We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual Mexican fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortillaria

Tortillaria
8 1/2 S. Euclid Ave., Saint Louis, MO 63108 (Central West End)
314-361-4443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 2,361 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Neighborhood: Central West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central West End
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great casual Mexican fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went here late on a Friday night with my cousin and her husband. It was perfect. Great margaritas, chips and salsa (they have a great salsa bar where you can chose from 5-8 different ones). Most of us had the grilled fish tacos. They are delicious, light and fresh and pair well with a margarita. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Baja Fish Tacos, Salsa Bar and Great Sevice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I used to live around the corner from this place when I lived in St. Louis a few years ago. I came to town for a business trip and made a special trip to the Central West End just for the Baja fish tacos because. The are good and at happy hour they are only $3 a piece! Add in a Corona Light an that's one tasty inexpensive dinner. Truth is, they are good and the ingredients are fresh. I'm not sure if it was because it was at happy hour or not, but the fish didn't taste quite as flaky and yuppy as I remember and the lemony sauce wasn't as rich as I remembered, but these are still way up there in the ranks of some of the best fish tacos I've had in the world. Right up their with some rocking fish tacos I've had in Maui. There's a nice patio (albeit on a busy street) and comfortable dining room with a salsa bar for those of us who like it a little hotter and more flavorful that your average joe. The service is awesome. I cannot remember how many times we were asked if we wanted more chips, how every thing tasted, refilled waters, etc. All cheerful faces even during a busy happy hour. Great neighborhood spot and worth a special trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best neighborhood Mexican in Stl!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For 8 years, my husband and I have enjoyed our local Mexican restaurant. The staff are the most enthusiastic crew we have met anywhere! They really love their jobs.
Excellent basic Mexican fare. and try the Cadillac Margarita.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious ,great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Ordered tacos and shared queso sauce and guac. Everything was well-prepared. The kitchen made a mistake on one order so delivered that and followed up with another correct dish in moments. We appreciate it when a restaurant handles an error so graciously.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Its Ok not the Best ive had”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to this restaurant with a group of friends for Cinco De Mayo. I thought it was just ok really didnt wow me. I can honestly say I would not be back. The food really lacked flavor. There salsa was blah. When I go to a mexican restaurant I look forward to the chips and Salas they give you while you wait for your food. Theres had no flavor. The rice and beans were plain. There street corn lacked that wow factor. The place is tiny and I felt like I couldnt breathe in there LOL Moral of the story I will not be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortillaria also viewed

 

Been to Tortillaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortillaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.