We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel near Union Station.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2340 Market Street at Jefferson, Saint Louis, MO 63103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #54 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel near Union Station.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I got this hotel for a great price on Priceline ($48) and was not dissapointed. The rooms were very comfortable with very nice beds. The property also has a great lobby with free computers to use for internet and printing. A wonderful bonus. There is also the standard Courtyard market and snack bar so that you don't have to walk across the city to find food or drink, especially at night. But you will pay extra for this convenience.

That leads me to my only complaint: The location. The hotel is downtown, but on the outskirts. This gives you free parking, but it takes a little bit of walking to get where you want to go. The closest Metrolink is at Union Station about half a mile away. And you are almost two miles from the Gateway Arch. Not a big deal, until the evening, when you have to walk well over a mile to find an open store or restaurant late at night. The neighborhood is not the best at night either, but I didn't feel unsafe, but I might feel different if I were a woman.

Other then that, a great hotel and a great price. Courtyards never seem to dissapoint me.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    51
    34
    12
    2
See reviews for
38
31
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteno, IL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Sure nothing special. The lobby and work center is nice. Rooms are standard, but need some new mattresses. Just seemed to be way overpriced for the area it was in. It seemed like a very bad neighborhood two blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

Nothing special about the hotel, really, but clean, nice staff and good rooms. The wireless internet was working from time to time, but not to well. The pool was great, with hotter water than usual which was nice after a drive from Nashville.

The breakfast was fine, but very unclear that is wasn't complimentary. Of course it says if it is when you book, but a reminder at the breakfast buffé would be a good thing.

The staff were really helpful with advice on where to get food and directions around the city.

A standard American hotel which means good, but nothing extra. Would choose this hotel if I ever get to St Louis again.

  • Liked — Location: near good restaurangs, the Arch and Scottrade center
  • Disliked — Non-complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed in a suite here recently. The suite was NOT big enough in my opinion. The beds and pillows were NOT comfortable. Things seemed clean enough. Not having free breakfast was a bummer. The pool and hot tub were NICE and CLEAN and decently sized. Probably the best part of the hotel---and the MAIN reason we chose this one. The parking at the hotel was a ++++++++. Overall, I'd pick another hotel that offered free bfast and a BIGGER suite.

  • Liked — Parking, POOL
  • Disliked — Suite size, no free breakfast, beds and pillows uncomfortable.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

I had pretty low expectations of the property. Its appeal was that it wasn't packed full of high school students during a convention I go to.

I was in for a treat, though.

A day before, the entire lobby was refurbished and made into a sort of modern-day living room/funky lounge scene. Five computers in the open for all to use. Flat screen. Belgian beer at the new bar. Nice couches lighting. I was at a boutique hotel I know in San Francisco. And here I am on the outskirts of downtown St. Louis. Because it was so pleasant, I spent a few hours in it.

The room was so-so. Nothing to write home about. They told me they would be refurbishing them next.

The staff helped me over an illness I had and directed me to the right places to go. It really couldn't have been much nicer.

  • Liked — The lobby. The work really shows.
  • Disliked — It's on the outskirts of downtown.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

I stayed at the Courtyard for one week out of a two week stay in St. Louis for business. It wasn't bad. Rooms were clean and fairly spacious for one person. There is a breakfast buffet they charge like $12 for which I did not use. Didn't seem worth the money. They also had the 24 hour store which had beverages, ice cream, snacks, etc which was good. Prices weren't outrageous or anything. Wireless service I signed up for did not work in my room. I had to go to the lobby for service. The staff person told me many guests were having problems accessing wireless internet in their rooms. I believe they are working on the problem. But all in all, it was not bad. Price is a little steep for what you get, but it was in a convenient location for me. Also know there are some restaurants in walking distance, but to get to the better places, you will need to rent a car or catch a cab.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Internet access
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We booked 18 rooms for family for our daughter's St. Louis wedding. The hotel was conveniently located to all locations. The rooms were comfortable. The staff was always helpful and friendly. Breaksfasts very good. Everyone who came enjoyed their stay at this excellent hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown

Address: 2340 Market Street at Jefferson, Saint Louis, MO 63103
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Courtyard
Saint Louis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott St. Louis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.