large group of people I'm going to refer to as a gang. They were there at check-in, later that evening, next morning and at checkout, I felt like they were the hotel staff. I especially didn't feel safe with my two sons. Anytime I asked for something I was told it would be at front desk. I paid $100+ for our room. I would expect they could deliver. And I found two dirty band aids near the bed. For reference I expected friendlier staff and better environment. Best part about the place was bar and restaurant! Pretty outdated as well, again the bar was best experience and I felt like I should be tipping the 'gang'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 811 North 9th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select St. Louis - Downtown (Conv Center))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center! We are located in the heart of downtown Saint Louis, next to America's Convention Center, Edward Jones Dome-home of the Rams, 1 block from St. Louis' newest expansion area 'Washington Avenue' featuring unique dining, shopping boutiques and entertainment, and only 9 blocks from the New Busch Stadium, home of the 11 time World Champion St. Louis Cardinals! Visit Saint Louis' historical sites, St Louis Gateway Arch, Anheuser Busch Brewery, Busch Stadium, Forest Park Zoo, Lumiere Place, Casino Queen Riverboat Gaming, and St Louis Union Station. The Ramada Plaza Hotel Downtown Convention Center is only blocks from the Metro Link rail system. Travel to the 'Gateway City' on business or pleasure and enjoy superior banquet and meeting facilities, a 24 hour business center, complimentary wireless high speed Internet, 24-hour snack and convenience center, and our newest restaurant, the 9th Street Bar and Grille. Relax at the Ramada Plaza Hotel Downtown in own atrium indoor pool and exercise room. Our hotel features 291 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Covered parking is available adjacent to the hotel for a fee. We're the perfect business address for visitors to AT&T, Proctor & Gamble, US Bank, Nestle Purina, CPI, Fiserv & Saint Louis University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select St. Louis - Downtown (Conv Center) Hotel Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Hotel - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.